We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in central Prague”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #33 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location in central Prague”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a combined business/pleasure trip. The location is fantastic with everything in central Prague (in specific the old town) within walking distance. Also it's right above Mustek metro station which makes it really easy to get to the hotel and around.

The decoration is rather classic which in some places may make it appear a bit tacky, you can clearly see that the colourings are very 80's/90's in places. However everything is well kept and clean. The amenities in the room were good, Wifi was fine (although it dropped to slow speeds occasionally). The bed was good although I felt the sheets may make it a bit warm for my likings.

As for the breakfast buffet, it was adequate with a good selection of foods.

Staff were friendly and helpful (in specific the porter), although as unfortunately I often find in Central & Eastern Europe, were quite stern and could smile a bit more!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    273
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
266
554
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We chose the Liberty for our second visit because of the position it commands in the heart of Old Town. As soon as you step outside the hotel within minutes you can be at all the major sites in the city and by using the underground directly opposite the hotel or the trams, a short walk away, you can reach any part of greater Prague in a very short time.

The hotel is spotless, the rooms are huge with good facilities and the breakfast buffet is more than adequate to set you up for a day sightseeing. Because not all rooms have a separate shower stall, essential for us, we contacted the hotel prior to booking to ensure our room was suitable. The Manager, Lucca Sebastianelli, responded instantly with a guarantee of our required room. He did not let us down and was in Reception to greet us on arrival.

We had a large bedroom, lounge area, office area, kitchen area with sink, well lit bathroom and a terrace with a roofscape of old Prague, brilliant-we shall return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carasco, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Everything ok, room, private SPA and staff... Excellent location in the heart of old Praga. Absolutely to recomend for a nice stay in a romantic city. All interest point are strictly in the hotel area. Shopping street and shopping center also close d. Impossible to have a more convenient location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Moreno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

... then construction noise is a problem.
Yes it only happens during the day but on my second day I returned early and had to put up with hammering and drilling. At 6:30 in the morning the workers seem to move around large sheets of plaster or metal. Perhaps this noise isn't as obvious on higher hotel floors.
Yes the beds are hard and I recommend sleeping on the second comforter if you're in a room with two singles.
Yes the pillows are soft, a distinct contrast with the hardness of the beds.
Yes the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms spotless.(I am dreaming of returning home and standing under a long, hot shower.So over hanging on to hoses and making sure they don't splash over the bathroom due to the lack of a shower-screen!) There is no problem with hot water. It is plentiful and arrives quickly.
Yes, the breakfast supplied is certainly superior to that provided in a lot of mid-priced European hotels. The presented food seems to change each morning. One morning there was bacon and mushroom omelettes, another morning smoked salmon and baked beans. Also included were juices, cereals, yoghurts, fruit salad and all of the ubiquitous sausages and cheeses expected by European tourists. You are watched as you use the coffee machine but I think it's because the staff don't want you to make a mistake.
Yes the geographical location is excellent. Right next to Wenceslas Square and a short walk to the Old Town Square and Republic Square. Although the hotel is located in the pedestrian section, it is only a 50 m walk from a taxi drop-off to the front door.
Yes the staff don't seem to smile a lot but I think that's just the Czech way. They are certainly helpful enough and seem to smile more the longer you stay.
Yes I would stay in this hotel again, yet ask for a higher floor away from the renovation noise TripAdvisor reviewers have mentioned for some months now. I thought it might be over by mid December. It wasn't.
PS: Don't be tempted to patron the Liberty Cafe next door. Overpriced and unappetising food. I felt so strongly about this miserable establishment, I wrote a one-star review.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LionessGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Liberty for 4 nights in early December. We had a very spacious room with balcony and large bathroom. Breakfast at the hotel was varied and plentiful. The staff were courteous at all times. The hotel is centrally located only a very short walk from Wenceslas Square and a few minutes walk to Old Town Square. We would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there if we went back to Prague.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very friendly hotel well located close to all the main tourist areas of Prague. Wenceslas Square is just round the corner, and the old town square a five minute walk. The hotel itself is well presented with its own coffee shop attached. Strangely it was not possible to charge anything to the room from here. Buffet breakfast included both hot and cold items and was quite adequate. The bedroom, overlooking the rear terrace (number 7 on the first floor) was quiet, very large, with a separate dressing room area and a good sized bathroom with shower. Our only complaint is that the beds were too hard (a double consists of two singles pushed together with separate duvets). We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel as a base to visit the tourist and shopping areas of Prague.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank derrick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Although hotel Liberty is in a pedestrian area, it is only approx 2 minutes walk from the road.
Arrived evening and check in was very quick. Room was much bigger than we thought and was lovely and clean. Lots of information about the hotel and given maps of the area and details of places of interest.

The staff were all friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was 7.30 - 10.00 and you had choice of hot or cold and again always staff on hand if you had a problem.

There is not a bar at the hotel but adjoining the hotel is a cafe which is open until 10.30p.m.
There is a small lounge and there is a computer which you can use free of charge.

There is a fridge in your room which is filled with lots of drinks (which you pay for).

We also had tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

Excellent location.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and if ever back in Prague would book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyFBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
721 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#22 of 649 in Prague
414 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: 28. Rijna 376/11 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Prague
#29 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#29 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel Liberty is located in Prague historical center, on a pedestrian area near the famous Wenceslas Square. The luxury Hotel came to it's existence as a result of a careful and sophisticated reconstruction of a Art Nouveau palace built in the year 1894. Some hotel rooms offer a balcony or terrace, hotel suites are laid out on two levels and guests can enjoy a charming view of the Prague Castle. Hotel Liberty is a cosy and intimate hotel in central which has all that a demanding guest might need. A modern Wellness Centre is located in the basement of the hotel. Guests can also relax in the hotel's open terrace.On the ground floor you will find the excellent Caffetteria Liberty, designed in the same pleasant and elegant style. The hotel has barrier-free entrance and is located on a quiet pedestrian area. There is no parking lot or a garage at the hotel. The hotel can advice the parking possibilities in the centre when asked before the arrival. Try yourself the accommodation at Hotel Liberty in Prague city centre and we will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing