We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Awesome Value”
Review of Hotel Slavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Slavia
Ranked #570 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my family, It is a 3 star hotel and is as expected. Place is clean and staff is keen to help with transport, Breakfast is good. lobby bar is comfortable wit well priced drinks. I stayed here because of the soccer match next door. Great location for sporting events.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the newer wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went as part of a group and checked into the hotel, only to realise that the hotel takes your passport on arrival as proof of who is staying in the room. This is a minor set back and we complied. Once in the room, we were greeted with damp bed sheets and dirt everywhere. The hotel is very basic, although we knew this on arrival.

When we all got to dinner, the rest of the group were given their meals, although with no choice of what they were given (i.e. No menus). I am a vegetarian and I was given cooked pasta with 3 slices of cheese and a knob of butter, and I was expected to eat it. This meal was absolutely inadequate and we complained, and the rest of the group were thoroughly annoyed with the quality if their food too. The hotel responded the next night by still not giving menus, but with an actual vegetarian meal. The meal was still disgusting but was edible.

As a group, we had paid for the superior rooms. On the first night we were given the "standard" rooms (although we thought that these rooms were the superior rooms that we ordered.) We eventually got put into the superior rooms, but the hotel did not give any apology for this.

The hotel is located in a "rough" area of Prague and is a 20 minute tram ride away from the centre, meaning it can be a bit of a hassle getting in and out of town. On the televisions in the rooms, there is only one channel in English - BBC world news. A single game of pool is 40kc a game - far more expensive than at home (about £1.50 compared to £0.50), and this is the only 'entertainment' within the actual hotel. The baths do not have plugs, so it is a bit of a disappointment if you wish to take a bath. Also, the staff in the hotel can be quite rude at times, following a different bizarre incident which I will not mention, (partly to do with the hotel), that could probably have been avoided if the hotel's security was a bit better.

Prague is an amazing city that you should definitely go and explore, but this hotel was pretty horrendous and on my next trip there I will definitely not return to this hotel. With all of these factors combined, this hotel ranks amongst the worst that I have ever stayed at.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Hamish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The room was ok apart from the first night when the room attached had complete idiots in it and we had bugs in our room, however this got sorted and it wasn't bad after that apart from the shower which either burnt or froze you and the door leaked so if you were in to long it would flood the bathroom.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Dirtytoerag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Advantages: very polite and helpful staff ( explain everything), clean room, wifi in a room, good but simple breakfast, possible to buy tickets on reception, easy reach to the city center. Disadvantages: old towels with holes, no fridge in a room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YuShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting Prague with college. Stayed in superior rooms which had a double bed and a single. Rooms were very good considering the rating is low.
Breakfast was very basic, bread, butter, meat, fruit, yoghurt and cereal. As well as, hot drinks being available. The food isn't very much to my taste and I did end up going over to Tesco and bought some Nutella to make my own Nutella buttys, because a girl cannot go without Nutella!
To be very honest, it is more suitable for big parties, such as school/colleges with the walls being thin and able to hear everything along the corridors. If you don't mind 18 year olds like myself being sociable and drinking at night, having a laugh with friends then I would request to stay on a different floor away from big parties if they are there at the time of your stay.
Tesco, shopping mall, tram line, and mcdonalds all in a short distant, which are all pretty cheap and easily affordable if on a small budget, like us students!
Tram ride approximately 20-30 minutes to the centre of Prague, just down the road from Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swifts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you are on a tight budget this hotel has everything you need:
Its clean,has good air-conditioning and a decent breakfast for the money payed.
Its conveniently located as the tram station is literally just outside the hotel grounds,and it takes around 20 mins to reach the city center.

The worst part would definitely be the staff. They are extremely uninterested in you, refuse to say good morning when you come to breakfast. The curtain fell down one day so I asked the receptionist for it to be fixed but it wasn't so i had to ask again next day only to find out nobody was even notified.

That being said,if paying little money for accommodation is your goal this hotel should be your choice, definitely.

Room Tip: WiFi is much much better on floors 1,2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is fine hotel for tourist coming to Prague. Rooms are clean and heating is excellent. Bathroom fine, towels changing every day. Breakfast ok. Tv has only 6 channels, could have more foreign or at least one music channel. Free Wi-Fi. In front of hotel is tram station 24 going directly to the city center. At reception desk they sell tickets for transportation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#561 of 646 in Prague
300 reviews
Hotel Mars
#468 of 646 in Prague
148 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#553 of 646 in Prague
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#466 of 646 in Prague
55 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#532 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#551 of 646 in Prague
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavia

Address: Vladivostocka 1460/10, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £15 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavia 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Slavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing