We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the price”
Review of Hotel Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monica
Ranked #555 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth the price”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was on euro trip with a friend and luckily we found this hotel which is located on the top of the hill from where you can see some parts of Praha.. the best part was that the price we paid for it was worth to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
26
21
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Monica. Located SE of the Old Town with easy access to trams along the river.
For a summer break it is perfect, well any hot weather time. Quietly situated on a hillside overlooking the city. The pool is clean and inviting when you need to cool down from the sun bed. But there are only a few.
Rooms are good but make sure you specifically request a balcony as some, which have had previous smokers, are not very well aired and it does linger.
Breakfast is better than expected with a good continuing supply of coffee. The bar only opens from 4pm - 10pm, maybe 11 on a Saturday. A bit short for most Brits.
There is a supermarket at the bottom of the hill, but suggest taking a wheeled case for the return journey as it is a hike. The rooms have fridges so you can save quite a lot by making the trip.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: When booking is confirmed do email the hotel and request a balcony room. The rooms in the middle, eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My 2 sisters and I stayed here mainly because my sisters wanted a hotel with an outdoor pool.
It was advertised as a 3 star which it definitely isn't. The decor,beds curtains, carpets, bathrooms are very tired albeit a clean tired. The breakfast was ok; cereals, scrambled eggs,breads,cheeses etc. We had issues with the size of the room for 3 adults, however, this was discussed with the manager and although we didn't move rooms we were compenstaed with a reduction in the room rate.There were no fans or air con and it was roasting-30+degrees. It is a short journey out of town but once youv'e sussed it its easy enough. The staff are helpful in directing you etc. One way into town is the tram which we never did as you have to go down the steps at the side of the hotel which they fail to tell you are steep and trecherous. Don't even try it in heels. There are no places to eat nearby that we could find so we went out late morning, early afternoon and stayed out til 9ish. We did eat in the hotel a couple of evenings and it was ok. The wait for food was too long really-35-45minues but that didn't bother us to much. We stayed for 4 nights and kind of got used to it,like you do i guess.
I plan to return to Prague with my husband in the New Year so would i stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We chose this hotel because we had car, wanted to see Prague but didn't want to over spend for two nights in a city hotel with car parking charges on top.
This is a suburban hotel, very tired, full of bus tourist ( our experience was young sports players)
And Noisy breakfast with minimal choice.
The rooms are old, carpets dirty, many flights of stairs..up, down, and around... Beware.. No help with luggage.
This hotel really is more of a backpackers style...a disappointment.

Room Tip: Really I would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melb50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Prague mainly due to parking our car. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is out of the city but appears to be in a nice area. As others have mentioned it's a short walk to the bus stop and then the underground into the city itself. If you have heavy suitcases this place will be a pain as there are no lifts but plenty of stairs. The hotel itself is in urgent need of a refurb as alot of things are looking very worn out including the beds. The breakfast is adequate but I wouldn't eat at the restaurant unless you have no other options. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting Prague on a city trip. While the hotel isn't in the city centre (it's actually a bus and metro ride away) we still had a very nice stay. the rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. you'll get complementary breakfast with egg's and if you want pancakes their freshly baked. We were staying in room number 2 which doesn't have a view but since the hotel is situated on a hill the view from the stairs was already fabulous so i'm guessing the other rooms have that as well. I do have some minor issue's. while the rooms itself were very quiet and the other guests respected eachother, once someone from one of the adjacent rooms when't to the bathroom or took a shower we could hear the weather running very clearly. the curtains were just pieces of cloth and didn't do anything to keep out sunlight. but other then these 2 points a very nice stay in a very cosy hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthias086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and it suited our needs. The rooms were not fancy, but they were clean and cheap. The view from the hotel was beautiful! Also, it was the only hotel we stayed at that was signposted! We were very thankful, as our GPS didn't seem to be programmed with maps of Czech Republic. Breakfast was great, with all the expected choices, plus fresh crepes made to order!
People who stay here expecting luxury for the price we paid will be disappointed. But it was a clean bed at the end of a busy day in Prague, and we didn't break the bank staying there.
Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacUlmarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 9
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#569 of 649 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#453 of 649 in Prague
144 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#564 of 649 in Prague
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Castle Residence Praha
Castle Residence Praha
#248 of 649 in Prague
148 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#531 of 649 in Prague
154 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#537 of 649 in Prague
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monica

Property: Hotel Monica
Address: Vlnita 1710/31A, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing