We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful spot to stay.”
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #192 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful spot to stay.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I went to Prague for a pleasure trip. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel allowed us to easily walk to anywhere downtown and to the historic area. I would definitely stay again. Good price as well! I stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    278
    77
    17
    5
See reviews for
55
285
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed foe 6 nights at this hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the included breakfast very nice. The location is superb being only a 100 meters from the old town square. The room was a good size and the bathroom clean and adequate. The negatives were that the room was showing its age and the mattress was thin. The night before our early morning flight my sleep was interrupted by the nightclub music located close by. I would recommend this hotel for its great location, staff and breakfast in spite of the dated room decor.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitey179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here 3 days in march. The staff is pretty friendly and welcomed us warmly. We came by bus so there was no nead for a (non-existing) parking-space or parking-garage. The hotel is directly at the centre of praha near the old town square. You can reach all sights on foot. (We walked from old town square to the Powder Tower -> Metronom -> Prague Castle -> Charles Bridge and back to the astronomical clock (all together this were 8km or 5miles).

The room was simple and appropriate but ok for the 3 days. The mattress are pretty hard, but this is subjectiv. The breakfast is from 7am to 10am and contains different types of cereals, differents kinds of bread some cheese and meat from praha, small packages of marmelade, honey and there were sausages - a typical hotel-breakfast but with very delicious bread!

It is a great hotel for people who want to discover praha on foot.

Room Tip: We had a room on the backside (r 24) - it was pretty quiet and we didn't here no disco at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Great service - due to having to take an overnight train we were unable to show up for the first night of our reservation. We showed up at 7am the next morning and they were very accommodating - allowed us to eat breakfast and check in right away.
Our room location was a little strange - we had to leave the lobby, go to a different flight of stairs in the building, unlock a door, end up in a hallway, and then to our room. Not inconvenient but a slightly different layout than what I am accustomed to. The first door (to the hallway) needs to be locked by others so travelling away from the room, if only for a short period of time, is not necessarily convenient if you have to share a key with someone.
The room itself was very nice - large with lots of storage, and a huge bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was very good - lots of selection: meats, cheese, fruits, vegetables, yogurt, granola, cereal etc. and hot food which was a real plus! one day was sausage, eggs and a rice dish. The next there was a nice potato dish.
An elderly gentleman was working at the front desk for most of our stay and he was very helpful - recommended a tour for us as our time in Prague was limited and booked it for us. While we were away he spent his afternoon researching travel options for us to get to Germany - extremely helpful and kind.
WiFi only available in the lobby which is unfortunate but there's lots of seating (tables set up for the buffet) so it's not inconvenient to go down there to use it.
Booked in the off-season and the price was very reasonable (although we booked through Expedia at the last minute so I believe we got a better deal than booking direct through the hotel would have given us based on the prices listed at the front desk).
Good location in a busy section of town within walking distance to Charles Bridge. Extremely close to the Astronomical clock.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main section with the lobby - easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mj816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very good service, small hotel with a good location. Breakfast was good, but be prepared to wait for the buffet to get filled up. Hotel room nice and clean. Lobby area small, so tell on beforehand if you arrive earlier than time for getting hotel room. Hotel room was nice and no outer sounds were heard, so good night sleep can be guaranteed. Also good wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights there. The hotel is not that easy to find, since the building seems to be shared with other establishments. You may feel confused, but there are signs to help you.
The location is very good! You will be in a walking distance to the Old Town and the main attractions. A lot of good restaurants nearby with good options of prices and tastes.
The check in was easy and fast and the staff is helpful. They offer to help you to get a taxi if you need, since this can be an issue in Prague.
The room is comfortable and clean, everything you need to spend the night after a day enjoying the city.
Next time in Prague I will consider to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#286 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#128 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#304 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Modra Ruze
Hotel Modra Ruze
#230 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#101 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Property: Hotel Melantrich
Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing