We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is basic...staff are terrible”
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Club Hotel
Ranked #593 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

If you just need a room fairly close to town for a short stay this is fine. Don't expect anything in terms of customer experience. Staff see it as a chore to help.
The room was fine though. Clean and basic so did the job for a few nights.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is basic but does the job for a weekend.

Staff however were very rude and unhelpful.

One receptionist was mortified that she had to remove her headphones to call us a taxi and seemed generally uninterested in being at all helpful.

All in all, if you need somewhere to stay then it's not too bad for 25 euro per night but don't expect any help from the staff!

Watch out for taxi drivers in town, they generally pitched their prices at twice the going rate so be prepared to negotiate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

old building, big room, breakfast include. We had 2 receptionists girls where just one was adeuqite (with curly hair) others..first they never look in your side, no smile nothing. You ask open question they answer the way as they make you favour (questions like "can I have the kettle in my room pls") they look on you the way as you their enemy. one day I asked the tea 9i drunk it before) the girl just gave me black tea thats all, I asked her can I chooce pls, can I have grog tea. She said they do not have it. When I found she said me "on english its straweberry tea" (on the tea bag written "grog wine tea") . absolutly unfriendly. You might do not care about it but we saw it not once in Prague. Especially young girls ..it make you do not wish go there any more. that's why actually we left Prague early for other country and did not go to Karlovi Vari. Terrible service in Prague.

Room Tip: do not speak with receptionist bc your mood with upset so in this case the quality of room won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 11 friends for a birthday weekend. Have been to Prague a few times so knew what to expect. Hotel was basic but functional. No bar, just a small reception area. Breakfast room was downstairs and small considering number of people staying ok if you like sausages and cabbage for breakfast, not my cup of tea. Rooms were big enough, mine had 4 beds in. Bathroom was small but had everything, very clean and comfortable but basic and old fashioned. Fine for a group of lads on the drink but would not take the wife here. 20 mins walk to Wensceslas Square down busy main road. Not bad through day but a bit dodgy at night. Cost anywhere from £6 for a taxi but beware at night they try to rip you off. All in all, ok for a lads trip but not for a nice weekend with partner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice and clean hotel with good breakfast. 15 to 20 minutes walking from the old square of Prague. The room was good with a nice bed. There was no air condition in the room but it had a fan which was enough.
The only negative thing was the Internet. It was mentioned to have Internet in the share areas but do not count on it .

Room Tip: Not a good option If you need internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Recently been to the city club hotel. After reading some reviews i was aware it wasnt going to be amazing but me and my partner are very easy going and only wanted somewhere to place our heads. On arrival the girl at the front desk did not even look up when we said hello after a few minutes she told us where our room was. we were told to go outside and into an annex. We did not feel safe as anyone off the street could walk in, there was supposed to be swipe entry but this did not work. The rooms are big, decor was old fashioned but no problem with that. The bathroom was clean but the beds only had a mattress topper in which you could see the stained mattress underneath. By the end of our stay we felt ichy and uncomfortable. The hotel location is great but lacked everything else we didnt even get a new toilet roll, 2 ends rolls.Bars on the windows,very rude staff including the manager. Prague is amazing and I would definitely recommend to anyone but we would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont get put in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

City club prague is in a good location, easy access into the city if you can figure out how the metro works. Rooms were clean and ours a good size and the bed very comfy but the shower did not drain very well....risk of flooding!. Only downside was no coffee or tea making facilities and staff were rude and unapproachable. A lot of students were staying when we were there and i felt like we were treated like we were one of these young students even though we are in our 30s. Bottom line....you get what you pay for as it was dirt cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billywhizz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
City Central Hotel
City Central Hotel
#565 of 649 in Prague
375 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#300 of 649 in Prague
326 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Louis Leger
Hotel Louis Leger
#165 of 649 in Prague
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Prague Centre Superior
Prague Centre Superior
#542 of 649 in Prague
333 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#580 of 649 in Prague
368 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#130 of 649 in Prague
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Address: Sokolska 1883/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Prague
City Club Hotel Prague
City Prague
City Club Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing