We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
pentahotel Prague
Ranked #88 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here from April 6th - April 9th with a Gate 1 Travel tour. Having never been to Prague, I was a little nervous about seeing other reviews mentioning that the hotel was a little bit on the outskirts of the city.

However, we quickly forgot all about the location when we entered the hotel. It was clean, modern and downright fun -- a concept that more hotels would do well to employ! The sprawling lobby featured a bar that doubled as the reception desk, an open plan restaurant, a fireplace, a pool table, computers, and (my favorite) a leather sofa filled lobby. The rooms were great as well -- very clean and modern, and also quite spacious by European standards.

The metro and tram stops couldn't be any easier to find. We mainly used the tram for travel; the ride into the center of Prague was less than ten minutes, and the trams ran very frequently. The neighborhood that the hotel was in felt a little deserted at night -- I don't know how comfortable I would feel walking around on my own, but there were plenty of mini marts and a few seedy looking bars that gave us the comfort of seeing other people on the streets.

Also -- you are very close to paths along the Danube, which I used for some relaxing early morning runs around Prague!

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we definitely hit up the massive (included) breakfast buffet every morning. I would go back just for that!

I can't comment on the pricing as we were sent here as part of a package deal, but I'm guessing it's probably lower priced than similar properties closer to the touristy parts of Prague. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    695
    134
    29
    15
See reviews for
189
898
53
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel- very quirky and relaxed design of bar area and bed rooms. Everywhere very clear. Range of food at breakfast was great and bar food lovely too. Not far out but we got underground- 2 min walk and 3 stops from old town. Staff friendly but only draw back would be we found it not tourist friendly, weren't forthcoming with ideas for sights to see etc. But that's a very minor complaint. I loved this hotel and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a full day sightseeing pentahotel is just the place to relax with a nice meal and drink.Quirky place with stylish design,good sized bedroom wth a very comfortable bed. Extremely clean and all the staff were really helpful. The breakfast was varied and catered for all tastes,with plenty of it! The hotel is not far from city sights,within walking distance,weather permitting, but tram/metro stops both very near hotel and really cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madame-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward welcoming you soon again at one of our properties.

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I love the design of the hotel and the services. Althought the variety of the breakfast should be change from time to time, but even like that everything had a very good taste. Good music in the morning create that Lounge, relaxing atmosphere. Also i love the ideea of the way reception looks. It's original.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Natalia,

Thank you very, very muchf ro your great feedback which is highly apreciated. We jope to have found with you another regular customer and we look forward welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

8 of us went for my Special Birthday, and the staff and management made it an extremely memorable stay.
The Hotel is warm and welcoming, and the staff go out of their way to ensure you have a great time. It's a fun place to sit having a drink in the evening, after an excellent meal in the restaurant.
The breakfast is wonderful, everything you could want, and Prosecco too! It sets you up for the day.
The bedrooms are SO comfortable, and clean, and with good quality toiletries, and a fabulous rainfall shower. There is even a kettle, and tea and coffee, which you don't find in many hotels in Europe.
Thank you to all the Penta Prague team, for giving me a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, on 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Terry,

thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon to one of our properties.

Kind regards

Johannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Good location with tram station and several restaurants in close distance. Stylish design with cozy lounge bar area and friendly staff. Rooms are modern, quiet and clean with comfortable beds. Bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and good quality. A great value for money! But unfortunatelly - as it is with all Pentahotels - the free WiFi is extremely slow so they try to get you buying the expensive "highspeed wifi". Hopefully they can improve the standard connection soon

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank masterffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you vry much for your kind feedback. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the stay with us. We will discuss internally ourn just implemented free of charge WIFI services in order to see if an improvement can be found.

Sincerely yours

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The Pentahotel in Prag is a very fresh alternativ to some old classic hotels. First, you won't find a classic reception once you enter, just a huge bar. Behind that a living room like Lobby with a pool table, comfortable leather couches and bookshelves. The rooms are spacious, modern, quiet and lightproof curtains allow a good night sleep in The comfortable bed. A huge flatscreen TV with a wide range of international programms as well as a Couch and a coffeemaker complete the room. Breakfast is served in The lobby and offers everything you can expect from a 4* hotel. With The nearby Metro it's just 5 minutes to The city centre. I liked it very much and would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. It makes us very happy to read that your stay with us has been to your full satisfaction. We do hope that we have won with you another regular guest and we can`t wait to welcome you soon again to one of our 21 properties.

Sincerely yours

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#60 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#69 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#66 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#67 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Prague

Property: pentahotel Prague
Address: Sokolovska 112 | Karlin, Prague 18600, Czech Republic (Formerly Ibis Praha Karlin)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Prague
#66 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#78 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Prague is the perfect place for you and not just because of its excellent location. With its clear, comfortable and relaxed style, it fits into the city perfectly. •227 generous rooms with a relaxed, stylish ambience designed by Matteo Thun •6 conference rooms with 266 m² floor space •Check-in: 3 pm, Check-out: 12 pm •35 underground parking spaces, 16 parking slots outside the hotel •tram and underground stations are located just a few steps from the hotel •Restaurant & Bar & pentalounge open 24 hours a day •Large and modern Gym open 24 hours a day •WIFI internet access in the conference rooms, lobby, restaurant and every room, High-speed •Take it easy: Every Sunday breakfast with more time for relaxation until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm •Business Station in the lobby with cost free Internet access •Pool table in the pentalounge (for evening activities with fun and entertainment) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your pentahotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Karlin Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Praha Karlin
Ibis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing