We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, small boutique hotel in top location”
Review of Certovka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certovka Hotel
Ranked #128 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely, small boutique hotel in top location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Certovka is an excellent four star hotel at the Western end of Charles Bridge. The rooms are well cleaned and a decent size, with views of either the Castle or Bridge/river. Its under five minutes walk from the nearest tram stop, ten minutes to the subway, and close to lots of great restaurants. Breakfast is buffet and cooked. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. If I went back to Prague, I'd definitely stay again. We got a good price on last minute.com

Room Tip: Third floor has good views, especially on the castle side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    116
    25
    11
    0
See reviews for
34
181
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed with my sisters for five days in Hotel Certovka. It is a perfect hotel for a pleasant stay in Prague. It is located next to the Charlesbridge with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. A short walk over the bridge brings you to the vibrant heart of Prague. The hotel is in walking distance of all the major cultural sites in Malá Strana, Hradčany, Old Town, Josefov and New Town. We never had to use the public transport. The hotel is beautiful and quite small. Our room was very spacious and looked very nice. Beside a bed and desk we also had a table with chairs next to the window (overlooking the Charlesbridge). It can be a bit noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday night. The beds were ok, but the pillows are very thin. The major downside of the hotel was in my opinion the room cleaning. The room was during our stay not vacuumed, a plastic bag of previous guests next to the heater was never removed, and the shelf above the washstand was not cleaned despite clearly visible stains. It is such a beautiful hotel, which made the poor quality of the cleaning more disappointing. The room is quite warm, despite of the air-conditioning. While we were in Prague, temperatures varied between 26-30 degrees. The breakfast was excellent, with for example different kinds of bread. One warm meal during breakfast (mainly different types of omelettes) is included in the room price. The breakfast room has only six tables, but it was usually very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Certovka has an excellent price-quality ratio. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Depending on what you are looking for this hotel is in a great location to the old town of Prague. The room we had had a view of the street that did not bother us as we were not in the room that much. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good as it was cooked to order. One receptionist was extremely helpful the other we encountered made you feel like you were an inconvenience. Not for a long stay we stayed two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlife35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week,and all I can say the only good thing about is the location and a nice lady that did the cleaning and at the same time work in the breakfast restaurant. this is no way a 4 star hotel.The receptionists were more in the rude side,and don't even try to ask for directions,they don't know nothing. I will not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaFloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I discovered Certovka hotel when I first visited Prague alone in 2005, wandering by feet in Mala Strana and just arrived from Vien by train. The only room availble without previous booking was a tiny "bohemienne" one under the roof but with a unique view of the bridge from above.
I promised myself to take my wife to Praga and stay at that hotel, but for various reasons we only could fulfil that dream last may : we were not disappointed!
Quiet, romantic place, with charming view of Charles bridge ,clean and elegant rooms ,and , most of all , kindest and utterly helpful staff . We much appreciated morning breakfasts , and the proximity to places like Kafka museum and top class restaurants along the Moldava.
We are 67 but we felt as if in a new honeymoon.

Room Tip: on the channel and/or view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinolevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel over New Years. I am just getting around to writing the review but it was the worst hotel we stayed in for our entire 3 week trip to Europe. We used United points to book...although United paid them more than their advertised rate, they still charged us an extra $50 a night because they said united only booked 1 guest instead of 2. Complete scam. The front desk woman was completely unhelpful and rude. The hot water didn't work for 2 of the 3 mornings but of course they were not willing to even take away the $50 extra charge for the trouble.

Location is good, 12 min walk to the nearest subway and 2 min walk to the Charles Bridge. Everything in Prague is pretty good location due to the great subway system and small size of the city. I would recommend staying in the Jewish Quarter, as in most European cities. The Jewish "Ghetto" is pretty nice and where all of the nice shops and streets are. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicoli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the Certovka Hotel for three nights at the beginning of March. We had e-mailed the week before requesting a second floor room as didn't want to be on the ground floor, the receptionist e-mailed back within half an hour saying that we had a room reserved on the second floor. The hotel is very pleasant, in a good location and we never heard any noise as has been mentioned on previous reviews. There is no bar or restaurant so it is very quiet inside also. The staff were always very friendly. Breakfast is better than many hotels, the usual continental food but also omelette, eggs or ham and eggs included in the price. Our room was fine, not enormous, and had a new shower room.
As we had an early evening flight our cases were kept for us in a locked room until time to leave. Would recommend this hotel, especially if you can get a good deal pricewise as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#74 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#179 of 649 in Prague
353 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#333 of 649 in Prague
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Certovka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Certovka Hotel

Property: Certovka Hotel
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 85/2, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#153 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Certovka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Certovka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certovka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing