We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #248 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay here”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really great rooms, very clean, quite and decent breakfast! AMAZING staff who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable!!!The room was huge and very comfortable. Good value for money. Easy and cheap access to the city center on the metro. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Carl B,
thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the stay at Hotel Orion.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    87
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
84
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood near restaurants and is a close walk to the metro. The flat was very large with separate bedroom , kitchen and dining area. Breakfast was very good and staff was very helpful. The building is secure and has someone working the front desk all night long. I would recommend this place for families traveling to Prague, much better than being stuck in a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gseppe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gseppe64,
thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the stay at Hotel Orion.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As we were in Prague for our wedding anniversary, this hotel/apartment was in the right location away from the wallet busting tourist areas of Prague which was just perfect for us. On arriving I was met with a very friendly woman who quickly processed us to our room with no worries or hassle. However as I had previously booked the room some months before with the garden balcony, I was looking forward to spending a week with the views only to be told the next day there was a problem with the booking and we could only spend a few days in this room and we'd have to move to the room next door. Talk about a bummer here ? They showed me an e-mail they'd sent to me earlier explaining this, on my return home I couldn't find the e-mail so I just had to accept it but, at least we got our anniversary on the balcony. The only downside is they charge you a surcharge for this balcony.
The first room was pretty big and clean but I'm not the person to go around inspecting the furniture looking for faults and measuring the mattress for thickness as long as the rooms presentable it's fine by me, and with sloping ceilings it did make life a bit difficult for someone like me over six feet, as for the dinette, it was well equipped too with kettle, cooker, etc. The main bed too was OK I suppose with no complaints either, and the bathroom was very spacious and clean with plenty of towels which were replaced daily if you wanted, as for the living room floor well, no matter how hard I tried to walk quietly it still made a horrendous noise and god knows what the "Neighbours" below thought ? Obviously some cowboy must have laid the laminate and didn't allow for the heat expansion, as for the balcony, this was the biggest balcony I've ever seen and I've been around the World and seen plenty in my travels, the views were stunning and along with the plants made it very relaxing indeed.
Our next room was exactly the same but minus the balcony, which we did miss I have to admit,
although the floor was less squeaky here. Going to the restaurant downstairs is pretty easy as they have a very modern lift installed, breakfast was surprisingly good too, with a variety of cold meats, salads, cereals, rolls, yogurt's, eggs, hot sausages etc.. And plenty of tea & coffee, juices all served and maintained by the friendly ladies. Now, what I also found quite funny was watching some guests sorting out their "Lunch" for later by one woman filling her handbag with rolls, eggs and the others filling their pockets too, I can never understand this mindset from some people as I find it pretty embarrassing to be honest. Having watched Russian guests In Egypt doing the same thing on a grand scale some years ago, and being chased by the management to everyone's amusement.
Getting around Prague from here is so simple it's a no brainer, after the hotel gives you a little map and in just a few minutes walk you have all the tram lines, metro lines taking you anywhere you want in no time at all. You also have around this area the many restaurants/shops/bars of every type, to suit.
As for the friendly staff here well, I had no problems and they couldn't have been anymore helpful in answering my questions including the young girl who patiently helped me with bus/train times and pointed out places of interest around Prague almost on a daily basis sometimes, and her English was pretty good too.! If I'm being honest this was a very compact little hotel, very clean and reasonably priced compared to the rip off hotels in the tourist areas and if you want you can easily walk from Wencelas square in around 20 minutes or so. It's also very safe around here at night with little noise either as it's in a residential area so no worries, on a plus note there were no Imbeciles in the hotel slamming room doors which surprised me no end perhaps this strange tourist phenomenon hasn't reached Prague yet ? I also found the WI-FI a bit slow at times but we somehow survived this 21st century pain, just remember this is a very old building which is in an older part of town so if you're looking for the Hilton I suggest you go elsewhere, or if you want a great deal and a piece of old fashioned friendliness then I suggest you look no further than this little hotel, as for me I'd certainly return here no worries.!

P.S, I do have one tiny small gripe here, perhaps the management could make a it a special occasion for couples with anniversary's etc, like a bottle of wine or something as they do in other hotels ? It would make a nice gesture for sure...

Room Tip: Get as high as you can, especially the room with the garden balcony..Just watch you pay a little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear bigb67,
thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the space in our apartments and value for money what we offer.
We are sorry for misscomunication with your stay with roof apartment with terrace.
As well we are very sorry that we did not give you any present for your aniversary what we usually do. Be sure when you come next time to our hotel we will prepare for you nice supprice.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in May 2014, 2 persons in an oversized apartment.
First of all, the area is very quiet and peacefull, with few cafes and pubs.
The access from airport and to city center is very easy: 5min by foot from metro Namesti Miru (line A - 2 stops from center - Mustek) or 3min to tram 22 (running around city center and going up to Hracany castle).
The rooms were oversized, furniture and carpet were a bit outdated, still nothing to complain about. Neither something fancy. Bathroom and kitchen well equipped (except microwave)and clean. Good coverage of free wireless. Modern elevator in an old building.
Rich buffet breakfast, except coffee. I would suggest to the owners to consider installing a esspresso machine (be it with coins) to offer a decent coffee.
24hrs reception, nice people.

Helpful?
1 Thank dnicules
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear dnicules,
thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the stay at Hotel Orion.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in future.
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oxford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is our third stay at the hotel Sibelius/Orion Group in Prague, and our second at the Orion. The Staff could not do more to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The apartments are well-equipped, roomy and very clean. If like us you choose an upper floor, there is the bonus of fabulous views over the City. The rates are competitive and excellent value for money.

The Orion is relatively central, but in a quiet residential area graced by beautiful parks and all the eating facilities you could want: cafes, bars, restaurants from modest to high-end. The metro and several tram lines are each within 5 minutes' walk.

We go to Prague at least once a year, often for quite a few weeks, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but at The Orion.

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper floor, for the fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ruth,
thank you fro your nice comment.
We are all looking forward to see you in August again.

Best regards

Jiri Tlaskal
OK-Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were pleased with our choice of hotel. The apartment room we had was very spacious with lounge, kitchen , bathroom separate WC and bedroom. The location was good if you don't want to be right in the center and see some of the real Prague. Breakfast was nice and fresh and the staff all spoke English and were friendly and helpful. The apartment was nice and clean, beds could have been a bit more comfortable but the overall stay was excellent for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sal144,
thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the space in our apartments and value for money what we offer.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you are into aparthotels, this is propably in the most cosy part of Prague. In the neighbouhood you´ll find a lot of restaurants and bars filled by locals. But if you choose to spend your money in tourist-trap, they are in a walkdistance.
Rooms are spacious, kitchen is equipped with vary basics, but it is enoungh ( unless you are preparing a french five course dinner ). Stowe and coffemaker you,ll have and dishes fo four. When you make reservation, chek if breakfast is included. it is possible to buy it at arrival. Tip: you´ll find finnish sauna in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri S, Manager at Hotel Orion, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear JaJuVantaa,
thank you very much for your evaluating Hotel Orion and your comments on TripAdvisor.com.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.
Dekujeme
Best regards
Jiri Tlaskal
Hotel Orion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
ApartHotel Susa
ApartHotel Susa
#228 of 649 in Prague
230 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#59 of 649 in Prague
358 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#82 of 649 in Prague
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#172 of 649 in Prague
558 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#162 of 649 in Prague
709 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#134 of 649 in Prague
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Property: Hotel Orion
Address: Americka 361/9 | Prague 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Orion is ideally situated in the most prestigious and beautiful part of Prague called Královské Vinohrady, next to Náměstí Míru metro station, on the edge of Prague city centre. In the close surrounding you will find a lot of gourmet restaurants, lively bars, typical Czech beer pubs, shops and other kinds of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing