We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, next to Old Town Square & HardRock Cafe”
Review of Rott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rott Hotel
Ranked #72 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent location, perfectly and sensitively reconstructed historical building. Very reasonable price, considering that you sleep next to the famous Old Town Square. Nice staff, keen to assist you. I stayed in a small but well equipped single room, wide selection in minibar, fast operating wifi. Quiet, I didn´t face any noise from the outside. Great breakfast in the cellarage. For evening walks in the downtown or for me as a fan of HardRock Cafe (next door) it is one of the best locations in Prague ! Highly recommended to everybody, I will be back soon for sure !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late May and we were very happy with the nice clean room, the friendly staff, and the perfect position so close to the Astromical Clock and Old Town Square. The breakfast was fabulous and was served in a beautiful old red brick cellar with domed ceilings. We only had a short walk to the Charles Bridge,the Powder Tower, and the Republic square etc. We would not hesitate to book there again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not facing the busy front square. Our room faced the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimitri40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was my first trip to Prague and we wanted to stay as close to Male Nameste (Small Square) as possible. When we booked this hotel, we did it primarily based on reviews and price. Hotel Rott is literally right around the corner from Male Nameste! The location for the price we paid couldn't be better and the room was nice - nothing spectacular, but very clean and typical. BONUS - the bathroom had heated floors. :) Minibar was a little steep, but what hotel doesn't charge a mint for minibar items?

Checkout was a breeze and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was included - served buffet-style and pretty decent, including eggs, bacon/ham/sausage, fruit and yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandMTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Rott just off the Old Town Square. (About 50 metres from the Astronomical Clock) This has to be one of the best locations to stay if (like us) you cannot walk too far, it's all on the door step, the square, Charles Bridge, Wenceslas Boulevard and Square, the Jewish Quarter.

Clean tidy rooms, friendly staff, a good hot buffet breakfast to set you up for a day of touristy travel. What more could you want? Mini Bar, WI-FI and all the usual you would expect.

One small word of warning - do NOT use the restauarant to the right as you come out of the Hotel Rott doorway, in the centre of the road - - belongs U Prince Hotel and is very poor value and food - a tourist trap.

Lots of much better bars serving food around, explore near the Swarovski store on the corner and down the cobbled lanes from there, cheap, cheerful and good food.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a high floor room (away from the Hard Rock Cafe next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Being our first visit to Prague, I was unfamiliar with the city and its surrounds. I had read that the area around the old town centre and the Astronomical Clock were the heart so I after some research, selected Hotel Rott for our four night stay. We were amazed at how central this hotel was - we couldn't have picked a better location.

Apart from the location, the hotel itself was fantstic. Very comffortable and spacious room, professional staff to attend to any questions we had and the most amazing breakfast for European standards, with a good selection of both hot and cold breakfast treats.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and if we ever return to Prague, it will be straight to Hotel Rott

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tntpaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

we stayed at hotel rott for 3 days in MAY for my birthday and it was fabulous. Hotel was perfect locatiion for the old part of Prague. Room was lovely and a bottle of champagne was sent up for me as i celebrated my birthday when on break. The old town is lovely and we found plenty of places to eat and did not once have a bad meal. We did a river cruise at night which was lovely as it showed Prague all lit up at night and was magical. We both loved Prague and would definitly come again and stay at Hotel Rott.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shieldskath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottHotel, Director of Sales at Rott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your next visit!
Please do not hesitate to contact us for your reservation.

Hotel Rott Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've just returned from a 3 night stay in the Rott Hotel as part of a stag do for my future step son in law. I've been to Prague before and stayed in the K&K Central, which was a lovely hotel just by the Powder Gate, but Rott Hotel has it beat for location as it's literally around the corner from the Old Town Square.
Stayed in room 101, which had it's own outside terraced area with wicker table and chairs. View wasnt that great but was lovely to sit outside in the sun while my mate got ready. There was a good choice at breakfast, although it could have done with being on offer beyond 10.00am, especially at the weekend.
Staff were very attentive and checking in was easy. There was a guy at reception on the sunday as we were leaving who really couldn't do enough for us. Taking our luggage and storing it once we'd checked out and offering to arrange a taxi for us. I had already booked airport transfer through praguexperience.com and i would thoroughly recommend them. There were 10 of us and it worked out at £12 each.
Drank in many various bars, so too many to list out, but my advice would be to go to bars away from the Old Town Square. You will pay no more than 40 Kronas instead of up to 100 Kronas and the beer seems that much better. I will recommend U Vejvodu. Best 50ml of Pilsner Urquell in all the time i was there and very friendly staff.
Weather was glorious all the time we were there. Obvioulsy had a walk over Charles Bridge and up to the castle. Even worked over my hangover by climbing the 290 something steps to the top of the castle tower. What a view you get from there.
Would go back to Prague at the drop of a hat. Lovely architecture, friendly people and ofcourse the best beer in the world.

Room Tip: Room 101 if you like the idea of your own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#118 of 646 in Prague
894 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,524 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,449 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rott Hotel

Address: Male namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £62 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Prague at The Little Square (Male namesti), Hotel Rott is just a few steps from the famous Old Town Square and Old Town Astronomical Clock.Hotel Rott is on four floors, consisting of two buildings and offers 94 rooms, meeting facilities, café and a restaurant.One of the buildings proudly displays beautiful frescoes inspired by Mikolas Ales paintings.Our hotel provides the perfect starting point for all business and sightseeing locations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing