We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Pension Vetrnik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Vetrnik
Ranked #40 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Only a 20 minute tram ride to town and a 20 minute bus ride to the airport. Very easy to find as when you get off the bus there is a huge sign on a wall on the other side of some trees that shows you where to find the inn.
Very pleasant hostess and staff. Very nice breakfast. We left early on departure day and our hostess met us with a breakfast to go and she made sure we knew where to catch the bus.
The room was large, clean, and quiet. Can't ask for much more than that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaleighFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The pension was a wonderful place to return to after a fun and busy time checking out the sights of Prague. Their breakfasts are excellent and filing. We had dinners twice at the pension. Superb meals.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite spacious. The property is on the edge of a park so very pretty and peaceful.
The only thing some people might not like is that the Pension is about 30 minutes from the centre of town. No big deal for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Spent here our first anniversary. I love the ambience and the service. The restaurant is superb. It is quite far though from the town and frankly during the stay I had wished once or twice that I picked a hotel from the center. In Prague, you would have to walk all day and still would want to go out at night which is not convenient if you stay in vetrnik.But of course with a room and price they have (75/night) it could be difficult to find the same. One more remark is that,during the 6days we stayed,our covers and linen was never change. If you dont problem with all of these then, you'll probably enjoy pension vertnik. Blanca and the servers are really courteous. The apartment is spacious and homey :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Louelllajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our party of five spent five days here in Prague before heading out to the Ostrava district for a week of ancestral village hunting, and another two days here on our return. It was a very relaxing way to visit a big city, as Pension Vetrnik is out in the suburbs in a woodsy setting, but an easy 15-minute sight-filled tram ride into the heart of Prague. The food and drink served at the pension restaurant is excellent, and proved to be an easy, relaxing way to close out a day of heavy sightseeing on foot, when we were all too tired to find a good restaurant downtown and deal with navigation after dark. If you want to stay in the city for an evening concert, we suggest you do your traveling in the longer summer daylight hours, unless you're already familiar with the public transport system which, by the way, was excellent.

Don't be afraid to take the #179 bus from the airport, unless you travel with a lot of luggage. It drops you off practically in front of the pension, though the road layout in the area is a little confusing at first. You can pick up tickets right at the airport exit; don't forget to validate them on the yellow machine when you board the bus. Your hostess Blanka will gladly sell you tickets for the tram ride into town, and provide you with a schedule.

This family-owned operation is comprised of very gracious people, especially considering they had to deal with the death of a family member during our stay. Towels are changed daily; bedding is not. That seems to be the norm in this area. They go out of their way to answer questions and make you feel at home; most speak good English.

Because Prague can be so crowded, we suggest paying a visit to the Brevnov Monastery behind the pension when you need some quiet time. Blanka will show you the path through the woods, which winds around the monastery walls, past a cemetery, and drops you in the front of the complex. The grounds are lovely, there's a tavern inside (we didn't try it), and the church, if open, is worth a visit.

Be prepared to climb stairs. This facility (and virtually all of Prague), is not handicapped-friendly. But it's precisely those features that give the place its authenticity and charm. We give this place two thumbs up!

Room Tip: All suites are on the second floor; all doubles are on the third, if you're concerned about stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank producewagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Prague and loved it. This is a historic property with lots of charm. It is an easy and direct tram ride from the city center and a direct bus ride from the airport (bus stop Koleje Vetrnik) and the pension is directly behind you, look for the orange building. We got off at the Vetrnik stop from the airport and wandered around until we found an english speaking person to direct us. The bus stop and the tram stop are both a short walk from the pension. This is a residential area with many students living nearby from the university so the tram and bus stops are busy at all hours. We found this comforting as we only used the public transportation and there were always people walking from the tram stop at night. We loved the authentic atmosphere of the place, especially the restaurant which is frequented by locals. If you are looking for fancy decorations and quality linens this is not the place for you. Instead this had the homey appeal of being at your Czech grandmother's house and all the comforts of home. We had the apartment which was too much room for the two of us, but the only room available during our stay. Prague is beautiful but one of the most crowded, busiest city centers I have visited and so we were glad to be staying a bit outside away from the noise and the crowds. The restaurant at the Pension is fairly new, the owner is a retired chef, We had a lunch and a dinner as well as our breakfasts there and they were some of the best meals we had in Prague. Blanka, one of the owners, speaks very good english and was warm, welcoming and very helpful. You can buy tickets for the tram at the guesthouse. The pass covers all transportation and is a very good bargain. We saw plain clothes tram security checking for tickets, especially at night and there is a decent fine to pay if you don't have one. The staff works very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Highly recommended, loved our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Definitely not downtown, about a 15-20 minute trolley ride out of town. about a block from the tram station, through a neighborhood that seems to be up-and-coming with renovations.

First night we arrived there was a Czech birthday party with guitars and accordions. They were apologetic for the "inconvenience" and let us eat and drink from the party buffet for a reasonable price. We got to try lots of Czech hors d'oeuvres that we would otherwise never get to try. It came with beer and wine included. The party guests were all Czech and probably only 4-5 out of the group of ~20 spoke English, but those who did were very nice and chatty. The waiter, Roman, took very good care of us and was extremely fun! the party went on until ~2am, but I checked out about midnight and had no problem sleeping. The room was nice and we ate several excellent meals onsite. Fantastic price.

About half the hotel guests were american, everybody found it through the Rick Steve guidebooks. The others seemed to be locals, and some of the people at the party implied lots of locals stayed there, being surprised that we found the place so far out of town. One of the guests had 2 large German Shepherds, so if you are travelling with your pets, this might be a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LubbockGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The only way to get to Pension Vetrnik was to drive through the road works that were cutting it off from the map. Once there, we knocked on the door, not knowing if it was the way in or not, but Blanka called from the second entrance and showed us the way down the stairs to the divine garden and B&B and to a third entrance to the secure parking lot. This is a quaint B&B situated on a huge piece of ground. History seeps from the walls and glows on the copper roof. Lots of stairs, and we were grateful when our bags were taken to our room which was large enough to move around with ease and comfortable. Blanka is a charming hostess with good command of English, who serves up the best breakfast ever. Within minutes she'd booked us in and bought tram tickets for our ride into the city. Pension Vetrnik is good value for money and a delightful place to stay, near enough to easily see the sites of Prague and enjoy the suburbian quiet.

Room Tip: Choose one on the lower floor if you have heavy luggage there are lots of stairs to negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Adalbert
Hotel Adalbert
#284 of 646 in Prague
162 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 646 in Prague
3,310 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#141 of 646 in Prague
5,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Vetrnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Vetrnik

Address: U Vetrniku 40/1, Prague 162 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pension Vetrnik Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing