We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better places to stay in Prague”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #558 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better places to stay in Prague”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Prague mainly due to parking our car. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is out of the city but appears to be in a nice area. As others have mentioned it's a short walk to the bus stop and then the underground into the city itself. If you have heavy suitcases this place will be a pain as there are no lifts but plenty of stairs. The hotel itself is in urgent need of a refurb as alot of things are looking very worn out including the beds. The breakfast is adequate but I wouldn't eat at the restaurant unless you have no other options. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    32
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting Prague on a city trip. While the hotel isn't in the city centre (it's actually a bus and metro ride away) we still had a very nice stay. the rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. you'll get complementary breakfast with egg's and if you want pancakes their freshly baked. We were staying in room number 2 which doesn't have a view but since the hotel is situated on a hill the view from the stairs was already fabulous so i'm guessing the other rooms have that as well. I do have some minor issue's. while the rooms itself were very quiet and the other guests respected eachother, once someone from one of the adjacent rooms when't to the bathroom or took a shower we could hear the weather running very clearly. the curtains were just pieces of cloth and didn't do anything to keep out sunlight. but other then these 2 points a very nice stay in a very cosy hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthias086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and it suited our needs. The rooms were not fancy, but they were clean and cheap. The view from the hotel was beautiful! Also, it was the only hotel we stayed at that was signposted! We were very thankful, as our GPS didn't seem to be programmed with maps of Czech Republic. Breakfast was great, with all the expected choices, plus fresh crepes made to order!
People who stay here expecting luxury for the price we paid will be disappointed. But it was a clean bed at the end of a busy day in Prague, and we didn't break the bank staying there.
Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacUlmarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Despite the tounge-in-cheek title, the Monica is really a lovely place to stay but suffers from being situated at the top of a set of stairs which wouldn't look out of place in The Exorcist. Luckily I didn't meet a tumbling Father Merrin on the one time that I used them (downwards of course, I would have needed crampons, ropes and a lot more energy than this 58 year old body of mine could hope to have to make the return journey.)
First the bad points: The position at the top of the hill, the hotel is on multiple levels and the fact that there are no lifts. However, the good points more than make up for the bad. The rooms are comfortable and accommodating, the views are spectacular and the food is a dream. Breakfast is buffet style, wide-ranging and inclusive but the evening meals are fabulous. I only wish they had a greater selection of Czech food rather than rely on International cuisine. Still, that is a niggardly comment and it is a certainty that the lack of a localised menu does not detract whatsoever from the quality of the food. The hotel is both child and pet friendly (dogs only, I suspect; I didn't notice too many crocodiles or elephants staying), and they all made a terrific fuss of our three-year-old visitor and nothing was too much for them.
Unusually for a City hotel, the Monica has a pool which all ten of us used and we particularly liked the waitress service at the pool-side tables; Pilsner Urquell al-fresco anyone?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thesaintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel at the end of july 2012 and the beds were really hard (the hardest I ever tried). The basin tap was very very noisy.
Moreover, the dirty bath towels that we put on the floor were folded and reinstalled so that we believed it was new ones. So if you go in this hotel, become a fakir before, take wax ear plugs and take your own towels !
But the swimming-pool is good :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
vetlanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We decide to stay longer next time. It was just a very pleasant stay (well....without the stairs though :))
We are a family with 2 small kids. Beside the stair problems (our room is on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator) the kids enjoyed the stay so much. We like the spacious room and bathroom (4 of us can be in the bathroom at the same time without any problem at all!!). But when we were doing check outs the receptionist gave a tips on a family room which is just accross the garden (right near to the pool). Ask for that room (number 29, if I am not wrong) if you are a family want to stay in this hotel. We definetely will come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I organised a wedding here last week and couldn't be happier with the staff and service received. No request was either too big or too small and the service was always with a smile.

The food at the wedding was fantastic. The quantity and quality was fab and everyone who attended the wedding only had positive things to say, which made me look good too.

Special thanks go to Pavla (at reception), Helena (behind the bar) and Roman (the chef) as they couldn't do enough to help the entire party (of approx. 25 people) who stayed there from 30/05 - 08/06! They worked all hours god-send to ensure that people were happy and even did overtime, sleeping for a few hours less each night.

Travel into town wasn't difficult and to be honest with you I would rather stay at Hotel Monica and get the scenic tram into town, which is approx. 8 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel, or get a bus in and see more of this glorious city than stay in town at exorbitant rates and be kept up by revellers in the town centre.

The rooms at the hotel were fantastic. In the lead up to the wedding, I was given a detailed tour around most of the rooms in the hotel. The honeymoon suite was second to none, as were the other rooms, which all had either shower or bathrooms, mini bar facilities, room service and were cleaned when we needed them cleaning.

Our room had a balcony and a gorgeous view of Prague as did most of the other rooms. Even the rooms that didn't have views, looked out on to something pretty.

Breakfast, which was included in the price, was a sumptuous spread, consisting of eggs, sausages, bacon, juices, cheeses, cereals as well as a continental option. We had a few meals there, which were all perfect and delicious and gave us all a nice introduction to Czech food, which is fab.

We initially booked in from 01/06 to 04/06, but decided to extend our stay there till 07/06, when we departed and will definitely return to Hotel Monica.

Well done to Tomas too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#457 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#502 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Hotel Stary Pivovar
#533 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#567 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#364 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#581 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Vlnita 1710/31A, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing