We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
President Hotel Prague
Ranked #181 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Christmas delight”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent a lovely four days in this hotel over Christmas. The hotel is well situated by the river and within a short walk of the Market Square, along a street lined by beautiful (if unaffordable for us) shops e.g. Prada, Jimmy Choo --- whose windows dressed for Christmas were just gorgeous (one can dream!).
The city, bedecked for the season, was a perfect place in which to spend a Christmas break. The hotel was warm, welcoming and also festively decorated. We enjoyed our Christmas Eve Dinner of traditional fare, proudly served by the young staff. The chef's effort to produce a typical British Christmas Day Lunch was commendable. Plum pud was 'interesting'. The staffing level seemed to be quite low as we saw the same few young ones busy in the dining room every morning and night. There was a bit of a Fawlty Towers aspect to the bar service but, as long as you were prepared to wait, all was well.
We did travel with well known tour company, so any problems were dealt with efficiently by our excellent tour manager. Completely beyond her contol, British Airways managed to 'lose' the luggage of three group members one of whom returned home wearing the same outfit she had gamely sported for the entire break.
Experiencing Christmas abroad is always fascinating. The President helped to make our experience really special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Fam. Magtrav,

We are absolutely glad to know that you have enjoy your stay in Prague. We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor.
Your opinions are also transmit to the staff, and motivate us to continue in the day to day improving.
I will take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and select our romantic offers.

Please let us know if you decide to come back to Prague to provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and inform you about our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.

Sincerely,
C.L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    429
    171
    62
    64
See reviews for
178
536
55
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My Husband and I enjoyed a mini break in Prague. The weather was not too cold and Hotel ideally located to view the castle and other sights. The architecture is fantastic throughout Prague- very picturesque. We had a dinner on the roof top terrace of U Prince where the Prices were reasonable and for a spectacular view!! It was amazing. This Hotel had some wonderful staff like Pawel in the Piano bar. the rooms were clean and very spacious. they advertise a sauna and Jacuzzi however the Jacuzzi has been out of order for a long while by their own admission!! We enjoyed 90 min massage which was fantastic they do Thai massages too. Lovely views over the river. Be aware that people are able to spoke freely in restaurants etc. as there are no preventative laws in place so ask for a non smoking room. did a Segway tour of Prague highly recommended, as its great fun and get a lot covered and a tour included. Lovely and quiet at night!

Room Tip: children go free of charge with paying adults and lovely spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaccaranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Mr.Jaccaranda,

I am glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and you felt welcome during your stay. We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your value cooperation whit the feedback of your stay, help us to improve and motivate all the team day by day. Pavel and all the Lobby bar and hotel team are informed about your comments and very happy about.

I will take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.
I would like to inform you that we will provide you allways the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Reiterating my gratitude,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were surprised by how much was on offer here, given the relatively low cost of the stay. Rooms are extremely spacious, and while the decor is traditional rather than modern, everything is very clean and in good condition. A great breakfast buffet was included, and reception staff were helpful, even printing our boarding passes for us at no charge. There's a sauna that guests can use for no charge, and even a shoe polishing machine!
We had a lovely view of the river, and it's just a couple of minutes stroll to the main square, as well as the beautiful Charles Bridge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ms. Laura A.

I am glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and you felt welcome during your stay. We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest.
I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our new President Club Members program benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel's best feature is its location. Literally 30 seconds away from the start of one of the most luxurious shopping streets in Prague, the hotel is less than 5 minutes from the Astronomic Clock. It's also very close to Charles bridge and to tens of other local attractions. The second best feature of this hotel is its breakfast, which is in line with other 5-start hotels. Some of the staff is also very friendly and cooperative. Free wi-fi was a good add-on.

If you are looking for a good hotel in a good location, you should definitely consider this one. With one caveat: this is not a 5 star hotel.

Unfortunately, there are a number of reasons why I honestly think whoever gave this hotel 5 star was either drunk or crazy. The Intercontinental lies just besides it: compare the two and you'll see that the President is really just an excellent 3*** or a basic 4****.

This is why:
- our room was rather small
- a tiny car park (we were able to only park there for one night, outdoor for 28 euros).
- a tired look and feel of the hotel furniture and fixtures (our room had a 15-year old TV set with 5 channels all in Czech and 1 in Irish ?!?; some parts of the rooms' fixtures were badly damaged and the carpet was severely stained).
- No coffee-maker in the room.
- We got a beauty kit on the first day of our stay alone - nothing for the other 3 days. There was no body lotion, no bubble bath, no show polisher, no individual bottles for shampoo/conditioners/body soap.
- The elevator would only take us up to the fourth floor, although our room was on the fifth. Not sure why as there are lifts on the 5th.
- I never got to see the sauna as the only day I wanted to use it I was told that maintenance had declared it unusable for the day. We got no prior warning that this was the case so I planned my day so that I could be back early and enjoy a relaxing sauna for nothing. I have been in other 5-star where maintenance problems occured but I was notified at the start of the day by the hotel staff, offered excuses and a bottle of wine as a token of their apology - that's a 5 star service.


In conclusion: if you are not interested in luxury but sill want to stay at a good hotel; if location is more important than hotel services; if you're going to spend most of your day touring the city rather than working or relaxing from your hotel, then this is a good choice.

I hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zibbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Mr. Zibbu.,

I have read very carefully your comments. I am very glad that you had a positive experience and we would like to thank you for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your value cooperation whit the feedback about your stay, help us to improve and motivate all the team day by day. So we will improve all the points that you suggest to us.

I will take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic.
I would like to inform you that we will provide you allways the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits. Please contact whit us is you decide to come back to Prague.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.

Reiterating my gratitude,

Sincerely,

CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It is a top recommended hotel comes with good service, nice bedroom, good breakfast and great location especially!
The view surrounds the hotel is just more than fantastic; it is my Christmas gift this year,
it is just super super great!

Room Tip: for couples: do not forget to choose double bed bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Ms.Kelly,
It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recomendations.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL

President Hotel Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Situated near the river with a great view of the river and the town. Walking distance to restraunts and the historic Jewish quarter. We were happy with our large room with a huge bathroom, however some of our friends were not happy with the quality of their room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Ms. Wendy B

It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recommendations in order to improve.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoyed staying at the President Hotel, very conveniently located on the river. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large with a very nice bathroom, but we would have preferred a king bed instead of twin beds (welcome to Europe!). The breakfast buffet would have been better if they kept the eggs hot instead of covering them half-way. Self-serve coffee wasn't too bad. The bar is where I got delicious cappuccino, beer of course, and Czech wine. Dinner one night was especially good.

There is a nice Thai spa at this hotel and my husband and I enjoyed a massage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny22314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen L, General Manager at President Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Mr. Bunny22314
It ‘s was a pleasure to welcome you in the President Hotel Prague ***** . Like you say, we are situated in the historic heart of Prague, but not everyone knows that the hotel occupies an historic and protected building, unique for its architectural building style called "brutismo".

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to express your suggestions and opinions in Trip Advisor. Your valuable co-operation has been most useful for us to get our main target and to try to improve a level our customers’ satisfaction to its highest. We will take care about all your recommendations in order to improve day ba day.

I take the opportunity provided by this writing, to thank you most sincerely that you chose our hotel during your stay in the capital of the Czech Republic and inform you that we will provide you the best offers and discounts in your future stays, and our President Club Members benefits.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again

Sincerely,
CL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#92 of 649 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 649 in Prague
1,756 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#83 of 649 in Prague
4,182 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Prague

Property: President Hotel Prague
Address: Namesti Curieovych 100/1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly President Hotel Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — President Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel in the centre of Prague is visited by fans of tourism and relaxation, namely thanks to its advantageous location. The President Hotel is located on the right bank of the Vltava river, between the Charles Bridge and the Cloister of St. Agnes of Bohemia. Thanks to its ideal position in the centre of Prague, the President Hotel is located only a short walk from renowned historical monuments such as the Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Old Town Square, National Theatre, Jewish Quarter, Synagogues and other places of interest in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities of the Czech Republic. The unique position allows you to conveniently visit the Pařížská street, a luxurious shopping venue with an abundance of fashion shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your President Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing