We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel..”
Review of pentahotel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Prague
Ranked #85 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel..”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Booked this hotel as my wife prefers modern places, and we were not disappointed, stayed 14-17 November.. Check in is unusual, being at the bar, but I didn't have a problem with that. There was a good number of staff about, who were very friendly and helpful, think it goes with the brand to have young modern staff.. The room was as the pics on the website, nice large bed, could do with another pair of the white pillows.. I liked the fireplace programme on the TV, nice touch on the chilly nights. Could do with some English channels. The lounge had nice decor, so when we came back late, was nice to chill and have a drink. I ordered the buffalo wings from the bar menu, very hot, lovely... The breakfast was excellent, don't think that you would find a better one anywhere in Prague.. There is a restaurant only 120 yards away which I checked out before going, called Porto, it was excellent, went there twice... From outside there are two trams which go to each side of the old town, number 3 and number 8, you can buy a three day pass at the tabac kiosks..
I was pleased about he 3pm checkout, as our taxi wasn't until 4pm, but disappointed that the maids knocked 3 times, even with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door.... On the Sunday just before we left, I ordered the buffalo wings again, the chap bought over the bill to sign with the wings etc, which was correct, but they were barbecue wings, I pointed this out, and was bought them back to me one minute later, with some of the buffalo sauce just brushed on them. They were cold by now and were not tasty with the other sauce still on them, I would of expected them to be done again, if I had more time I would have insisted on this... This was a disappointing end to a great stay.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    736
    144
    32
    16
See reviews for
193
945
55
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Even though the hotel has been recently updated, wi-fi service was not provided in the room rate, the expectation of a 4-star hotel was not met in my visit. The customer service level was average, it seemed the staff was not property trained. Location wise, it is just a few tram stops away, for the lone traveller, not recommended location.....Definitely not impressed....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewcutegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry hat we could not provide the service up to your expectations. Thanks to a lot of feedback in regards to our WIFI services we have started to look into a solution in getting our own WIFI system which would allow us to offer this service to our guests free of charge for the future. Just recently we implemented a 30 minutes free WIFI access for every guest in our lounge area.
We hope in your trust that we are taking your feedback very serious and working on improvements. We would be very happy to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent 2 nights there and we really enjoyed our stay. Everything is new. 'Young' design and atmosphere (playstation, free ps vita and pool). Food was good too (especially the breakfast). Only negative remark: skill of receptionist was not sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefJaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and the very helpful feedback. We will focus on additional trainings in order to strengthen the skills of our team at the front desk. We are very pleased to read that you overall enjoyed the stay with us.
We thank you for your trust look forward welcoming you soon again at pentahotels.

Sincerely yours

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel staff at were a bit slow during check in but this isn't too big of a problem, I believe they were all still getting their routines down. The showcase of the hotel is the nice laid back atmosphere of the ground floor with the bar, pool tables, and the large amount of couches. The breakfast was the best I've had in a hotel and was worth the price, with a massive selection to choose from outside of the normal continental breakfast. We stayed in the executive room and frankly you pay for the extra size of the rooms, not the amenities. There was a negligible difference between our room and a normal room. Overall its a very nice designer hotel with a helpful and patience staff. The only draw back I'd say, is there there is no reason to book the more expensive room, unless you need the 6 square metres of empty space.

Room Tip: negligible change from normal double room to executive double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Spinn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

i was there on sep 2013 with my girlfriend. the place is really great. all clean, urban,modern looking place. the entrance looks like a nightclub, the reception is a bar. never seen such deep thinking on design and small details

the room is lovely and modern, has USB plugs in the wall, nice lightning, big TV, safe.. service is really good. staff at the bar are nice.

hotel is located 100m from metro, really comfortable.

only cons:
the bar prices are bit expensive compared to prague prices.
there is no bathtub, only shower.

Bottom line
If you go to prague to explore for 1 week, need a good breakfast, fair price and a cool place to crash. it's a place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ilanszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had spent 3 nights here on a recent 3 night visit to Prague. The hotel is new and it's wonderful. The vibe of the whole place is kind of industrial chic. Down to the perfect music as well. Our room was comfortable with a nice flat screen. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in all my Europe stays. They put on good spread!
This is not the Ritz, but for the cost, you just cannot top it. The Metro is about a 10 minute easy walk. From there, you're in the Old Town in 10-15 Min. Just close enough.

Room Tip: Be patient with your check in people. They do a great job but are also servicing the bar and maybe s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel in November and it was mostly a positive experience. The rate offered by Secret Escapes was just the right price so I was pleased. On the positives, love the reception/bar/library/restaurant area - all in one space and the designers have done a great job of seperating yet integrating the four areas. Excellent breakfast spread - was really tasty food. The bar was great - because of the layout, we found more hotel guests were happy to loiter in the communal areas than if the rooms had been seperated. The hotel opened only recently, so as expected the rooms and bathrooms were clean and brand new.

On the points for improvement - I would recommend training the staff to be friendlier and more consumer oriented. Given its an international hotel chain (and hotel), I would expect staff to speak English in front of guests, even if its with each other. They weren't the friendliest I've met and seemed quite awkward at hospitality. I was misled to believe no convenience stores were open on Sundays (Required for an emergency) when in fact on my journey to the city, there were open convenience stores at five minute intervals which was annoying to say the least.

The rooms are spacious but the space has been used so poorly - our room had a half wall through the middle (my friend jokingly referred to it as the Berlin Wall) with one side having the bed and the tv and the bathroom (West Berlin) and the other side only containing a table and chair. Quite an interesting layout but given the space available, some fittings for luggage storage or a wardrobe would have been useful. The telephone had no instructions on what number to call for anything. Despite there been a room service menu, there was no number on the menu as to where we should call for the food! The menu itself was quite limited- which is a shame given that the kitchen clearly has the capacity to cook good food! The walls were thin and we could hear next door and people walking upstairs. The mattress is a little hard and the pillows a tad soft (perhaps some extra pillows in the recommended wardrobe would go some way!). Housekeeping completely ignored our Do Not Disturb sign and walked in to the room - despite the 3pm complimentary check out offered by the hotel on Sundays.

All these things are fixable areas and given the hotel is brand new, these are all hiccups that when fixed the hotel will be all the more better for.

The tram takes you to the heart of the city - about a half hour journey to the castle from the hotel (requires a change in tram). But happy with the location for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback which will help us to improve our services.
We have just recently started to install new telephones in our guest rooms and added the information's on where to call. We have had and will continue in having communication meetings with our housekeeping team, in order to ensure that do not disturb signs are being respected. Trainings for our team are being intensified to focus on customer services. We thank you also very much for your further recommendations which we will discuss internally in order to improve.

We do thank you for your trust and look forward in welcoming you soon again at pentahotels.

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#58 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#73 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Courtyard Prague City
Courtyard Prague City
#100 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#123 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Praha 5
andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Prague

Property: pentahotel Prague
Address: Sokolovska 112 | Karlin, Prague 18600, Czech Republic (Formerly Ibis Praha Karlin)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Prague
#66 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Prague is the perfect place for you and not just because of its excellent location. With its clear, comfortable and relaxed style, it fits into the city perfectly. After all, it is safe to say that Prague is one of Europe's leading lifestyle cities. From art deco to freestyle - there is so much for you to discover in style in Prague every day; and at night too. The pentahotel Prague is the ideal place to start. Regardless of whether you want to take a walk or choose the tram or underground instead, the top sights are easy to reach from the pentahotel. Your very own Prague dreams come true, from wandering through the sublime Old Town to taking an evening stroll over the Charles Bridge. And those dreams don't stop back at the hotel - you'll be as snug as a bug in Prague in our premium quality beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Karlin Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Praha Karlin
Ibis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing