We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame I can't trust them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #47 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Shame I can't trust them”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel. But what were they thinking of when I asked them to book a taxi to a local restaurant, and instead we got a limo? (The driver helpfully explained that we could sign the inflated fare to our room.) They outwitted us for a few quid and we didn't trust them over the slightest thing from then on. I advise you stay somewhere else in the hope that they're even slightly honest...

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front - the trams will destroy any chance of a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlankaAtImperial, Director of Sales at Art Deco Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We actually try to prevent guest‘s unpleasant experiences with some local unreliable taxi companies by running our own hotel limousine services. However rates are set and always available in advance. Your journey to the restaurant across the city cost CZK 350 (14 Euro) which is adequate to the distance. It is a shame you felt pushed into something you did not want but there was always an option to ask for a local operator which you had not requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    611
    116
    27
    10
See reviews for
320
1,658
97
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights in an executive room, ask for a quiet side of the hotel, it really is very quiet, no tram noise. Exec room was great, very comfortable, nicely furnished, free wifi access included. Bathroom was marble, bath and shower and immaculately clean. Therea are tea making facilities and a coffee maker (but the coffee was not good.) Staff are very helpful and polite, excellent service, a really credit to the hotel. We liked the little bar in the hotel, friendly and personable bar-tender. Location is 5 minute walk from Old Square. Buffet breakfast was included, but not really 5 star, the cooked elements were very tired by 9am, fresh fruit was either over-ripe or under-ripe. The omlettes cooked to order were very good. The gym was well fitted out, but no water in the dispensor, despite a staff member coming to check the gym and the sauna was out of order. The whole style of the hotel is art deco/nouveau, and all very fresh and clean. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We heard people commenting that they could not sleep for the tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Booked a 3 night stay via Lastminute.com at a bargain price and not the least bit disappointed. Beautiful hotel, our room was perfect, spacious and immaculately clean and no problems sleeping. Breakfast was superb and available until 10.30am (hallelujah !), lots to choose from and something for every taste/palette. Ate in the restaurant one night and although the food was nice, it didn't blow me away. Waiter was very helpful with my wine choice (chose a Czech wine which was very nice as I thought the "imported" wines were overpriced) and he was very attentive and polite. Couldn't fault the staff at all, nothing was too much trouble and they were all very helpful and polite and a pleasure to deal with. The bar area lacks a bit of atmosphere but the bar staff were very nice and made a mean Long Island Iced Tea lol. Used the hotel limousine 3 times and worth every penny, it was cheaper to use it to go up to the Castle and also for the return journey to the airport. Loved Prague and wouldn't hesitate to go back, beautiful city and very reasonable price wise for a capital city. One word of advice for any ladies thinking of going........it's not stiletto friendly as almost all pavements and roads are cobbled, so definitely pack your flats for walking about and if you're taking your Jimmy Choos........take a taxi !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morsy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

I booked a 4 night stay using the Orbitz app - and was not disapointed... Great hotel, friendly proffessional staff, nice comfy room - and one if the best cafe restuarants in the city! Value for money was great considering the 5-star amenities and service. The only gripe was that Wi-Fi was charged at ?9 per day...

Location is also good too - 5 minutes walk from Old Town square it's close to everything, but far enough out of the vibey bar and pub area to seem relatively quiet. I'd go back...

Helpful?
2 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days during a conference held at the hotel here and the service perfectly complemented the impeccable design and out of this world food. Czechs most famous chef is at work here and oh my you can tell. Definitely recommendable and hope to be staying here again in the future

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel was very good. Very clean, and the rooms were spacious, but this is what you would expect from this level of Hotel. Im not sure that if this hotel were in another city it would be given this many stars, but as I say, it was a good hotel and I slept very well here. The tv speaker in the bathroom was an odd, but nice touch ;) - but the heated floors were GREAT!

The staff were always very welcoming and pleasant, and room was cleaned regularly.

As an aside - not about this hotel - One thing to watch out for in Prague - if you visit the James Dean restaurant/bar/nightclub - watch out for your jacket - make sure you place it in the cloakroom - both my Jacket and Sweater were stolen.

Great location of the hotel in Prague for sightseeing, and great people, overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Nice place to stay, modern, vogue, comfort with good service. When i was there, jacuzzi was out of service and had problem with holes in bed linen. my room was junior suite without view but very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiriBily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#30 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Property: Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#39 Family Hotel in Prague
#42 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing