We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden City - Garni
Ranked #250 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

So this is was my solo trip to Prague, so was looking for nothing fancy and on a budget and booked this one cause it was a great deal on expedia. 44 euros for 2 nights.
The place is located in a district called Zizkov about 2 kms from Prague central station and about the same from Old Town Square from where all the major attractions of Prague start. And sinxe Prague is such a walking city this didn't bother me at all.
My first impression of the place was good... though it smelt a bit antiseptic (like a hospital). The room was nice and big and could easily accommodate 3 people, though I was just single.
But then the real issues started. On the first day I left the hotel at around 3 in the afternoon for sight seeing and when I came back realised that someone had been to my room. I first thought that it was housekeeping... but my bed was not made so was unsure. Then I realised that someone had used the toilet and had broken the flush. There was also a flashlight left in the toilet, looked like someone had tried to use it while repairing the flush.. all in all the flush did not work for the next 3 days inspite of having complained.
Also my room was facing the main road which has a tramline running across... and this can be quite noisy and disturbing at night evem for me who is a very sound sleeper.
Another thing... what is with the motion sensor lights in the bathroom. So if ur standing just brushing your teeth or scrubbing yourself or on the toilet seat... the lights in the bathroom would just go off as it would not sense enough motion.
Overall very mixed feelings about this place. Would I come here again... Definitely not with Family. Would I recommed it... Yes if u are on a budget and cant get a better deal. Maybe this was only my experience and you may have a better one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyuDCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    160
    82
    28
    23
See reviews for
37
137
68
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Prague was a beautiful city and neither of us had been before and we loved every moment. This hotel was a little out of the city but really only 10 mins on the tram outside and with 3 to pick from we never waited more than 4 minutes and they run till really early so it never was an issue. The help desk staff were all really helpful and spoke plenty enough English to help us with all requests and even tried to help us and appreciated our attempts at Czech! They sell bus passes etc at he desk too so travelling around is easy and most days we walked in first thing and it only took 15 minutes.
There isn't a restaurant but you do get a comprehensive breakfast included. All continental and the same each day but more that enough choice for our 4 days so we didn't get bored of item
All in all we loved it, thought it was brilliant for the price we paid and would happily stay again. Thanks hotel golden city :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel although is not very near to the centre but a tram stop is just outside it. The hotel staff is very helpful. Breakfast is good. Good value for that price and they give a good exchange rate for money too. So if you are staying here, you can gen your currency exchanged and have your tram tickets and city map from them too :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rishika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Taking in account the price, everything was fine. Location is not very central, but not a real issue, breakfast is decent and rooms are fine. The only thing I disliked was that despite my request the room windows headed to a busy street so it was quite noisy. Overall good experience but I would try something else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel, housed in a beautiful art nouveau building, is a little away from the main tourist drag, but very easily accessible by Prague's excellent tram service. My room was compact but had everything I needed for a short stay. In room wifi was fast and reliable. Breakfast in the small and busy breakfast room was varied and of high quality. This offers very good "no frills" value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Not a bad stay, but if you are expecting a Marriott you will be disappointed. I liked the location, a little outside the city center, but convenient by tram. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, non smoking rooms, but people can and do smoke right in the hallways so you still smell it. Rooms were big with Huge pillows, almost too big. Had trouble with the hot water (as in there was barely any) and lights in the bathroom wouldn't stay on. They state for 15 minutes, but at times they would go either 3 or 30 minutes. Breakfast in one word - different. The two ladies in the nice breakfast rooms were pleasant, but some ok most of the food was just strange. For the price we paid stay was OK, but I would choose somewhere else next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Maria takes customer service levels to a new high for this hotel. She picked us up from the bus station when we arrived late night from Vienna and dropped us to the airport for our onward journey. She was most considerate in solving our issue at the hotel when we weren't happy with the allocated room. The breakfast is a good variety and very healthy. The hotel is exactly what you pay for, but its the personal touch of managers like Maria that makes all the difference. Would definitely like to try again on our next visit to Prague.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the higher floor on back side of hotel, as Trams run up till 4 am on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit-Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Residence Tabor
Hotel Residence Tabor
#293 of 649 in Prague
219 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#349 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#194 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Dalimil
Hotel Dalimil
#266 of 649 in Prague
219 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#421 of 649 in Prague
48 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#486 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden City - Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City - Garni

Property: Golden City - Garni
Address: Taboritska 913/3 | Zizkov, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City - Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated in central Prague's Zizkov district, close to Wenceslas Square 15 minutes walk and well connected to many of Prague's major attractions, including the city's historic Old Town, New Town, Lesser Town and Prague Castle. Lipanska tram stop is situated in front of the hotel. Public means of transportation in Prague are clean, quite comfortable and cheap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden City - Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden City Garni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing