We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #141 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was a good choice for us. The location is brilliant, just behind the Old Town Square and just down a street in front of the shopping centre, The Palladium. The room was average with very comfy beds, crisp bedding and a pristine bathroom. The room was made up when requested using the door hanger. The bathroom did not have mini toiletries but it did have large containers of shower/hair wash, body lotion and hand wash fixed to the wall. The hair dryer was a 'fixed to the wall tube type' in the bathroom. There is a mini bar but you can also store your own items in it as it is nearly a full size fridge. The room did not have a kettle so you will need to bring your own. The safe was free to use and the wi-fi worked perfectly. The breakfast was lovely, a mix of hot and cold continental style, self service.
We forgot to ask for a non smoking room. That said it did not smell of smoke.
The street can get noisy as we found out despite being on the 6th floor. There is air conditioning which you could have on to keep the room cool rather than a window open
I would use the hotel again.


Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank PrincessChrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights Sunday to Thursday. A nice room with a shared balcony (not that we were in the room long enough to enjoy it!)
King size bed and en suite bathroom with overhead shower - the only downside was that the bed had 2 single duvets on it as opposed to a king size duvet - ok for sleeping separately but not when you wanted a hug!!

Good position near old town - a 5 minute walk to the astronomical clock.

friendly staff and clean enough but not too keen on smoking and non smoking rooms on the same floor.

Room Tip: need a non smoking room - ask for one at the far end of the corridor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumpieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It is always better to specify your requirements during the reservation process then we have enought time to assign rooms according to guest´s wishes. As you have mentioned we have in each room 2 duvets even if the mattress is a king size however we are able to provide 1 big duvet if required.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are really appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again

Your sincerely

Martina Simunkova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great, medium-range hotel right smack in the center of Prague 1. You cannot find a better location in my opinion--the street is relatively quiet, and the hotel is walking distance from many sights, the Metro and the tram. Very very clean and cosy rooms. Wifi was good, and the breakfast was really lovely. At the price I wasn't expecting too much, and was very pleasantly surprised. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room at the back of the hotel next time. Prague is a big party city, and we did he...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your visit at the Astoria Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have had a positive visit to our property and that our services even exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Martina Simunkova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location - 5 minutes walk from Old Town Square where there are numerous bars and restaurants. We stayed for 4 nights and all the tourist attractions were within walking distance. We chose a room on the 7th floor because we like to have a balcony. The room was a good size, and spotlessly clean. Friendly receptionist on arrival who offered to give
us any advice on restaurants etc. and also supplied a city map.
Plus points:- Bath with shower over.
Window in the bathroom.
Free in-room safe.
Adequate storage.
Very good breakfast with hot options - well up to 4* standard.
Minor drawbacks:- Only one bedside table (but the luggage rack was next to the bed, so used
that!)
There are 2 lifts, but only one goes above the 6th floor.
There is no proper dining room - breakfast is taken alongside reception and
in view of new arrivals!
We booked directly with the hotel and the E-mail confirmation stated that the bill was payable in Euros - not Czech Koruna - so I was taken aback when the credit card machine showed hundreds of CZK and I felt I needed to convert the amount before entering my pin, which the receptionist was not too pleased about!
Over all I was very happy with this hotel and would stay here again on a return visit.
N.B. Do not use the currency Exchange opposite the astronomical clock, without checking how many Koruna you will get, before handing over your money! We didn't - and got ripped off - only 20CZK to the pound when the current rate was approximately 31.5!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor have furnished balconies - on the 8th floor there are castle views but you ma...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went to the Astoria with Jet 2, for 3 nights, we emailed the Astoria and asked for a 7th floor room, all went smoothly and we had free wifi in the room which was modern and clean we had a good breakfast! Went early as we wanted to make the most of our days so we probably avoided the rush. An ideal place to stay to see all the sights, we walked everywhere, would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Essy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back from a long weekend in Prague staying at the Astoria Hotel. We chose to stay in one of the castle view rooms which we was really good with excellent views across the Prague skyline. Only down point was the air con unit was adequate but not the best I have had in a hotel. I have read reviews criticising the breakfast but as far as we were concerned, there was a good choice every morning and it kept us going well into the afternoon. The hotel itself is only a 5 minute walk from the old town square with a lot of good resturants nearby. We had free wifi which had excellent connection. I would recommend this hotel to other visitors to Prague.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the castle view rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yorktravellers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay, Monday to Thursday. Very clean room, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast really good, location ideal, close to Old Town Square. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. For getting around buy a one day tram and metro ticket for 110 CZK, hop on and off all day, great fun.

Highly recommended Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,529 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#70 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#75 of 648 in Prague
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#26 of 648 in Prague
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#130 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#132 Business Hotel in Prague
#151 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £55 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superb Location of 4* Astoria Hotel in Prague Old Town makes it the ideal choice for leisure or business clients. All major attractions are within walking distance – The Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Powder Tower. 80 guest rooms provide comfortable accommodation, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. Top floors rooms offer outstanding views of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing