We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad knees? Be careful of the bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #47 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad knees? Be careful of the bathroom”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Husband and I just returned from Prague where we stayed 3 nights at the Imperial. Clean, spacious room, spotted the 2nd, separate toilet immediately on entering the room and silently shouted "Hooray, one for him and one for me" but then my heart sank when I saw the main bathroom. Yes, lavish marble tiles, underfloor heating if required, clean fluffy towels, basic shampoo/soap as required but then my heart sank as I looked at the extremely high sided bath that had the shower over it. With 2 bad knees and no step on which to climb, getting in and out of that bath to have a shower was going to be almost impossible for me, especially trying to step onto a wet marble tiled floor. (The hinged small glass screen clearly was not going to prevent splash from the shower getting onto the floor).

I immediately went down to reception to see if I could get another room but the extremely disinterested receptionist (who even had the gall to roll her eyes not once, but twice, as I tried to explain that I couldn't get in and out of the bath without assistance because of the high sided bath that almost came up to my hip) just told me that all the baths were like that in the hotel. The only "disability friendly" room was already taken and I would have no option but to struggle in that room.

Imagine my annoyance, when talking to other guests the next morning at breakfast, to be told that they had rooms with separate walk in showers in addition to the high sided baths. No mention of those was made by the receptionist the night before.

If you have any form of mobility problems, please make sure you book a room that has a separate shower because you're going to be faced with big problems getting in and out of a bath that has the shower over it. Luckily, my husband was able to help me in and out of the shower but even with his help, I felt very vulnerable to falling.

Oh, and if you have a room on the first floor facing the front, you're going to hear the trams trundling past the hotel all night. Ear plugs or sleeping tablets if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,973
    628
    119
    27
    12
See reviews for
329
1,696
99
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The Imperial Hotel was our home for 3 days of sightseeing in and around Prague. After being ripped -off by one of the famously-crooked Prague cab drivers, we were deposited at our nicely-restored hotel, only a 5 or 10 minute walk from much of scenic Prague. The room was not overly-large and the bathroom was downright cramped but clean. A potential downside for anyone with a mobility problem is the very high step over into the tub to have a shower. Staff the the front desk was friendly and the concierge was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was adequate but certainly not the best I've had in Europe. One unusual problem during our stay was a pungent, nasty smell in the elevators that had us seeing if we could hold our breath during the ride to or from our floor! Hopefully, that has been resolved.

Prague is truly a magical place to visit and I would recommend the Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

luxury hotel within walking distance of attractions.Very clean and bed really big and comfy.breakfast not included but worth paying the extra for.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_anneHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Art Deco Imperial Hotel. The location is perfect and the king size bed was very comfortable. This was the best hotel we stayed at in our two weeks in Europe. We booked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor feedback as well as the price compared to other hotels with the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My partner surprised me with a weekend to Prague for my birthday staying in the Imperial Hotel. The hotel was fantastic, there was not a single thing you could complain about. The hotel is beautiful and spotless, the rooms are so comfy and the under floor heating was great after all that walking. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Prague itself is brilliant, cheap, chilled and beautiful. I cannot rate this hotel enough and will most definately be going back there and staying with them again. I had the most amazing time there so thank you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I stayed here in September 09 as the last stop of a 4 week visit to Europe. Certainly the best hotel I stayed at on the holiday. Amazing rooms, great location and great amenities. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. Just stay away from the pay per view movies, very expensive!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed several days in the Imperial Hotel and were quite pleased with everything. The complimentary breakfast offered daily was excellent. The staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Presto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#33 of 649 in Prague
260 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 649 in Prague
1,981 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 649 in Prague
1,710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 649 in Prague
2,800 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Property: Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#39 Family Hotel in Prague
#43 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing