We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #199 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

it's located on one of the street coming from the astronomical clock. You can go by foot anywhere. The entrance to the hotel is poor, but everything else is great. They do everything to make you feel comfortable. (Even printed me a map when I asked direction).
The breakfast is almost the same every day, but its warm. And the food in prague is not expensive so if you got tired you can eat elsewhere.
The room was clean and had all we needed. I even saw them changing a room to a couple who didn't liked theirs, all pleasantly and nice.
I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulightin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Soulightin,

I am pleased to read the high rated review of your visit and looking forward to welcome you again in hotel Melantrich***.

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

The positive note on this establishment is its situation .It is extremely well placed for quick and easy access to all the major attractions.It is also clean and tidy but it is needing a major facelift in respect of the dining area which is basically the passageway from reception to the stairwelll for access to your rooms.The breakfast was nothing to write home about but it was adequate nothing more.Having said that it is cheap and cheerfull and you get agood clean room with a bed and towels which are changed daily.The pillows or rather pillow was way too soft for myself and I had to roll it up to get something akin to what I like but hey it was only for four nights and as I said easy access to all of Pragues many delights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Ian D,

thank you for your opinion, it is very important for us.
I hope you will choose to stay at hotel Melantrich*** once again on your next visit to Prague.

Kind regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is simple. Everything is a little old, but clean. But the Locations is just GREAT. You're close to everything. The Old Town Hall with its beatifull Astronomical Clock are about 2 min from the hotel. You have restaurants, bars, souvenirs stores, the traditional Manufaktura - wich I highly recomend, all around the hotel. I was travelling with my sister and our room was OK for us with 2 single beds in each side of the room. One very important thing - there are NO ELEVATORS, so be ready to take your luggage upstairs. The hotel is is a sort of gallerie, so you need to climb a few steps before you get to the hotel. The breakfast was simple but enough for us. Cold cuts, lots of bread, yogurt, fruits and a delicious granola. The only thing I really didnt like was the orange juice. We only used a taxi from the airport to the hotel and to the train station. We spent 4 days getting to know the city on foot. That was really great! Oh, I also recomend a segway trip when you arrive so that you get some good tips and info, then you can choose where you want to go and go on foot.

Room Tip: Remenber that there is no elevator so ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farodivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiubovEgorova, Manager at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Farodivers

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.I am very glad to read your positive review from your stay at hotel Melantrich***.
Our hotel is situated in the middle of Old town in a hystorical building and technically it is not possible to have an elevator here. Thank you for your kind understanding.

Best regards,

Liubov Egorova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A very friendly staff, great location, very close to Old Prague main square, clean rooms, clean linens, towels, bathroom
A bit inconvenient without elevator, and its hard to carry big suitcases up the stairs, not far from the airport, easy to access

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NitsaTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Great location. It is a 3star hotel,buy you really Get what you pay for and more in hospitality. The rooms are ok standard. No view,but it doesn't matter when you have everything just outside the door. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is just ok,but hey,you can eat a better lunsj on every corner just outside the hotel. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I went to Prague for a pleasure trip. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel allowed us to easily walk to anywhere downtown and to the historic area. I would definitely stay again. Good price as well! I stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I stayed foe 6 nights at this hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the included breakfast very nice. The location is superb being only a 100 meters from the old town square. The room was a good size and the bathroom clean and adequate. The negatives were that the room was showing its age and the mattress was thin. The night before our early morning flight my sleep was interrupted by the nightclub music located close by. I would recommend this hotel for its great location, staff and breakfast in spite of the dated room decor.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Whitey179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#295 of 648 in Prague
178 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
494 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#211 of 648 in Prague
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#82 of 648 in Prague
2,078 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 648 in Prague
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £43 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing