We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Scissors
Ranked #76 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stayed in this small (ten room) hotel in the centre of Prague. It is in a lovely quiet street but just yards from Charles Bridge and therefore ideally situated for the centre of Prague.

We had a pleasant spacious room but it was on the third floor so a bit of a challenge for the less fit, as there is no lift. One of the beds was very hard.

Limited facilities as might be expected but an adequate breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

It is the location which is really the big advantage.

Room Tip: Ask which floor.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Michael L,

Thank you for sharing your comments for staying with us. You are right, the locality is perfect - calm, but so close to all most prominent Prague cultural sights. We are sorry for the absence of a lift, but it wouldn´t be in touch with the historic nature of the building. Please, don´t hesitate to contact directly our hotel reception at: hotel@uzlatychnuzek.cz to ask for the room on the lower floor next time you (I hope) come.

Best wishes to New Zealand,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    114
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
139
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay here! We got a large room on the second floor. It was almost like a suite as there were two rooms: a small room with twin bed and dining table and larger room with king bed and two arm chairs. We had a nice view of the Charles Bridge. The room was very clean and decorated with an old-world feel. While I'm partial to modern decor, the old-world feel seemed appropriate. The bathroom was quite large as well, and the shower had great water pressure.

The hotel is located on the quiet side of the bridge, an easy 10 min walk to the touristy part of town. I liked being on the quiet side of town because it seemed more relaxing and private. The staff was very helpful and approachable. The day guy spent 10 minutes showing me the map on the wall and explaining interesting walking routes! Very nice of him!! We walked up to the castle on his recommendation. He said it was an easy 15 min walk, but it took us like 25 mins because it was a steep walk! ha! But we def enjoyed the sites along the way.

The breakfast was great! I filled up on fruit and pastries, while the server was making our coffees. As she delivered them, she asked if we wanted eggs. I wish I had waited b/c my husband got them and they were so good! Perfectly cooked scrambled eggs with some sliced veggies on the side. We left early on the second day and they left us to-go breakfast in our room the night before!! What an amazingly nice touch!! We each got a bottle of water, two sandwiches, a snickers bar and a piece of fruit. This was seriously going above and beyond in my opinion!! We were so thrilled to have a convenient meal to eat on the train that morning!

I hope I am lucky enough to return to Prague and stay here again in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Carolyn r,

Thank you for such a nice review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again!

Sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location is perfect, breakfast was simple but adequate and nice. Room was spacious and clean and neat. Checkin was no problems - entrance to the hotel is in the middle door where the eating tables are located. We would definitely recommend this hotel - we kept the windows open as there was no ac or fan and it was a little noisy at night but all in all a very nice small quiet hotel.

Room Tip: We where in room 9 third floor - good for 2ad and 2 kids- have to take luggage up stairs. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just a few steps away from the Charles Bridge, this lovely restaurant had a good value fixed price lunch of potato soup and omelette for 160 Czech Crowns (just over £5). The waiter was a bit forgetful but quickly recovered himself and we had a pleasant time here. It's worth going again if the prices remain this good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephencohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your dinner at Golden Scissors. I´m happy to hear you had a great time there.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant so that you can enjoy another sample of our Czech specials.

Best regards to Leeds,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asti, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Perfect location, at 20 meters from Charles Bridge, nearby the park and the river. Our room was very luminous and quite big, clean and complete of everything. Restaurants everywhere in the neighborhood. For those who care: wi-fi connection is not that good in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vismanarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in March. I am delighted that you enjoyed especially the locality and our luminous and spacious rooms. The wi-fi connection is influenced by the massive walls of the historic building, we are trying our best to strengthen it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With warmest wishes,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We go here at least once every time we visit Prague. Never disappointed. It's so close to the Charles Bridge you can enjoy the view in summer time. In winter, it's a cozy little place with great service. Good selection of Czech and International dishes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Dave A,

I thank you for this wonderful feedback about our restaurant and most of all for your loyalty. I´ll be happy if you accommodate at our hotel next time you´ll be visiting Prague. I believe you will not be disappointed:).

Warm regards to Germany,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Primarily for the location. Staff friendly and breakfast is what you eould expect. Rooms seem to have been refurbished but not sure. Room 3 spacious enough. Bathroom a bit small, no mirror in room and the street light shines in the room illuminating it through the night. . Asked for extra pillows but never got them. Will sort out taxis for you. Never ate there except for breakfast

Helpful?
Thank bevchorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion about our hotel. I´m very glad to hear you were satisfied with the hotel location and our staff. You are right, we are continuously renovating the rooms - there are new satellite LCD TV´s, furniture and decorations. I truly apologise for any inconveniences you may have with the street light - we´ll think about buying new curtains that don't leak as much light for the room no.3. I´m surprised you didn´t get your extra pillow, it must have been an oversight, our staff is normaly extremly friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel for the third time.

Sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#137 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#333 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Scissors

Property: The Golden Scissors
Address: Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#109 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Scissors 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U Zlatych nuzek**** is attractive for its exclusive location on Prague's island Kampa in the lesser town area. The hotel is situated close to the Charles Bridge – you will find quiet there, although you will be right in the heart of historical city centre. Enjoy your stay in one of 10 well-equipped rooms, which have parquet, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and other amenities which will provide a pleasant stay. Each room has a bathroom with hairdryer, shower and/or bath. Don´t miss tasting the excellent Bohemian specialties, international cuisine, first-class wines and traditional Czech beer served in our stylish restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Golden Scissors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlatych Nuzek (At The Golden Scissors) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing