We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay..”
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #205 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend. Hotel is really nice and is in probably the best location in Prague. You can get everywhere by walk, fantastic indeed.

Hotel was clean and tidy. Stuff at the reception was always helpfull and kind. Get a lot of informations from them about the city and tourist attractions. Room wasn't that big, but on the other hand it was comfortable with nice decorations...Breakfast was fine and even if you came at closing time it's supplied with new stuff. Internet conection was nice adition, but didn't work one time. Otherwise no problem. My next stay in Prague is definitely in Melantrich again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FolkerstoneJohnny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2009

When people tell you that you are getting a great deal, make sure you know what type of people are telling you this. This hotel is a dump. The furnishings date back to before the fall of communism in the country, it has to be the hardest bed I have ever slept in, if you can call it sleep as they forget to mention that there is a nightclub in the basement of the building so you get to listen to the thump thump of Euro Trash dance music till wee hours in the morning. The wireless is crap as you cant keep a constant connection. The ice machine is broken etc. I could go on and on about the hotel but I will not bore you with anymore as I hope you get the picture. The only saving grace is the fact that it is centrally located in oldtown so that It makes walking around fairly easy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We just return from a trip to Prague on March-13, 09. We stayed in Hotel Melantrich for 2 nights. Hotel location is good, few blocks from Old Town Square, and it is not even bore to walk for those few blocks (they are little shops all along). Room is clean. You got your basic furniture, no mini refrigrator or water boiler/coffee maker (you can rent one from the front desk). Room is pretty big, plenty of floor space to lay our luaggages opened. Bathroom is nothing fancy, sink, toilet and shower, also plenty of room to move around and CLEAN (yes, with towels and liquid soap). We were assigned to a room on 1st floor. No much problem with noise. You only hear when people are leaving/returning to their room. Staffs are quiet and polite. Buffet style breakfast is included in price and plenty to eat. I would recommend this hotel to those perfer good location without paying fortune.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY123NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This hotel's location is superb. Just 2-3 mins walk and you're in the lovely Old Town Sq. The Metro station is close too, approx 100 yards away. The staff at Hotel are helpful and efficient. There is no safe in the room but staff has a safe where they can look after your passport, etc. Breakfast had a nice variety containing lots of fruits and vegetables. Room was spacious and clean. Perfect hotel for holiday. Certainly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank m_mayhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have just come home from visiting Prague for the 3rd time and our 1st time at the Hotel Melantrich. Rooms were clean and spacious, the shower was great and warmed up within seconds and the beds were very comfortable.

We didn't see many of the breakfasts as were out late at night and up late in the morning but the one we did have was great, basic as most continental breakfasts are. Considering the very central location it is also very quiet at night, which was welcoming.

As most of the reviews have said the location is fantasic and we had no need to buy a three day travel pass for the trams and metro as everything is within walking distance!

Overall I would not have any hesitation stopping here again as it is a very reasonable priced hotel for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Derbychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Myself and my boyfriend have stayed here about 6 times in the last 2 years. We have been here winter, spring, summer and autmn and each time it has been great. This hotel whilst basic is in a fantastic location, right in the centre of the main walkway between the Old Town and Wenceslas Squares, and only 5 minutes walk from the Agharta jazz club. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a more luxurious hotel then this is not the one for you. But if you need somewhere that is clean, basic and superbly located then stay here. We have a great time every time we come!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The location of this hotel is its biggest plus situated between Wenceslas Square and Old Town Square. It was convenient to get to the places I wanted to go to in the city.
The main entrance is through a common lobby shared with the restaurant/club downstairs. Some reviews noted bouncers at the entrance--I wouldn't exactly call the young man standing at the entrance a bouncer. He was like many of the other people standing in front of restaurants in the rest of the city and getting past was not a problem. You do have to be buzzed in to get the the hotel's actual lobby but that wasn't a problem. I felt safe there as I did the places I went to day and night in Prague even as a woman traveling alone.

All of the hotel staff I interacted with during my four night stay were all pleasant and polite. The front desk staff all spoke very good English and were helpful. More than one were more than happy to draw out directions on the map or give suggestions of what to see. The housekeeping staff was also pleasant. When I first arrived, there was a problem with the television cables in my room and when I called the front desk staff came to fix the problem within 3 minutes.

I was pleasantly surprised with the breakfast. There was coffee, selection of teas, multivitamin juice, apple juice, water, and milk. There were also one each of warm meat, starch, and vegetable selections. There were a selection of breads including 3 sweetened breads. Trays of cheeses and meat. Different cold relish trays. Small fresh fruit selection but didn't seem to run out. Yogurt with 3 different cereals and a canned fruit.
Additionally the front desk sold sodas, beer, and water and a small selection of wine and liquor. They also had snacks--chips and nuts. These were not horribly inflated minibar prices but rather prices similar to shops.
Just outside is the outside market with vendors selling fresh fruit and other things.
They also sold stamps for postcards--very convenient!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NevadaSoulTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#286 of 648 in Prague
180 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#136 of 648 in Prague
495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#83 of 648 in Prague
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#212 of 648 in Prague
978 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Modra Ruze
Hotel Modra Ruze
#257 of 648 in Prague
350 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £42 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing