We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Scissors
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$198
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vienna House Diplomat Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
US$220
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel(Prague)
US$265
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
239
122
16
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
122
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsu zlatych nuzekcharles bridgeno elevatorcastle view roomsmall hoteljohn lennon wallmala stranaexcellent locationthe hotel is ideally situatedold townlovely roomrecommend this hotelprague castlelesser townrooms are spacioustop flooryogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

What a gem of a hotel - our stay there was great in every way.
1. Location: Right by Charles Bridge and short walking distance to all of old Prague's wonderful sights, yet on the quiet little area of Kampa island. Hotel is located on a pedestrian-only zone with several very good restaurants and shops close by.
2. Hotel: U Zlatych Nuzek is a small intimate hotel, housed in a historical, romantic and charming building dated from 1586. There is no elevator, which for us was not an issue at all - it rather added to the charm of the building.
3. Room: spotlessly clean and keeping with historic character of the place, complete with wooden beams. However it was equipped with all modern conveniences: a never-ending supply of hot water, huge bath, shower, always-fresh towels and crisp white linen.
4. Breakfast: Hot breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and plentiful. Approaching the restaurant, the aroma of fresh-baked pastry was wonderful.
5. Service: All staff is very friendly and professional, especially Daniel. We were particularly impressed with their efficient handling of last-minute taxi reservation change due to our flight delay.

All in all, the hotel is golden indeed - recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuzky, Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the Hotel At the Golden scissors and mentioning Daniel the receptionist. I will thank him for taking such a good care of you and being as professional as he was. We are so pleased to read that you have experienced an enjoyable stay here. We hope that on your next trip to Prague you will choose our hotel again.
With kindest regards,
George Pokorný and Team of the Hotel At the Goldsen scissors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

At the Golden Scissors is an ideal location -- literally under the middle of the famous Charles Bridge, on a quiet "island" (really a small area with a canal on one side and the river on the other) called Na Kampa. This lovely little inn has a quiet, restful atmosphere while being an easy walk from the spectacular sights of Prague on either side of the bridge. The hotel's a refuge from the congested crowds of tourists in the old and new town, and you can't get lost -- just find the bridge and find your set of steps!

The rooms are charming and very clean, with hardwood floors, casement windows, blue-tiled bathrooms and Mitel-European-style low beds with fluffy comforters. The hotel faces a lovely facade of equally old pastel houses, with a courtyard-sized park between where we watched a street fair over the weekend.

The young staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast includes breads, jams, cheeses, pate and sliced meat, juice, cereals and hard boiled eggs.

The restaurant is open for dinner --- we ate there one evening at the outdoor area under heat lamps while enjoying people-watching. The citrus chicken with mashed potatoes was delicious.

Prague is so jam-packed with tourists much of the time that we were very glad we didn't opt for a hotel in one of the major squares. At the Golden Scissors, while literally steps away from everything, was an oasis of calm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gailfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I've stayed here a few times and like it because of its excellent location next to the bridge and just across the river from the main old city. It's very close to all the action, but is relatively quiet.

Just step out of the hotel and you're on the Charles Bridge in under a minute, it's pretty hard to beat that for location.

The rooms vary in size, however the ones I've stayed in were all a good, comfortable size. The rooms are well-maintained, clean and have what you need for a nice stay in Prague. You might also be lucky and get a good view, depending on your room.

My interaction with staff has always been good and the restaurant is also good.

There are other good places to eat and have a drink on Kampa Island, some with a nice view back across the river to the old city.

I'd recommend the Golden Scissors and will stay there again next time I'm in Prague.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We really enjoyed staying here in Prague this last weekend. Daniel was exceptional with service...all the way to booking child-friendly theater for us, which we enjoyed, though we didn't understand a word of it!! The location is fantastic & the food at the hotel is excellent. Our only bad experience in Prague was the rip-off taxi from the train station...but if we had called Daniel at the hotel, he would've gotten us one at the right price.

thank you for an excellent stay in your beautiful city...if we return, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed here while in Prague on business. My room was a double room overlooking the main entrance. It was very spacious with a full closet, couch, chair, bar table and double bed. The bathroom was huge with a full tub, stand up shower and his/her sinks.

The hotel staff were especially helpful in helping me navigate the city. They were extremely friendly and always greeted me with a smile and asked how my day went in the evening. The convenience of having breakfast included in the price was very helpful. Unfortunately, I didn't eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner but heard from other travelers that the food was very good.

Lastly, the best thing about this hotel is the location! You can't get any better than this...it is located on Kampa Island and just steps from the Charles Bridge. Wonderful location and I walked the entire time I was in Prague even though my meetings were in different parts of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaystravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews