We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very good service, great views”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #139 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very good service, great views”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

It is always a pleasure to stay at the Astoria Hotel in Prague -- we stayed here in 2007 and again in April 2013. The location is fantastic -- just a few minutes walk from Old Town Square, the Charles Bridge, and the main sights in Prague. Request one of the rooms on the 8th floor for spectacular views of the Prague Castle and the spires of the many churches in the city. These rooms are really quite something with a huge wall of glass that allows you to look out over the rooftops.

The staff here is always pleasant and helpful. We also found on this trip that the restaurant was very good -- try the goat cheese salad and the wonderful pasta dishes. It was perfect for a quick bit before going to a concert or the opera as well as relaxing on those evenings when you are tired from walking around the city all day.

Room Tip: Rooms on 8th floor have stunning views of Prague Castle and rooftops of Prague. Room 804 has a massi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    525
    140
    24
    5
See reviews for
185
580
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We found this hotel very friendly and nice and clean we had a very nice room on the 7th floor nice and quiet with a balcony looking over the roof tops. Very central to shopping mall and the old square loads of things too do would recommend this hotel and intend to return in September when weather a little warmer.

Room Tip: Higher the floor more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly employees!!! They help you were they can!!!Reservations for restaurants no problem!!!Breakfast is OK!!! And everything is very clean!!!And the location is very central nearby shopping malls and a lot of good restaurants!!!Will come back again. Thnx

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location in Old Town; we walked everywhere. The area is safe and quiet although I recommend not getting a room on the first floor of the hotel (US -- second floor) in the front; you hear the front door opening and closing all day and night. There are good restaurant choices nearby; I recommend Lokal for Czech food and beer and Vino di Vino for a delicious Italian meal. Everything was very clean, and the staff were all friendly and accommodating (all lobby staff spoke English). The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold choices and was very well prepared. I stayed in a room with two beds, and there was ample space. WiFi worked flawlessly in the room. The price was very reasonable. I would certainly stay here on a return trip to Prague.

Room Tip: Avoid room in front of hotel on floor above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have visited Prague four times. On our first trip we stayed at the Astoria and have stayed every time since. The location of this hotel is fantastic. So close to the old town square. The staff are all friendly and helpful. On our 3rd visit we stayed in the new rooms on the 8th floor with a shared balcony. On our most recent visit in December, we could only spend two nights in the beautiful city, we had booked our original room on the 7th floor with a private balcony, but we had been upgraded to the 8th floor for our first night. These rooms are indeed lovely. On our return to our room after an afternoon walking, we were greeted with an ice bucket containing a bottle of bubbly, a lovely surprise for us provided by the hotel. The 2nd day we moved back to our original room on the 7th floor. We went out walking for the day and when we came back we were given the keys to our new room, having packed in the morning and left our bags in the room, the staff moved our bags to the new room.
Breakfasts are delicious with plenty of food, sometimes there were strange choices available, but hey that's what makes for good memories, where else would you see people eating chicken drumsticks for breakfast?
I am sure we will return to Prague in the future and there is only one hotel we will choose, Astoria. We have recommended the hotel to friends, one couple stayed here on our recommendation and another couple are booking for this year.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms are new with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Astoria whilst on a family holiday to see the Christmas markets. Location was ideal and hotel was close to the markets, shops etc. Room was spotless and staff were very friendly and always made an effort to speak to our 2 year old daughter. We ate in the hotel one evening and the good was lovely and very reasonably priced. All in all a great hotel in a great location, highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lornakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We chose the Astoria because of a last-minute issue with our other reservation - our good luck! The hotel is a 3-5 minute walk from the main square and major attractions. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, though a little shy. They offer one of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a European hotel - well worth the price. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. North Americans might find the rooms a little small, but they are average for a European hotel. The neighbourhood was quaint - and safe. We booked our tours through (book tours with All Inclusive and not Gray Line - horrible!) and airport transport through the hotel - very convenient. In all, it was excellent value for the price. I would definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayFromEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#81 of 649 in Prague
531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#130 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#133 Business Hotel in Prague
#151 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superb Location of 4* Astoria Hotel in Prague Old Town makes it the ideal choice for leisure or business clients. All major attractions are within walking distance – The Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Powder Tower. 80 guest rooms provide comfortable accommodation, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. Top floors rooms offer outstanding views of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing