We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but Clean”
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #595 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Basic but Clean”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel was dated but clean. The bathroom was immaculately clean. Only problem we found was not having tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. Breakfast was fair and there were lots of choices. Staff were not the most friendly but did provide information when asked and they did speak English. The hotel was near enough to the main attractions to walk.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    112
    140
    82
    80
See reviews for
45
141
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After so many previous reviewers comments regarding the attitude of the staff we expected the worst. However on arrival the receptionist on duty and the others we came across throughout our stay could not have been more helpful, I usually find a smile and using my manners usually does the trick when visiting other peoples countries,it is a two way street and all that.
As for the hotel the rooms are large enough, clean and 'very warm' which seems to be the norm in this part of Europe. The hotel is in a good location for getting into the center which is 10 - 15 minutes walk away but if you turn left when leaving the hotel instead of right and go under the underpass cross the large dual carriageway bridge and turn right at the metro station you will see signs for Vysehrad which is a walled fort said to be 10th century and well worth a wander round with superb views of Prague. As a bonus if you walk round the walls clockwise there is a great little bar inside the fort on the way out with a log fire,good beer and tasty Czeck bar food. Its a nice quiet start to the day before sampling the all that Prague has to offer later on. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet we stayed in 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Bought as a deal holiday, with three nights b&b. The room was clean, tidy, and fairly spacious. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was a lot better as the main road the hotel was on was extremely busy. Was roughly 15-20min walk to Old Town Square and 10-15min to train station. The hotel was a bit outdated (decor wise) but for the price and length of time there it was was ok. We got twin beds pushed together even when asking for a double, was ok for the few nights though. The breakfast was cereals with juice, tea, coffee, sausage, scrambled egg and cheeses. Had it one of the three mornings, couldn't stomach it the other two. The reception staff could have smiled (even just the once-I'm not greedy)… but no, got nothing. Good lot of information in lobby for local things to do etc. Enjoy Prague. Bon appetite.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKiwi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have moved to this hotel in november 2013 for 2 night. It is nice 3 star hotel near centre. Helpfull staff is available 24 hours. Nice receptionist :-). The breakfast was good, excellent juice and hot sausage. I had single room situated to the courtyard and it was really sillent. Basic equipment but in good condition. The price was very cheap, I was really surprised.

Room Tip: Take room to the courtyard. Hotel has cheap garage in the premise. Try restaurant Legenda near hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights last week as part of a Jet2 Holiday package. We chose this hotel as its not a bad walk from town and fit well within our price range. After reading through the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive but was put at ease as soon as we checked in. We even got a smile from the receptionist upon checking in.

Room was nice and big, our only slight issue was the bed. We travelled here as a couple for my birthday but the bed was two singles. Whilst they were pushed together to look like a double, they each had their own linen and there was a gap in the middle where the two wooden frames met. A bit disappointing, I wouldn't have minded if it were two singles but it should've been made up as a double, with double linen without each individual bed having a frame. Oh well.

We headed for breakfast early, good selection of items but scrambled eggs were a bit meh. Other options included cereal, cheeses, hams, cakes and frankfurts. We found that the items were being replenished as they ran out and no matter what time of morning we went down. It's unfortunate you aren't able to take items (mostly coffee) up to the rooms, I think there should be some sort of tea/coffee facility provided in the rooms.

There was only one morning where we had an issue with the shower, just that it kept going from hot to cold, and then mostly cold. Pressure of the water was fine.

We had also put a do not disturb sign on our door one morning when we left the hotel, as we'd only been there one night we did not feel our room needed to be made up. When we returned, we found the sign had been removed and the room made up. Just a bit annoying.

Although they provide some sort of bar service downstairs at reception, there's no ice available.

We didn't use the safety deposit box, we didn't have alot of valuables with us so it wasn't worth paying the 50czk a day for it. We also didn't use the in room wifi service and instead just went to reception to use. Works quite well.

There is a main road outside the building, we didn't have our windows open so it didn't bother us too much. There are quite a few mini markets and pubs up the next block from the hotel which we made use of. I wouldn't recommend heading anywhere near I.P Pavlova though, we went there twice at night, once for food and once for a tram and it felt very sketchy. We saw a pair trying to break into the public toilet pay machine to get the change out and a few other shady characters around, it just didn't feel like a nice area to be in. Apart from that, the streets surrounding the hotel are fine.

Overall, it was a good hotel for what we paid for. And we weren't expecting the most romantic hotel from it but it was still okay to travel to as a couple (apart from the bed thing). I would most likely stay here again if I were travelling alone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thrashunrealx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper to get a room for 2 than at the hostels we were looking at. After a six hour drive it would of been nice to be greeted with a smile, but the whole time we were checking in the lady barely even looked at us. Luckily enough there was still room in the small indoor parking lot, which costs 12 euros at night. This is cheaper than the other places around Prague, but you never know if you are going to get a spot because it is based on first come first serve.

There were no issues with the room, it was clean and fairly big, with high ceilings. The breakfast room is also big, and the breakfast itself is decent, enough to get your day started.

As for the location, it is a 10-15 minute walk from the beginning of the Old Town on a busy road of 3 lanes. Since it is so busy it makes it feel safer to come back at night, but it is also harder to sleep with the window open because it is noisy.

If you are looking for a cheap stay of 2-3 days I would recommend this hotel, and if I were to go back to Prague I would reconsider staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The rooms were of a decent size, are tired but clean enough (just don't look behind the beds!), receptionist barely muttered hello let alone smile as we checked in, but you'll find the 'customer service' in Prague to be quite non-existent, sometimes rude in most places, but still quite shocking. Breakfast was decent enough for what you pay for, but again waitresses were very rude and a bit stupid to be honest. The location is ok, city centre about 15 minute walk. Would recommend walking around Prague 1 for nice buildings, and next to the padlock bridge, a nice cafe/bar right beside it under the bridge. over all the hotel was ok for the price, it's just the lack of effort from staff that is very off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
City Central Hotel
City Central Hotel
#562 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#446 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Prague Centre Plaza
#371 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#349 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#311 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Praha 2
Prague Centre Superior
Prague Centre Superior
#471 of 651 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Property: City Club Hotel
Address: Sokolska 1883/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #595 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Prague
City Club Hotel Prague
City Prague
City Club Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing