We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might stay there again.”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #188 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Might stay there again.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

GREAT LOCATION in Prague old city.
Breakfast included and plentiful, but to me, not particularly tasty. Sausages were like Vienna sausages,did not try bacon due to way it looked nor the eggs. Typical European selection of cold meats (deli-type), cheese, cereal, fruit, yogurt. Pastries and bread ok. Coffee in machine to select your own, and espresso not real espresso and not very good. Definitely quantity over quality!
Our room in the Metamorphis (not the 'Excellent'), spacious, and very nice bathroom. Pretty noisy hearing people next door having normal conversation and snoring. Street ok, but some said noise their really bothersome too. Also problem controlling heat. Setting was too warm for us but each time we changed it, the chambermaid changed it back until we requested that they NOT change. One of my big complaints, TERRIBLE LIGHTING in the bedroom!
Might stay here again for the location, but would request a room off the street; NOT above 2nd floor (NO people elevators; only for luggage); adequate lighting.
Stayed here from Wed-Mon. and internet VERY inconsistent. Fine first two days and very, very unreliable after that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    223
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
305
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent 4 days at the Hotel Metamorphis based on recommendations from Rick Steve's Through the Back Door for Prague, and reviews from TripAdvisor. We were thoroughly plaased. Beautiful, clean, quite, accommodations with staff who couldn't be warmer or more helpful. We spoke only English, and landed with no idea what to do or where to go. They directed us, guided us, and were marvelous. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donuslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here in January with my boyfriend and his family.
There were 6 of us, 2 of us to a room. All were next door from each other which is always nice when you are staying in a group.
They all had a different lay out and one had a bath, two had showers.
Our room was lovely and big and always kept very clean.
Our view was stunning. We had two windows, which brightened the room up very nicely.
One view was of the other hotel rooms, however the other view was directly behind the square, and because we were on the top floor we could see the clock tower.
The staff were brilliant and always helpful.
The breakfast was delicious and there was always a large variety.
Only complaint would be that the lift was far too small, you could just about fit one person in or a suitcase and the stairs were made of polished wood so therefore very slippery in the snow!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Sometimes when the porter opens the door to your room you are wonderfully surprised. Spacious rooms with large bathrooms and seating areas gave us just that jolt of pleasure and a smug feeling of satisfaction that we had made an excellent selection. Just the briefest exploration of the area confirmed that this was an ideal location in the Old Town. Right off the main square, this hotel is on a courtyard with restaurants and shops that have a much more relaxed feel than the swarming Old Town Square. A perfect place to launch exploration of the old city - in any direction. The only downside is that some of the rooms are across the street from a pub with noisy late-night revelers. Jet lag and the sounds of other people's fun can make for a confusing night's sleep. Breakfasts were mostly good. Some days the bread was fresh some- not so. But filling and plentiful and overall fine. Four great nights in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_S_Dunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for four days and enjoyed everything. Rooms on the top floor are big - like very big! - and can't even think of anything that didn't live up to our expectations. Clean, great location, good service and very friendly and helpful staff. Felt welcome from the beginning till we left four days later. The restauran right outside the door (Vabene) is definitely worth a visit too.

Maybe a bit more fresh bread for breakfast would have been nice ... but we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very big and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copalis Beach, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed in their more basic "Metamorphis" (not Metamorphis Excellent) for 5 days and it was fine. The only problem we had is that they gave us a room facing on the intersection of the street leading to the Metamorphis and the street it sits on. Consequently, the bar scene, which goes on til 3:00 was very disturbing. Making it worse was how hot the room was (September) and with no way that I could find to turn it down. So we had a choice: open the window to cool off, but not sleep; or close the window, boil and not sleep. Next morning we asked for a room off the street side and they gave us one facing a courtyard that was perfectly fine. The breakfast buffet was very good, but the coffee was not to my liking (too weak).

Room Tip: Make sure to keep away from the street rooms unless you can sleep through lots of noise from young b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boba543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, clean rooms.
We stayed at room number 30 there was a loud fan ın the toilet which stops 15 minutes later after the lights of.
And a helpful information about the hotel, the reception is at the "metamorphis excellent"
If i go Prag again that will be the place where i am gonna stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Serkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#312 of 649 in Prague
135 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#224 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,310 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#76 of 649 in Prague
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing