We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olympik Hotel Prague
Ranked #596 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I wouldn't recommend the hotel. It obviously is outdated but this is not the problem.

My friends and I stayed there for 4 nights in two rooms for 2 persons. The rooms were OK. They were clean and comfortable. However the bathroom door wouldn't close and it was as if there was no door at all. No privacy there at all. Apart from that the TV channel guide was nowhere near to the actual channels and the TV didn't really worked properly as the signal was disturbed when you stay at certain places in the room.

They charged for wifi with a nonexistent signal and the climate control was not working. Some other minor issues were also noticeable. The hotel is a rather big one and it was full which was a bit annoying. The hotel bar didn't work.

For such a huge hotel one could expect to enjoy some fitness facilities but no were to be found too. We had a free parking which we couldn't use because it was full with buses.

On the good side the location is nice. It is close to the subway and there is a nice view from the upper floors. Breakfast is also well served. Although the problems, listed above, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is pretty good if you're not looking for luxury and the only time you'll spend in the room will be for sleeping. Sheets were clean, towels were changed daily. The carpet was a little bit sticky so I recommend you to bring some home shoes with. The breakfast was the same every day but it was good, meaning that it's impossible not to find something that you like. The view is very nice and even if the position of the hotel is somehow outside the city, you have a metro station 2 minutes away from the hotel and you only have 4 stations to the centre of Prague. No free internet. There's a 24 hours pass for wi-fi and it costs 5 euro.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The sheets were already dirty when we arrived, the staff was impolite and no helpful at all and the food tasted and smelled like a dead mouse. We asked for changing the sheets but there was no answer only that they "will" change them, but of course they didn't! Also, some days we didn't have toilet paper and face towels plus if we were out all day the sheets and the towels were only fixed and not changed. All of my friends got like red marks on their bodies and pimples!! I would not recommend this hotel at all, the only good thing was that it was near the station.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniencl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I went to Prague with school, and despite we were 4 in a room for 2 , we felt very comfort! The cleaning of the room was very good and the cousine was good as well! There were many students but the service of the dinner was ready to decentely satisfy everyone!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My experience with this hotel was a pleasant one and this is for the following reasons:

First of all the price of the room was very good for the time period I stayed there, just before and after new years when it's almost impossible to find an accommodation, on a low budget, close to the center of Prague. The location even if it does not offer much it is in walking distance to a metro and tram station that took us very easy to the center. The room was decent and fairly clean and met my demands for a place to rest. Breakfast has a wide variety of food and drinks to chose from and again like everything else in this place the quality is decent and directly proportional to the low price payed. The lady at the reception spoke understandable English and was friendly.

It's definitely not a 4 Star hotel at today's standards. It is clearly a building from the 80's which kept it's exterior look unchanged and the interior got a modern touch here and there. The entrance seems to be new and fitted with big glass automated doors. The elevators and the bathrooms are renovated and up to date but the quality of the details and materials is surely not the best especially in the bathrooms. The rooms have still the old beds which are ok but not extremely comfortable. AirCo was not working and the safe was broken and the tv was a small Chinese low quality monitor. In the morning the noise made by the housekeeping ladys was a bit disturbing for us but just because we were out all night and preferred to sleep in late.
The bar and restaurant area gave me all the time the feeling I was back in time, because everything seems to look the same as the time when it was built.
Overall I would describe this hotel as decent but outdated and I would recommend it for people travelling on a low budget and without high expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 385Mikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our team stayed here as part of the tournament. I believe most of the teams did stay here. They did their best, but after staying at the Westin in Berlin this was a bit of step back. The property is a bit dated, the morning breakfast...adequate. The juice was more flavored water, the eggs scrambled but runny, coffee...ok. The rooms were a bit small but still served the purpose. The poor fish under the weird wall statue....don't know really what to make of it.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side are a bit wider than the other. Not sure how to tell you which is which.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n17wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I saw some review's of this hotel and I was a little bit worry, but when I arrived with some friends wasn't that bad. The personal was very gentile and they don't stress you with nothing, the food was good and enough for everybody. The staff was good, the facilities was fair to good, cleanliness - good, comfort - good, value for money - excellent, location - good.
We have also a good view to the city center of Prague.
If you are not very demanding in terms of design, It is a perfect place in terms of quality and price for a 4 stars hotel in Prague.
A little bit far away from the center, but good links with the metro. At 2 minutes you will find a metro station - Ivalidovna.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Olympik Artemis Hotel
Olympik Artemis Hotel
#578 of 648 in Prague
40 reviews
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#580 of 648 in Prague
362 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Ilf
Hotel Ilf
#350 of 648 in Prague
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#517 of 648 in Prague
159 reviews
Praha 10
Fortuna City
Fortuna City
#577 of 648 in Prague
391 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#377 of 648 in Prague
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympik Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympik Hotel Prague

Address: Sokolovska 138, Prague 186 76, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £40 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olympik Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel; situated on metro line B, just 10 minutes from the historical city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olympik Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Olympik Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing