We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple holiday”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #188 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“couple holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel, very central, We stayed in a suite and was well worth the money we had our own private terrace also. The staff were so helpful and nothing was any hassle, the breakfast was lovely and our room was cleaned every single day. will be back again

Room Tip: would reccomend the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    223
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
305
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Besides the excellent location, the suite 841 (fourth floor) was very spacious, had a Nespresso machine, two couches and a balcony upstairs in the roof with the view of Tyn's Church. The room was a complete silence and sunny because of the glass window on the roof. The staff was very helpful as the whole people in the tourist area and almost everybody spoke some english. People with reduced mobility should consider another place to stay because there is no elevator. The bellboy would take the luggage for us up and down but stairs are narrow and steep. Even for breakfast we have to go to the building across the street and go to the basement 30 steps down. Breakfast was complete for all tastes in a comfortable and illuminated underground room, without signs of moist. We did not try the beer spa undergroud but it seems to be nice.

Room Tip: 841 is completely silence but no elevator to reach the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here May 1 through May 4. As other TA reviewers suggested, we stayed in a suite that was in the corner facing towards the square. This square is historically significant, and I was actually surprised at the historical relevance of the hotel as it does not seem to market itself that way. The suite was more like an apartment, with a very large living room / bedroom (600 sq ft is my guess), a kitchen with fridge and table, and large bathroom.

The accommodations were excellent, and the staff was more than helpful. They arranged for a transfer for us to the airport early at 4am, and a staff member was there to greet us with two large breakfast bags. We had an A/C unit in the room, and we had large drapes covering the windows so that we could be as private as we wanted, or we could open the windows and enjoy the view of the square. The breakfast every morning is a level below the ground floor in a very cool medieval setting, and the food / drink is very good.

Lastly, we initially were drawn to this hotel based on its central location, which it obviously delivers. You can be in Old Town, New Town, etc. in just a few steps.

I would stay here again, and I would recommend others stay here.

Room Tip: Corner Suite gave a perfect view of the square with a nice living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckayd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent !! Highly recommended! I enjoyed staying here!! Will be back soon! Ivan the receptionist is helpful and the beer spa downstairs is a must try! Good service.. nice experienced! We stay at room 30.. nice area but during night u can hear some sounds at the nearby bars but its okey for us. Hehehe. . Breakfast at 7.30 to 10.30 good choices. Restaurant outside the hotel. Not expensive! Its nice to spend money in prague

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ericvongariando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent 4th-6th April in this Hotel, Location was very central 3 minute walk to the Stare Miastro (old town square) we had a room on the third floor of the reception building, there is no lifts so would not be suitable for people who could not manage the stairs. Rooms were clean and you can open windows to look out onto the courtyard sqaure which was nice. We arranged a pick up from the airport with the Hotel which was great value and would recommend same. Breakfast was served in the restaurant across from the Hotel and had everything that would be expected including a hot breakfast option. Lots of choices of restaurants and bars directly beside Hotel, including live music in the Dubliner pub. Staff were very helpful and pleasant would recommend this hotel for a visit to Prague,

Room Tip: May not be suitable for people who cannot manage flights of stairs and no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarBeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location to the Old Town Square and the triple room we booked was more than a enough room for Mum, Dad an 5 year old.

The breakfast each morning had a extensive choice of hot and cold buffet.

The service is friendly and efficient.

Italian restaurant attached to the hotel was good quality food for a decent price.

We would recommend to travellers with family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is located in Old Town, quite close to the Old Town Square and the clock. You can walk to just about everything. The rooms are HUGE and beautifully decorated -- the photos don't lie! The staff is very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our last-minute room request. Other reviewers are correct - it can be noisy at night in the square the hotel faces, as bars play music and bar patrons talk as they leave. We had only one person in our party who is an early-to-bed person, and it was not a problem even though the weather was nice enough to leave the windows open. Breakfast was good - a typical European breakfast. But the hotel staff really makes this hotel a delight!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#312 of 649 in Prague
135 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#224 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#76 of 649 in Prague
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing