We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in prague”
Review of Certovka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Certovka Hotel
Ranked #132 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“weekend in prague”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have always wanted to go to the city of Prague, take my camera and snap away! I booked the hotel Certovka for my partner and myself and took a chance becuase i didn't really know much about where to stay while visiting the city. It turned out to be such a good choice, the spot it was in was just off the Charles Bridge, so it was so easy to find our way back home after touring the city. It was a delightful hotel, baroque style, absolutely charming and the people at reception were so helpful and friendly. The room was gorgeous and overlooked the Charles Bridge and the square below, fairly quiet, never had a problem sleeping, just a little noise in the morning when there was deliveries, but nothing we were really bothered with. The breakfast was really lovely, plenty of choice, could not fault it and if i go back to Prague, we will definataly be happy to stay in this beautiful hotel again. If you are worried it may be cold, it wasn't, the rooms were really warm, in fact i think we turned the radiators off in the bedroom because it was so warm. All in all , a fantasic weekend and can recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city of Prague.

Room Tip: If you like a cuppa in your room, just take a little travel kettle and tea bags etc there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    116
    25
    11
    0
See reviews for
34
181
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We booked this hotel based on reviews which stated it was friendly & had great views of Charles' bridge. Unfortunately neither were totally correct. Some of the staff were welcoming, however our arrival was somewhat dampened by a very cool reception. Our room was clean but very basic - there was no iron, drink making facilities or hotel information (except for a dry cleaning price list). The main disappointment was the location of our room - we were put in a twin room in the basement. This was basically at the level of the canal which did smell quite badly at several points during our break. It was also completely overlooked by a restaurant on the opposite side of the canal so we needed to keep the curtains shut for most of the time we were in the room. The location is great - we walked to all the major sights, even in Praha 2, but do think of it as more of a clean, basic 2 star hotel to ensure you won't be disappointed (also avoid booking room 1!) .

Room Tip: Only top floor rooms deliver those promised views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Webby65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Just 10 meters away from the Charles Bridge, surrounded by the Certovka creek. Perfectly clean. Simple but due to the location and views from windows it felt extremely romantic. Single rooms a bit on the small side but perfectly okay. Lovely views. Very good prices. Breakfast served as a buffet with possibility to have cooked food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdf0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My girlfriend and I had a 3 night stay in Feb 2011, the hotal was perfect, friendly staff, ideal location, comfortable room with a great view of Charles Bridge and was very quiet.
The hotel is situated right next to Charles bridge with a canal running next to it. There are a few bars and resturants within 5 mins walk of the hotel.
You can walk to the old town square in 10 min easy, over the bridge and down a few streets and you are there.
It was cold, -12, but clear blue sky and sunny with no wind. Just wrap up and your are ok, besides, it gives you an excuse to keep warm with the hot spiced wine...if you need one.
We had a great break and with deffinatly go back to Prague and this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank HarrowMac1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Friendly staff, although the atmosphere was a little strange. Dining room staff only whispered as did all other diners, which felt a little uncomfortable. TV only showed the News and a music channel in English. Towels in bathroom were tiny, more like hand towels and no tea/coffee facilities in bedroom which was a shock as it's meant to be a 4* hotel. If you go expecting 4* facilities you will be disappointed. However, breakfast was adequate and luggage can be left in a locked cupboard if you have a late check out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janineKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The Certovka Hotel is in a very good location almost within touching distance of Charles Bridge on the Lesser Quarter side of Prague.

Bedrooms are very spacious with excellent en-suite facilities, including a very good shower! The hotel has been recently refurbished and sanitary ware/ shower cubicle appeared almost brand new.

The Hotel only offers B&B, but there are a number of restaurants and cafes just outside the hotel for lunch and dinner. Alternatively, a short walk across Charles Bridge brings you to the Old Town with countless eating establishments and places of interest.

Breakfast is a buffet service with plenty of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, bread rolls... on offer. There are also a few hot options available, such as scrambled eggs, omeletts, sausages, fried eggs... which are all cooked to order.

The one thing that lets the hotel down is the lack of tea & coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. Even a cummunal vending machine somewhere in the hotel would be better than nothing.

The Certovka Hotel is well worth staying in and offers good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Topcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

First of all, you easily notice the hotel from Charles Bridge. It´s location is just perfect - about 30 metres from the bridge. We got warm welcome from receptionist and were astonished by view from our room. Room was OK, although ceiling in bathroom will need painting soon. ... Entire hotel area was very calm at night, so no problems with loud music etc.
Breakfast was excellent. You can choose from wide range of cold buffet and a nice waitress will ask you if you want some omelette, sausages, scrumbled eggs ... as well.
Generally, am sure it is my favourite Prague hotel where I´ll stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blankaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#77 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#344 of 649 in Prague
85 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#184 of 649 in Prague
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Certovka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Certovka Hotel

Property: Certovka Hotel
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 85/2, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#153 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Certovka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Certovka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certovka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing