We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel , rude staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #45 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel , rude staff!”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I went to Prague for a 4 night stay with my mum. On first impressions, the hotel is very smart and the rooms were lovely. The first 3 nights of our stay were great. We were located on the fourth floor and had a very spacious room with two toilets. On the fourth night we came back to the hotel after being out all day, and found that our room key didnt work anymore. We thought this was just a fault with the key, so we went back down to reception. When we got there we were simply told "you have to move rooms". We asked why and they said it was due to a problem with the bath leaking into the room below. When we aske what was wrong with it they couldnt tell us- Very odd. We were shown to two rooms before we said whether we would move or not and both of them were small and dark so we turned them down. The staff were incredibly rude and unprofessional, laughing amongst each other while the problem was trying to be resolved. The staff refused to let us back into our bedroom until the tour operator got involved. They told them that they had 20 minutes to sort it out and this was appalling service from a supposedly 5* hotel and suddenly miraculously we were able to go back into our room. There appeared to never have been a problem in the first place.

On a positive note the concierge was very good and always willing to help!

The location of the hotel is good and is only a five minute stroll to the old town square.

Overall this hotel is a good base for exploring prague and rooms are nice. Just don't expect very friendly service from some of the staff on reception and the breakfast room who seem to find it hard to smile.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlankaAtImperial, Director of sales at Art Deco Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, 31 August 2009
The room our guests were staying in had a serious leak to the guestroom below. It was caused by the pipes hidden below the bath so no problem was visible at first sight. Our guests were asked to move rooms under such technical emergency, which they refused. Their original room was a complimentary upgrade to an executive level which we offered in the alternative too. We regret the staff being called unprofessional, they tried to solve the situation in an adequate manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    610
    116
    27
    10
See reviews for
320
1,656
97
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Imperial is fortunate to have the very best concierge. She is efficient, multi-linguel, and an incredible problem solver. Since the hotel is perfect her contact with guests has to do with things outside the hotel... and she is an expert.

So seldom in this fast paced inconsiderate world do you find a dedicated and intelligent person who has the ability to assess a situation and create a successful outcome. Miluse Svobodova, concierge at the Imperial Hotel made all the difference.

The hotel is simply perfect in every way, so I am not surprised that they would also have the perfect concierge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I'll keep this short. stayed 5 days wt wife/kid. great hotel wt art deco completed in 2007. rooms were bigger by european standards. pleasant staffs. good food. Must try the inexpensive desserts/coffee menu!! only short fall is there isn't a swimming pool but am not complaining. we left the 'do not disturb' sign out by mistake 1 day, the maid waited until we came back (6pm) and rushed to us and asked if we wanted our beds done..we felt very guilty abt this but hopefully the 500 krn tips would make it up.
will definitely retrn to this hotel if I revisit PRG.

Naim replublicisky metro station is just 3 minutes walk away. do not miss the Svetozo cake shops by the station (abt 33krn per piece). an Italian restaurant besides the hotel also provide excellent food. (do not try the tonic > tasted like carbonated extra-bitter grapefruit drink> yulks). a mini market by the hotel sells donuts, water, alcohol n bottle baby food cheaply. ATM next to hotel is also handy.

did I say I'll keep this short??
bye

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This was our first visit to Prague and the first 8 days of a 21 day, 4-city trip. We are a family of 5 with 3 teenage boys so we stayed in 2 rooms. Our stay was consistent with all the other great reviews we read on tripadvisor, but we wanted to add that in addition, the concierge really went above and beyond the duty helping us with several unique and difficult requests. Miluse Svobodova helped us with a challenging medical emergency, helping us find an excellent doctor that made a house-call to our hotel room. Also later in the week, she helped us with another challenge. One of our boys uses hearing aids and had a problem with one. She helped us locate a hearing aid repair facility, contacted them and sent us out with great directions where we were welcomed warmly. Miluse really helped us get off to a great start on the trip. We also wanted to say that the breakfast buffet was outstanding! The breakfast staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. They greeted us warmly each morning and even remembered our individual hot beverage choices each morning. The food was equally great.

Honestly the only minor downside I can say about this hotel is that it sits on the outer edge of the tourist attractions, so it added a 10 minute walk to most of the sights. That said, once we figured out the public transportation, we were able to easily get around pretty quickly, with a small wait added for the train or bus. The upside of this is that is was very quiet at night as opposed to the Old Town area which was pretty loud late into the night.

All in all, I would absolutely stay here again and would strongly recommend this hotel to other families.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaShultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Essex UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Good location 10 minutes walk from Old Town Square and the Jewish Quarter close to Palladium shopping centre in a smart street. Stayed for 3 nights and had connecting exec and deluxe rooms , both with high quality furniture comfy beds and loads of space. Restaurant is impressive with a simple menu but very good food and excellent service levels at a good price, breakfast also very good. Public areas limited to a small bar area and no lounge.No wi fi in rooms (plug in) but free pc access in bar area and wi fi available.
Its an excellent hotel and I would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The reception area was disappointing and removed the wow! factor from the hotel but the rooms were beautiful although very small. The amenities in the room were excellent and we loved the heated floor in the bathroom.The corridor areas upstairs were also very nice. Soundproofing within the hotel was excellent though trams outside could be heard. The dining room looked just ok, the chairs and tables were poor for such a 5 star hotel, more suited to a conservatory, consequently we didn't fancy dining there as it would have been uncomfortable to linger over drinks. Breakfast was quite good and staff were helpful though the concierge was quite dour. We found the location excellent, a few minutes walk from the central areas, this was the best thing about the hotel. We priced their car from the airport but used prague airport shuttle which was half the price and totally reliable. We paid 130 euro incl. breakfast booking through their website and felt it was very good value for money. It is more of a 4 star than 5 star though.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I brought my partner here as a surprise for her 40th birthday and we both thought the hotel was fantastic. I know there are cheaper hotels out there, but this was just the ticket for a special occasion. It has a luxury feel and the Art Deco flourishes are well done. The room was quite big but very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We also ate at the Cafe Imperial one night which is run by a Czech celebrity chef. The food again was very good and reasonably priced for an up-market restaurant. Hotel location was perfect - near to the main shopping areas, and all the sights are within walking distance. Staff are very friendly and professional.

One very minor criticism is that the side of bath/shower is quite high to get into. It didn't affect us, but it could be awkward for someone more elderly or with reduced mobility.

All-in-all the hotel is excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#27 of 670 in Prague
213 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 670 in Prague
1,938 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 670 in Prague
2,732 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 670 in Prague
1,657 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Property: Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#39 Family Hotel in Prague
#40 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing