We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Scissors
Ranked #74 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I just love this place!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

2 night stop over on a 16 day euro road trip. I had eaten in the restaurant here on a previous visit, and my son and his wife had stayed here on what they reported as an 'enchanting' break in Prague so I was excited about coming back and staying here for the first time. Parking is easy with their directions - you park up by the German wall (Lennon wall with grafitti) and walk through to the hotel and they give you a pass to pop on the dash - all sorted. The rooms are spacious (we had room 2 on 1st floor) and we had an amazing view straight out on to Na Kampa with the little market, and the Charles Bridge - couldn't be better. Food was great and service with a smile - clean rooms - great city and the best place to explore it from! Petrin and the funicular is right around the corner and a good place to start your exploration as you can see everything from up there and get your bearings.

Room Tip: Room 2 is actually advertised as a room with a 3rd bed (in the kitchen/dining area) but its also gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear StephnLee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit. We are delighted that it is your son with his wife who recommended you to stay at our hotel. It pleases us that you had no problems with parking and enjoyed the spacious room with a lovely view of the Charles Bridge and Kampa Square. Yes, the locality is prefect, you can easily reach not just the Petrin tower, but all of the most prominent architectural sights are within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back to the At the Golden Scissors soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    115
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
141
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Hotel has everything.
Location perfect. Right next to Karlov bridge, but not too noisy at night.
Really good atmosphere inside and on the street around.
Good service. Very friendly staff.
We have a really good, warm memories about this place.

Room Tip: Look at the rating and reviews on Tripadvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Bakhty,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit to the hotel. It pleases us to read that you had a wonderful stay at the At the Golden Scissors and you were happy with our staff, services and locality.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm embraces from Prague to Sydney,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In July I again visited Prague and I stopped at a hotel At the Golden Scissors (U Zlatých nůžek). Super hotel service! Cleaning and cleanliness of the rooms is excellent. Spring flood, this location would not be destroyed. The place is still beautiful and pleasant. On Shabbat I was ordered kosher catering from restaurant King Solomon. Visitors to Prague I want to recommend "Prague Castle Room View Room". Hotel Restaurant has a pleasant ambiance suitable for business meetings and negotiations.

Room Tip: Prague Castle View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are glad to know your experience at the At the Golden Scissors was great! It's always nice to have nice and clean place to be that makes you feel like home away from home.
We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Rooms are clean and large. We enjoyed the time we spent in this hotel and we definetely hope to come back with our next visit of this beautiful city!. Prague is Prague everything is close and on one place. Really great place to spend a couple of days. What else..

Room Tip: Room 6 Corner Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at U Zlatych Nuzek. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our excellent location. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
559 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 807 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just spent three nights here.
First the pros:
- fantastic location - right off Charles Bridge, in a quiet area on a beautiful little square
- has a restaurant on-site. Hotel guests get a 10% discount for lunch/dinner (we did not try it).
- nice mini-fridge (while there were some mini bar items, there was enough room to store our fruit and water)
- very nice large bathroom with a separate shower and very deep tub, and a bidet.
- the room was good size, and had a safe with a lock.
- friendly team running the hotel (our airport transfer reservation was somehow lost and the hotel paid for our taxi from the airport to make up for the mistake, everyone was generally friendly and helpful)
- good breakfast included in the rate - a few types of coldcuts and cheeses, a veggie salad, a couple of kinds of breads + butter, pate, nutella, cereal, croissants and pound cake, yogurt (fruit and plain), fruit, hot sausages, eggs (hard boiled most mornings, once-scrambled), coffee/tea/juice (cappuccino made on request, but only with dairy milk, I think - I am lactose intolerant and cannot have it; I did not bother asking for soy because I didn't think they would have it)
- there were no noise issues, even though most of our stay was over the week-end and we were right next to the bridge.

Cons (noting these for the sake of completeness - even those did not diminish the overall pleasant impression of the hotel):
- our room (#4) was on the top floor (facing the square) and there is no elevator (just be aware of it if you have any mobility issues - normally we don't, but I was recently injured in an accident so going up/down was a bit hard for me). The hotel's team helps with luggage, of course.
- only one room (not the one we had) in the hotel has AC. We had a fan but thought it was still hot at night. The weather in Prague was very hot during our stay (32C+) so maybe it's less of an issue during cooler weather. It would have been good to have some way to darken the room - the curtains (while light and cheerful) let all the light right through and we kept waking up very, very early (more or less with the sun).
- one of the days there was some mix-up and our room was not cleaned. when we called to ask about it at around 6pm, we were told that housekeeping has left for the day, but we just needed extra towels and they were brought right up, so no issues there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed it. You are right, the only room with air conditioning is number 10 called Prague Castle View Room. There is a fan in most of the rooms. Normally, Prague is not that hot city.:) We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Eight of us checked in for a two night stay in 4 rooms. Three of the 4 rooms were spacious, but the twin double I stayed in was miserably small. Its less than half the size of the other doubles, but the same price.
I've stayed at this hotel in the past and really enjoyed my it, but I would warn people not to stay in this hotel if they are given a twin double.
The service level has dropped off a bit from when I last stayed here. There was no assistance with baggage even though there is no elevator and the stairs are impossible to navigate with a heavy bag.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry your room was not that spacious, if there is an availability, we offer free upgrade to executive room. We know about the absence of the lift, it is due to a fact that the builiding is historic and in these types of houses you can rarely find the lift. Because of our limited capacity (10 rooms), we don´t have a porter. The staff is instructed to assist with luggage. We hope this will clarify the issue a bit.

Best wishes from Prague,

Z. Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This quaint hotel is situated a stone's throw from the Charles Bridge but surprisingly quiet. The staff is very friendly, I loved coming down to smiles and good mornings. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms are well maintained. If we ever find ourselves in Prague, a definite repeat!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post. We are so glad that the location, spacious rooms and our staff made your stay pleasant. We look forward to your return trip!

Z. Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#333 of 649 in Prague
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#126 of 649 in Prague
308 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Scissors

Property: The Golden Scissors
Address: Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#109 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Scissors 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U Zlatych nuzek**** is attractive for its exclusive location on Prague's island Kampa in the lesser town area. The hotel is situated close to the Charles Bridge – you will find quiet there, although you will be right in the heart of historical city centre. Enjoy your stay in one of 10 well-equipped rooms, which have parquet, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and other amenities which will provide a pleasant stay. Each room has a bathroom with hairdryer, shower and/or bath. Don´t miss tasting the excellent Bohemian specialties, international cuisine, first-class wines and traditional Czech beer served in our stylish restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Scissors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlatych Nuzek (At The Golden Scissors) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing