We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, I thought it was great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Ranked #207 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well, I thought it was great.”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This hotel suits my needs very much. It’s clean and nicely furnished.
Firstly , it’s location is fantastic. Right by the Charles Bridge and Old Town, plus there is a subway station nearby with good airport connections. Next, the room was nice. Breakfast was great and the waiter even refilled our coffee. All this for a very reasonable price.
We found the staff very nice and the receptionist was very helpful.
The bonus is that you’ve got a night club downstairs which lets in hotel guests for free. The club has a dance floor and in a separate area is a bar with topless go go girls for those who want them.
My one complaint might be that they need to put a some screen near the shower in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    206
    54
    22
    21
See reviews for
65
251
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We chose the restaurant of the hotel over another one close by due to its nice wooden interior. The atmosphere seemed to be really inviting and there was enough space even for larger groups. After hard work in Prague our group of 12 anticipated a relaxing last evening in a cosy restaurant with Czec specialities.

On the menue many specialities were offered and most of us were satisfied with the food. It is important to mention that the waiter on our table was quite nice and we did not have to wait a long time for our dishes to be served. On the opposite table there seemed to be a birthday celebration and at the appropriate our the waiter came with a cake and a candle.

Everything seemed to be fine until the end. When we got our bill our problems began.
Some of us still had Czec crowns left and wanted to pay cash whereas two of us wanted to pay with their credit card. This did not seem to be possible at all. We we yelled at that if we were sitting on a table "it was normal" to pay together. The "boss of the waiters" lied to us when he was saying " in Czec Republic, when you sit on a table together, you have to pay together". This was where the argument started. Futhermore, we were told that this was not his, but our problem and that again it was a custom the Czec Republic to say that you want to pay seperately BEFOREHAND. Well, how can we know ?

The day before we went to a restaurant which seemed to be of even higher standard as it was no problem at all to pay seperately even with 5 people. There, they simply used a computer from which every position could be accessed seperately.

The "main" waiter at the till was so unfriendly and rude that we were glad we had already encountered other friendly Czec restaurants and so they did not spoil the whole Prague experience. Finally, he took out a calculator and it suddenly was possible to pay seperately. He had even asked me to pay for all of us as soon as he saw my credit card.

When we left the building we were reminded by him to not ever return to their restaurant and when we stood in front of the restaurant we even heard him swearing about us "Germans".

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Apris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This is the hotel in Prague we keep coming back to - have just been staying there for the third time in 3 years.. Staff is professionel, charming and helpful, rooms are beautiful and spaceous, morning buffet is fantastic and the location is perfect right between Charles Bridge and Mala Strana-side of town and the Old city centre with Staromestske Namesti etc.
Compared to numerous other european cities, 4-star hotels i Prague are highly affordable and definitely worth the extra price compared to lesser accomodation!!

Hotel restaurant and bar is cozy with good food and drinks at reasonable prices!

Before coming to Prague on the last 2 trips, we have sent the hotel an email in advance asking for a room above 1. floor (because of previous noise-problems from the nightclub) and every time, we have had a quick response from the hotel, fulfilling our requests and placing us on 2. floor one time and 4. floor this year.

We absolutely ADORE this hotel - and the staff!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

stayed here for 3 nights in august. location is perfect beside charles bridge and within walking distance to astronomical clock etc. hotel is very clean and staff very freindly and helpful. would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnkavanagh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Gorgeous little boutique hotel a stones throw from Charles Bridge so an excellent location. The rooms are a little dated but are very cute and it made a nice change from the bland decor that we're used to from the mainstream hotels. This hotel is full of history dating back to the 1300's so plenty of quirky gothic features, although it wasn't as problem for us there is no lift in this hotel so if you struggle with stairs then it would be worth requesting a room on one of the lower floors when making a reservation here. Amazing cocktails (best stawberry daiquiris ever!) and great food are served in the bar and the nightclub which is a couple of floors below the hotel is an interesting place! Noise from the club could not be heard from our room. The staff definetly make this hotel - they are friendly, polite and do not expect to be tipped. After a few two many drinks we missed our morning flight home and Petra on reception was amazing and booked new flights for us and totally took care of the situation (thanks again Petra you're a star!).

Overall for value for money, staying in a completely unique hotel which is full of history and in one of the best locations in Prague this hotel is unbeatable. I have been to Prague now about 10 times and have stayed in many places including the Four Seasons but this is the hotel that I will stay at on future visits and would definetly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I've visited Prague before and can honestly say this is the best place you can possibly stay! The location is ideal - next to the Charles Bridge and right on Karlova Street you have main access to both sides of the bridge: Old Town for the touristy stuff and Lesser Town, which has the castle/cathedral, Petrin Hill, terrific views and a lot of character!
Our room was gorgeous! Wooden rafters on the ceiling and traditionally decorated, comfy bed, lots of room, wardrobe, tv (only BBC news in English though), mini-bar (prices not bad in comparison to the rest of the city)... there IS a tobacco smell, as people smoke in the corridors but we're smokers so didn't mind too much. As for noise, we were on the 3rd floor facing away from the street and could barely hear anything, just the noises from people in the surrounding rooms. Only issues would be the room does get really hot (heating can be turned off at the radiator though) and there's no kettle so you have to wake up for breakfast if you want free tea and coffee...
Good points DEFINITELY outweigh the bad the bad though, like the food in the hotel's restaurant - OMG!!! It's soooo tasty! They don't even know how to cook this well in England! I'd recommend the Home-made taggliatelle with curried chicken =P As well as the restaurant indoors, they also have fully sheltered, fully heated outdoor seating along Karlova Street with really comfy chairs. Exhausted tourists can look on in envy as u sip on early-evening cocktails (also reasonably priced and a great selection)! If you're into a bit of nightlife the club below is fantastic! It is 3 floors deep with loads of rooms and a great atmosphere throughout. We weren't bothered by the strippers, and don't think even this element could make the club a seedy place as it is very clean, safe and the people and staff all have a great attitude.
The hotel staff themselves were exemplary. They all had excellent English and always said hello and goodbye every time we walked passed reception and the front door, which is something I especially liked.
All in all U Zlateho Stromu was perfect! I miss it and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Gorgeous little hotel with a location to die for. Within 50 yards of the Charles Bridge and 2 mins walk from the Old Town Square you really can't get a better location than this.

The food is good and definitely value for money (the carbonara is amazing) as are the drinks, including fairly cheap cocktails.

The bars downstairs are worth a look too as are the club and the cocktail bar complete with topless dancers....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSNLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#213 of 649 in Prague
781 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#114 of 649 in Prague
351 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#137 of 649 in Prague
366 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#126 of 649 in Prague
613 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Zlateho Stromu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Zlateho Stromu

Property: Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Address: Karlova 6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#181 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#196 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Zlateho Stromu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Zlateho Stromu is located in Karlova Street in the Old Town, just a few steps from the Charles Bridge. In this unique location, we offer you luxurious accommodation in 19 double rooms and three apartments. The rooms are original in terms of their dimensions and the style of their furnishings. Many have painted renaissance ceilings. All rooms have a bathroom, toilet, minibar, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct line, safety deposit box. Reception and room service are at your disposal 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel. Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. The roofed atrium with a large sea aquarium offers pleasant seating. The celebrated Music Club is located in the basement, featuring a varied program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Zlateho Stromu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlateho Stromu Prague
u Zlateho Stromu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing