We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Ranked #47 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We had a great time. The hotel is located in the center, and the service was great. The rooms are a little small but they were very leisure! The water in the spa was cold.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geomorphologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,178 - 2,184 of 2,948 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hotel was a great choice. If you are familiar with European standards and understand that they are different than American standards, then you will be fine. The rooms were decent sized...the bathrooms were a little small, but beautifully decorated. The breakfast buffet (included) is amazing. All kinds of choices. There are two things I would caution about. They do still smoke in a lot of places in Prague. In the hotel, there will be smokers in the reception area and in the bar. The restaurant has a small smoking section, but there were no smokers during the breakfast buffet. The spa is not a spa like in the US. It is an exercise room, "relaxation room", sauna, and whirlpool (co-ed). You can arrange a massage through the concierge, if you wish. They will come to the hotel and perform those services.

We did not use the metro or any public transportation. The hotel is very close to two of the metro lines and the tram system travels past the hotel regularly. You are only a mere 10-15min walk from the Old Town Square though so if able, I highly recommend the walk. There are some great things to see on the way.

The staff was very courteous and friendly. They were able to answer all of our questions, arrange dinner reservations, and give us sight seeing advice. They also provide a map of the area at check-in with all necessary information. Caution: If you are taking a cab back to the airport, do not ask them to arrange it for you. We paid an extra 200 Krone using the hotel arranged service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed at the Imperial for 3 nights as a group of 8 friends, and liked the hotel a lot! The dining room is quite stunning, with its tiling and panelling. A very helpful waiter explained that all the tiling was ordered prior to the first world war by an arab for his house, but when war broke out he cancelled the order (don't know how true any of this is, but it kept us interested for 10 minutes) Anyway, the hotel bought all the tiles from the tiling company and used them in it's dining room and a small meeting room off it. Apparently it was between 2 and 3 million tiles. Ask to see the meeting room if you can.. it is stunning. If it's locked you can still see the ceiling through a window on the right at the far end of the dining room. It does look middle eastern.
The meal we had in the Imperial Cafe was head and shoulders above anything else we had in Prague. Someone said they've got the Czech Republic's answer to Jamie Oliver cooking for them and it certainly showed. The deer on wild mushrooms was fantastic.
In general we agreed with all previous posts on the place. Nice art deco touches, very comfy beds, spotlessly clean slightly over warm rooms, helpful efficient staff, very safe area, expensive water in the mini bar (out of the hotel turn left then first left, a couple of 7/11's with water at 1/10 the price)
The only minor aggravation was that on the Saturday night we were there, everything that wasn't a disco/club closed at midnight. Even a lovely little cellar jazz venue we found. Coming back to the hotel at about 1.05am we asked for a nightcap at the bar but were refused, even though the barman was still there and others were drinking up. OK it shuts at 1am but we thought that a 5* hotel might have been a tad more accommodating.
Still all in all an overwhelmingly positive experience and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hextablelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Very good 5-star hotel, perfectly-located in Stare Mesto neighbourhood, with spacious rooms, excellent littery, cleanliness and services. We enjoyed very much the "Art deco" atmosphere, that gave us a a very charming and romantic dimension to our stay - it gives personality to the spot, and makes you really feel different that in most luxury hotels. The breakfast vas rich and various, and the Imperial Cafe was nice for dinner, too.
I would highly recommend this hotel for visitors, looking for comfort and relaxation during their stay in the wonderfull city of Prague.

G. Gotev

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duhku4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Lovely art deco hotel. All the staff we dealt with were very helpful. As usual in Europe the room was very warm, but the helpful staff rectified this in no time. Buffet breakfast was good and the dining room was beautiful. Spent time exploring the hotel with it's sculptures & decoration. Good location, we were able to walked to most places. The trams are all nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This was our first visit to Prague and the hotel provided an excellent introduction to the City. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We requested a change rooms to a larger one and this was arranged. The highlight of the hotel was the Cafe. We had dinner there which was very good but were disappointed that on one of the evenings it was only open to a private party. Many coffees were had at the Municipal House which was close by. We would definitely return to Prague and and the Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Do not be concerned when the cab drops you off outside; this really is a wonderful hotel. Our room was absolute luxury, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The restaurant is a tourist attraction in itself with coach trips bringing visitors to see the amazing mosaic tiling. Breakfast was everything you could possibly wish for and of superb quality. We also ate in the restaurant one evening. The food was excellent, and the service faultless. Even the price was reasonable. The bar was very quiet but we had a few aperitifs before we went out, and again on our return. The service was first rate, and all the staff in the hotel attentive and keen to please. And then out into Prague itself. Turn right out of the Hotel and within 5 minutes walk you'll smell the street cooking, see the oustanding architecture, and be astounded by the number of quality restaurants. Local Czech food is basic but so comforting. And with the wide selection of local beers, it is my idea of heaven! We heard lots about stag and hen parties but I didn't see one anywhere. The streets felt safe even late at night. After day one, we bought a daily travel pass so we could hop on and off the trams and tubes, a cheap and efficient way to see the city. I have already started recommending this hotel and Prague to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmypagekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#31 of 649 in Prague
403 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#53 of 649 in Prague
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#92 of 649 in Prague
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Imperial

Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#43 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £94 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing