We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Liberty”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #26 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My sister, mother and myself stayed at the Liberty Hotel in Prague in late October 2012. Our room was well appointed, immaculate, spacious with comfortable beds and a free safety deposit box. We were welcomed warmly and during our stay all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with a nice selection and a cooked option which changed every second day. It was especially nice to have a cappuccino available at no extra charge. The hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance to all key attractions and tram stops which will take you to the Castle area, yet it is surprisingly quiet at night and we had no disruption to our comfortable sleep.
All in all I would rate this as an excellent base for any visit to the city and would not hesitate to recommend it or to re-visit at any time in the future.
Many thanks for a pleasurable and memorable stay.
L Tait

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Liberty for 3 nights in October. Standard King booked through Hotels.com for $496 for 3 nights (Wed and Thursday were $80 cheaper per night than Friday). Excellent hotel. Very clean and well taken care of. Large room with a comfortable bed. Good WIFI. We had a 4th floor room streetside. Double windows so no street noise. Food is always subjective, but we thought the breakfast was great (better than most). Bacon and eggs, meats and cheeses, cereal and fruit, nice selection of breads. The hotel is well located on Wencelas square. Walking distance to everything. We did the AE bus from Airport to the train station, and walked from there. Cheap, but a little bit of a hoof, especially since everything in Old Town is cobblestone. The hotel got us a cab for a 4:30AM early return trip to the airport and they even packed us a "to go" breakfast sack (very nice touch). Per other reviews, a shower curtain would be a nice add.

Other notes: We're heavy travelers and pick hotels based on location and user ratings. We go to see the city and not the hotel. We stay at the hotel to sleep, rest, catch up on emails and do research on the next places to see. We like to explore on foot and Liberty is a good launch point. Prague is great (top 5 for cities we've visited in Europe). It has a big city feel with centuries old buildings (not damaged by the wars). Lots to see. 2.5 days covered all of the high points, but we didn't do any museums (other than the Jewish museum). Czech Food is excellent and we didn't have a meal we didn't like (especially good if you like meat, gravy, and dumplings - which we do). We try to learn enough of the local language to get by (hello, beer please, thank you, check please, excuse me, where is the bathroom). Czech is a hard language, but we didn't have any issues as everyone speaks at least a little bit of English and basically all restaurants have an English menu). Like other big Europpean cities, caution is wise. Wallet in your front pocket, count your change, don't use the currency exchanges (Prague has dozens), etc. We never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1_Travel_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I agree with the previous reviews.

Yes, the hotel is not entirely a four-star hotel
Yes, there are no shower curtains and that's a shame
Yes, the breakfast buffet could be more impressing
Yes, there is no reason why you can't grab the coffee by yourself at breakfast

BUT I really liked:
When we arrived, we were upgraded from deluxe room to two-story suite
Reception was helpfull at all times (a strange thing was that they sometimes were able to exchange and at other times they wouldn't)
Room was great
Location was perfect. Close to everything
Pris was approximately 100 Euros per night for 3 persons
Breakfast was included
WIFI was working all the time with 2 mbit/s up and down
No noise from the streets

So the reason for the 5 star review is the excellent combination of location, value, quality and all the other stuff

Room Tip: Room 31 on the 5th floor was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Staff was splendid a deffinate 5 out of 5 rooms were clean tidy had all I could wish 4 and more only thing was a bit shocked their was no tea coffee making facilities in room as I do love a cuppa. Location was right were you want to be loads to do a weekend just wasn't long enough what a beautifully city would love to go back at some stage :)

Room Tip: We was on the top floor the spiral stair case was quite narrow treads room was deluxe and very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Liberty ended our 2 week visit to Europe on a high note. The property was, done right, service was excellent and location was right in the middle of the city. When I return to Prague I will be back to the Liberty!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrjenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Fantastic location all attractions nearby, nice large rooms and nice breakfast, adjoining Liberty cafe very expensive, booked over 100 friends in this hotel over the years all with positive, report for Liberty

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet due to pedestriaised area outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meirion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a 3-night stay in Liberty Hotel in mid-September. The location of the hotel is wonderful - close to some major sights and the beautiful Old Town. During the 3-day stay we walked everywhere and tried some of the nice local restaurants around the hotel and I was hooked on their pork dishes! Liberty, while very well located, did not live up to its reputation of a 4-stay hotel. The room was pleasant, but the shower curtain-less bathroom made it very awkward to have a shower. I really don't understand why is it so hard to have a shower curtain. The front desk was quite helpful. The breakfast was dismal and gave us EXACTLY two cups of coffee in a pot. The dining room staff looked so stern that we were too scared to to ask for refill!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Liberty, General Manager at Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your review, your nice words about our location and also your comments where we should improve our services to deserve the class of the hotel are higly appreciated.
I would like to use the opportunity to inform mainly the potential guests that will read your review in the future, that we have several rooms also with the shower cubicle in our hotel where you can stand during taking a shower.

Returning to your comment about the curtains,I would like to inform you that the bathrooms with the bath-tub were not designed with the curtains so it needs more attention to solve the problem.
We already have some rooms with the bath-tubs equipped with the bath-screens trated with star clean method, providid by the company SAMO, trated with star clean method, and we are planning to do also some others.

As for the breakfast – refill is no problém for all the guests, please do not hesitate to ask the staff. We are making regular trainings with them, how to behave with our Guest, and how to provide un excellent service.

My Best Regards

Luca Sebastianelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 647 in Prague
1,775 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
2,473 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 647 in Prague
1,726 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 647 in Prague
738 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 647 in Prague
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: 28. Rijna 376/11 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#29 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £56 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel Liberty is located in Prague historical center, on a pedestrian area near the famous Wenceslas Square. The luxury Hotel came to it's existence as a result of a careful and sophisticated reconstruction of a Art Nouveau palace built in the year 1894. Some hotel rooms offer a balcony or terrace, hotel suites are laid out on two levels and guests can enjoy a charming view of the Prague Castle. Hotel Liberty is a cosy and intimate hotel in central which has all that a demanding guest might need. A modern Wellness Centre is located in the basement of the hotel. Guests can also relax in the hotel's open terrace.On the ground floor you will find the excellent Caffetteria Liberty, designed in the same pleasant and elegant style. The hotel has barrier-free entrance and is located on a quiet pedestrian area. There is no parking lot or a garage at the hotel. The hotel can advice the parking possibilities in the centre when asked before the arrival. Try yourself the accommodation at Hotel Liberty in Prague city centre and we will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing