We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK, but the travel is a pain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #535 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Banbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was OK, but the travel is a pain”
Reviewed 27 May 2008

The Monica was clean and tidy, but the ongoing smell of the kitchen, mainly old cooking fat, did let the hotel down.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the problem we had with the shower in our room was fixed quickly.

Breakfast was simple but good.

The downside was the distance to the city centre. There was a 10 minute walk for the tram, and then a further 10-15 mins into the city. This therefore meant if you wanted to go back to the hotel before going out again in the evening you had to allow quite a bit of travelling time. The cost of a taxi was around £10 and took 15-20 minutes.

Overall OK, but would recommend staying in a city centre hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Butters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    32
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
19
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2008

This is more like a bed-and-breakfast than a Hotel. It is quaint, the rooms are excellent and the people are so friendly. I have stayed 3 times and I can say I was treated extremely well. The breakfast is outstanding. This hotel is not for those that like to be pampered with a bell boy and such: as one review mentioned - you will get your exercise with the stairs. It is comfortable and it feels like home when I am there. What else can you want?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Television Station selection
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurzeme
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We, three persons came to the hotel guided by their signs. The place was nice, the hotel was nice; and despite all the funny facts mentioned below, we liked it there.
First night, we got 2 double rooms for three for the price of one double room or something like that. We decided to stay for 2 more nights. Next day we all three were moved to something like a bit abandoned flat on -1 floor (we think it was -1). Very nice - we had separate doors leading to the yard and the swimming pool from there.
But:
- old newspapers, books and furniture - a touch of history
- TV only with 2-4 Czech channels. Good to have if you want to learn Czech. And we enjoyed Karel Gott concert, which we would have missed if we had had any German or English channels.
- the flat had a kitchen. stuffed with furniture and things. but we made a nice second bedroom of it anyway.
- a nice hole in the wall of the "lobby". Covered with plasterboard.
- an old condom (in package) in the drawer of commode. My fault, should not have looked into any drawers in an abandoned flat.

Nevertheless, it was nice there. Really. And the view on Prague is great there.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidzeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marbella
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Excellent hotel and breakfast, very clean, stayed there twice.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank marbellagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

I spent a week with my husband (on business) and seven year old daughter at the Hotel Monica, in early December. We stayed at the hotel because it was close to where my husband was working.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. The beds were more comfortable than we had expected based on previous reviews and my husband's other experiences in Prague but these truly are basic beds. There are lots of steps getting to the lobby from the street and to the rooms with no elevator - it was not an issue for us but could a challenge for some.

The restaurant was open all the time and had a large menu but the meals were only ok, not great, except for breakfast which was really quite good - buffet style with lots of choices including freshly made to order crepes and eggs and with coffee that was about as good as my regular Starbucks Cafe Americano at home.

My daughter liked to take advantage of the computer with internet access in the lobby of the hotel since the only English channel was CNN. My husband and I liked the friendly atmosphere and service at the lobby bar where we enjoyed Czech beer some evenings.

We made use of the public transit system to get to the centre of Prague each day. It was between 30 and 40 minutes each way including the walk, bus and subway but the system was easy to use, inexpensive, and there was very little waiting no matter what time of day we went. I would have preferred to be a bit closer to the action in town but this was a good quiet hotel with reasonable rates and I would recommend it to others who are willing to make the commute.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kimosabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2006

I chose this hotel because of the outdoor pool and it looked quite good on the website. The pool ended up being a god send as the weather was so hot while we were in Prague.
The rooms were very clean with good, modern bathrooms and most seem to have their own balconies. Mini bar and meals were extremely cheap and breakfast offered a wide choice including freshly made crepes!
This hotel is quite far from the town centre and you need to catch a bus then tram into town. We asked at the reception and they gave us full instructions. Bus stop is at the top of the road, maybe a 5-10 minute walk. Once you've done it, it's easy and gives you a chance to mix with the locals!
Overall, we loved this hotel and would definetly return. It is so nice to have the contrast from the town centre of lush, peaceful gardens to sit in. All hotel staff were extremely helpful as well and there was even free internet access in the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LM1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Booked this hotel because it looked great on the website and also had the bonus of an outside swimming pool, which is unusual for Prague. The reality was not what we expected. On arriving, we had to lug our bags down a steep flight of steps and then discovering there was no lift, had then to lug them up 3 flights of stairs. However we were not too disheartened as, on the whole, the hotel was pleasant, with a nice reception and bar area and the rooms clean and comfortable, with exceptionally large luxurious bathrooms. That was until we went to bed. The matresses were rock hard (I think you would find better in a prison!) and it was the worst 2 nights sleep (if you can call it sleep) we ever had in a hotel. The hotel was also alot further out of the way than expected - a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest tram stop (not ideal after a long day's walking in Prague with 2 kids). Therefore we ended up getting taxi's most of the time. The pool was nice enough but absolutely freezing. Will not be returning to this one I'm afraid. Spend the extra money and try the Golden Gate Suites in the old town centre.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Belfastmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaPrague, owner at Hotel Monica, responded to this review, 2 May 2007
For: Tripadvisor Community
>> 1.The description of the matresses is therefore not actual, we have
>> changed all matresses in our hotel. If there was hard matress, it had
> been medical matress.
>> 2.And maybe our hotel is not directly at the city centre but only
> 10minutes from the centre and we can offer our guest restful place (so
> extraordinary in Prague). Our hotel offers cheap shuttle, too.
>> 3.Here are only 3 rooms at the third floor but here is a special
> entrance for these rooms at our hotel.
>>
>> Regards,
Tomas Sedlacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#460 of 670 in Prague
140 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#516 of 670 in Prague
22 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Hotel Stary Pivovar
#531 of 670 in Prague
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#566 of 670 in Prague
19 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#361 of 670 in Prague
128 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#574 of 670 in Prague
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Vlnita 1710/31A, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing