We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Prague” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metamorphis
Ranked #193 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend in Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice authentic hotel in the center of Prague. Not your average hotel room and we had one with a very nice view. Breakfast okay for getting you started.
Most attractions within walking distance and not far from tram or metro station.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    215
    55
    18
    11
See reviews for
115
292
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great place to stay. It was very close to all the major attractions (within walking distance) so very convenient. The rooms were spacious and old world, fitted right in with the character of the Prague. The staff were friendly and offered good service. The beds etc were great the only thing was we had a room on the street side and there was a pub across the road, a little noisy. However we walked that much we were tired so it didn't affect to much. Breakfast was included and was in an interesting part of the building.

Room Tip: if a lite sleeper don't get a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel is in a great location and it's a nice building. The staff was very nice throughout our stay. However, on our third evening we left in a hurry to go to a concert and forgot to lock our iPad in the room safe. We discovered it missing the next morning when we looked for it to check the weather. It was reported to the front desk immediately and the gentleman told us he would look at the security camera video to see who had gone into our room. He assured us that they watch who comes into the hotel very carefully and no one can just walk up to the third floor without them noticing it. The little security camera was right near our door so it should have been easy to solve the problem. Later that afternoon we were told that the motion detector didn't work so the video camera was not activated; they had no way to know who entered our room. I asked if they planned to report the problem so it could be repaired and was told, "It's a very old system with many problems. Management knows about it but they don't do anything." This hotel requires you leave your room key with them when you go out. We are 100% certain we locked the room and gave them the key. So, it is very easy for them to know when you are not there and enter your room. If you stay in this hotel we would suggest you don't leave your key. Additonally, two days when we returned from touring around, the housekeeper had not locked the deadbolt on our door but simply closed it making it easy to get in with a credit card. This happened to other people in our tour group, also.

The rooms are large and spacious. There are umbrellas for your use in each room (very handy since rain is common in Prague.) The housekeeping was average. The shelf over our sink had a few coffee grounds laying on it when we arrived. I put all our personal items far to the left - leaving about two feet empty so they housekeeper could easily see and clean it. In the entire four days, the coffee grounds were never removed.

There are many foods offered on the breakfast buffet. You should be able to find something you like. However, they do not serve real orange juice. It tasted like Tang or Gatorade. You have to pay almost USA $5 for a glass of fresh juice. Not to worry - there is a frig in each room so you can go to the local mini-mart and buy a liter of fresh orange juice for USA $3 and just bring it with you to breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main part of the hotel where the lobby is and we had no problems with noise. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivian_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was nice and had a nice view of the surrounding architecture. It felt like Prague. The location was fantastic !!! Wish our stay was longer - I would definitely stay here again. They offered a shuttle service which was good too :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel, very central, We stayed in a suite and was well worth the money we had our own private terrace also. The staff were so helpful and nothing was any hassle, the breakfast was lovely and our room was cleaned every single day. will be back again

Room Tip: would reccomend the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 936linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
363 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Besides the excellent location, the suite 841 (fourth floor) was very spacious, had a Nespresso machine, two couches and a balcony upstairs in the roof with the view of Tyn's Church. The room was a complete silence and sunny because of the glass window on the roof. The staff was very helpful as the whole people in the tourist area and almost everybody spoke some english. People with reduced mobility should consider another place to stay because there is no elevator. The bellboy would take the luggage for us up and down but stairs are narrow and steep. Even for breakfast we have to go to the building across the street and go to the basement 30 steps down. Breakfast was complete for all tastes in a comfortable and illuminated underground room, without signs of moist. We did not try the beer spa undergroud but it seems to be nice.

Room Tip: 841 is completely silence but no elevator to reach the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here May 1 through May 4. As other TA reviewers suggested, we stayed in a suite that was in the corner facing towards the square. This square is historically significant, and I was actually surprised at the historical relevance of the hotel as it does not seem to market itself that way. The suite was more like an apartment, with a very large living room / bedroom (600 sq ft is my guess), a kitchen with fridge and table, and large bathroom.

The accommodations were excellent, and the staff was more than helpful. They arranged for a transfer for us to the airport early at 4am, and a staff member was there to greet us with two large breakfast bags. We had an A/C unit in the room, and we had large drapes covering the windows so that we could be as private as we wanted, or we could open the windows and enjoy the view of the square. The breakfast every morning is a level below the ground floor in a very cool medieval setting, and the food / drink is very good.

Lastly, we initially were drawn to this hotel based on its central location, which it obviously delivers. You can be in Old Town, New Town, etc. in just a few steps.

I would stay here again, and I would recommend others stay here.

Room Tip: Corner Suite gave a perfect view of the square with a nice living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckayd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#315 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#71 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#210 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#161 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing