We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #616 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

First of all we didn't expect much from this place. It was cheap and close to the city center and Pavlova metro station, so I'd say it's quite enough. But after our tiring stay I'll say: never again! It's better to pay a bit more for a bit of a comfort. Of course if that doesn't bother you, try this place. Maybe it's just our bad luck or our imagination.
DISADVANTAGES:
-Staff at the reception is just a one big joke- helping and answering questions with a bad grace. It's definitely not what guests are looking for at the reception desk. Bad manners. Or maybe there was a massive 'I have a bad day every day' event... Anyway a huge disappointment. This applies as well to the grumpy 'security' guard.
-thanks God we needed the room only to refresh ourselves&rest after whole day out. The room was on 6th floor, boiling hot, almost impossible to breathe in there. There was one small window, barely opening, so you could forget about getting any fresh air inside. As a result you couldn't get even an hour of soothing sleep, 'cause you woke up all wet, literally! We have kindly asked if they could give us an additional fan, and guess what was the anawer? NO. But when the temperature rises to over 35 in shade and your room is on the top floor just below the roof, it would be highly recommended to add an air conditioning device or an additional fan there. Or just even pretend that you care!
-the room was quite messy. I'm not even mentioning what was going on behind our beds...
-free wifi is another joke- you have to pay for any device you want to connect @ your room. The free wifi is available only close to the reception desk, and its signal strength depends on the wind direction I guess...
-hotel parking -as we were said- was full. In fact some people were blocking 3 parking spots with one car and in some cases blocking other cars from driving out, so maybe It's even better not to park there for your car's sake.
ADVANTAGES:
-breakfast was nice, although every day the same. Cleaning ladies in the dining room were always smiling and kind- I guess the reception staff should learn from them!!
-location is really nice, super close to the city center and metro station
-clean bathroom&fresh towels every day

Overall, if there was any hope on getting some things better, this would be a great place to stay. I'm just sure that right now we would
have chosen some other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munabrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    109
    140
    79
    80
See reviews for
42
139
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I spent a two nights in this hotel along with my family. The first thing which impressed me was the closeness to the city center and old town. Ideally located for tourist. The staff were really helpful. Breakfast was really good may be they could have added more fruits.

The main draw back which i felt was the towels and linen. it has become old and need change.The TV was small in the room and number of English channel were less.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the basketball court is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prievidza, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I spent a weekend with my family in Prague. City Club hotel is near centre and the price was very cheap. Friendly stuff help us with everything and still smiling. There was a family atmosphere. The room was clean and breakfast was good. May be more fruit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The first night we stayed in the second building of the hotel. The room was nice for the price per night ($30) and everything seemed great. Unfortunately there was a large group of high school graduates staying there and they were literally running up and down the stairs all night, trying to open guest doors, and singing loudly in the courtyard. We called down to reception and while they did send security up to remedy the solution, it did not work. The noise continued throughout the night and kept us awake. The next morning, the office moved us to the main building and the room was quiet for the remainder of our stay. The only other complaint I have is upon entering the second room, the toilet seat was dirty. Instead of complaining more, despite it not being my fault, I just cleaned it myself. Overall for the price, it was a great deal. The breakfast was decent and going off the reviews I was expecting a lot worse. However, at 7, 8, and 0900, there was always more than enough food. If I was going back to Prague and was wanting to save money, I'd probably stay here again, but I'd definitely tell them my prior experience and request a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the main building. Our "quiet" room was on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is very basic and has an 'annex' we stayed in the annex, meaning we had to walk outside the hotel to get to our room. Rooms on the road side are very noisy due to the constant traffic and sirens of the busy main road. The rooms can also be very warm and if on the road side you cannot open the window to allow air flow. The rooms are basic - old towels and old bedding covers. However the room was clean. The showers are small so if you are a big person it will be tight.
If you go in a group as we did you have to check out 10.00am.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITHEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

i went to this hotel on a school trip and we arived at the hotel and checked in and had dinner. the meal wasent very nice and the staff werent very obliging for one boy on our trip with alergies. so then we went to go find out where our rooms were only to find out we wernt even in the hotel we had to go out of the hotel and walk along the street to get into a block of rooms. as we went into the block there was a no smoking sign which some people must not of seen as all you could smell was smoke. we then got up to our room in the increadbly slow elevator. andwent along a dark and scary corridor tto go into our old- fashioned room we got ready for bed but first we checked all the sheets only to find a used plaster and blood on the sheets and a hole in one of the pillows and in the sheets on the single bed. we got them changed but non of us could understand why they would employ people who wouldnt clean that away. then when ever you went in or out of the hotel all you would smell was the smoke from the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

the hotel is very close to the station about 5 minute walk. there are some restaurants and pub around the hotel and 2 small shops you can buy water or foods. the room was clean and tidy, and i think the size is acceptable. WIFI is only available on the ground floor and you have to pay extra if you want to use at the room, approx £6 for 3 days but the code can only be used in one phone. Breakfast from 7-10am and i would say the earlier you go, the better food you will get. the staffs were just ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
City Central Hotel
City Central Hotel
#576 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#410 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Prague Centre Plaza
#374 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#349 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#303 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Praha 2
Prague Centre Superior
Prague Centre Superior
#495 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: Sokolska 1883/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Prague
City Club Hotel Prague
City Prague
City Club Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing