We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as what people say”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melantrich
Ranked #191 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Exactly as what people say”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

The hotel is exactly as what previous visitors have been saying: it is in a good location with average amenities. It is not a new hotel but the bed, bathroom, bed covers, etc. are in an acceptable state. It is located in between Staroměstské náměstí and Václavské náměstí. Quite ideal then. The entrance of the hotel is shared with some apartments and a disco bar.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    276
    75
    17
    5
See reviews for
55
280
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkerstone
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend. Hotel is really nice and is in probably the best location in Prague. You can get everywhere by walk, fantastic indeed.

Hotel was clean and tidy. Stuff at the reception was always helpfull and kind. Get a lot of informations from them about the city and tourist attractions. Room wasn't that big, but on the other hand it was comfortable with nice decorations...Breakfast was fine and even if you came at closing time it's supplied with new stuff. Internet conection was nice adition, but didn't work one time. Otherwise no problem. My next stay in Prague is definitely in Melantrich again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FolkerstoneJohnny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

When people tell you that you are getting a great deal, make sure you know what type of people are telling you this. This hotel is a dump. The furnishings date back to before the fall of communism in the country, it has to be the hardest bed I have ever slept in, if you can call it sleep as they forget to mention that there is a nightclub in the basement of the building so you get to listen to the thump thump of Euro Trash dance music till wee hours in the morning. The wireless is crap as you cant keep a constant connection. The ice machine is broken etc. I could go on and on about the hotel but I will not bore you with anymore as I hope you get the picture. The only saving grace is the fact that it is centrally located in oldtown so that It makes walking around fairly easy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We just return from a trip to Prague on March-13, 09. We stayed in Hotel Melantrich for 2 nights. Hotel location is good, few blocks from Old Town Square, and it is not even bore to walk for those few blocks (they are little shops all along). Room is clean. You got your basic furniture, no mini refrigrator or water boiler/coffee maker (you can rent one from the front desk). Room is pretty big, plenty of floor space to lay our luaggages opened. Bathroom is nothing fancy, sink, toilet and shower, also plenty of room to move around and CLEAN (yes, with towels and liquid soap). We were assigned to a room on 1st floor. No much problem with noise. You only hear when people are leaving/returning to their room. Staffs are quiet and polite. Buffet style breakfast is included in price and plenty to eat. I would recommend this hotel to those perfer good location without paying fortune.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY123NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This hotel's location is superb. Just 2-3 mins walk and you're in the lovely Old Town Sq. The Metro station is close too, approx 100 yards away. The staff at Hotel are helpful and efficient. There is no safe in the room but staff has a safe where they can look after your passport, etc. Breakfast had a nice variety containing lots of fruits and vegetables. Room was spacious and clean. Perfect hotel for holiday. Certainly recommend it.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank m_mayhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We have just come home from visiting Prague for the 3rd time and our 1st time at the Hotel Melantrich. Rooms were clean and spacious, the shower was great and warmed up within seconds and the beds were very comfortable.

We didn't see many of the breakfasts as were out late at night and up late in the morning but the one we did have was great, basic as most continental breakfasts are. Considering the very central location it is also very quiet at night, which was welcoming.

As most of the reviews have said the location is fantasic and we had no need to buy a three day travel pass for the trams and metro as everything is within walking distance!

Overall I would not have any hesitation stopping here again as it is a very reasonable priced hotel for the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sometimes over warm
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Derbychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Myself and my boyfriend have stayed here about 6 times in the last 2 years. We have been here winter, spring, summer and autmn and each time it has been great. This hotel whilst basic is in a fantastic location, right in the centre of the main walkway between the Old Town and Wenceslas Squares, and only 5 minutes walk from the Agharta jazz club. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a more luxurious hotel then this is not the one for you. But if you need somewhere that is clean, basic and superbly located then stay here. We have a great time every time we come!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — you need to climb at least 2 flights of stairs to get to the hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#294 of 670 in Prague
163 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 670 in Prague
436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#309 of 670 in Prague
186 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Modra Ruze
Hotel Modra Ruze
#230 of 670 in Prague
319 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#98 of 670 in Prague
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Property: Hotel Melantrich
Address: Melantrichova 504/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Prague
#172 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing