We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, clean, friendly Hotel”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #142 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A lovely hotel just a few minutes walk from old town square and within walking distance of all the sights. The breakfast is buffet style. The room was clean and comfortable with a firm bed. It had AC but it was so hot the poor thing struggled to keep the room cool. The bathroom was also clean with a deep bath, not a long one. The reception and concierge staff were really nice. A beautiful city with lots of restaurants, bars and shops. Our room was looking out onto another building so not a great view, but really quiet. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AngelaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Brillant hotel in Prague. A couple of minutes walk from old town square and within walking distance of all the sights. Great choices at buffet breakfast. Room very comfortable with AC. Prague a beautiful city with lots of restaurants,bars and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noreenKerry_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A great hotel to stay in Prague! Girls working in the reception were friendly and helpful with us and our trips! We had two rooms, one on 5th floor and the second on 7th floor and both were kept very clean and tidy (both had AC) + the 7th floor room had a great view! Breakfast was plentiful and had lots of items to choose from. We stayed for 3 nights and the prices for the rooms were affordable as we booked the rooms from the hotel's own pages. The hotel was also well located as we walked to everywhere in Prague! A very positive stay for us!

There were a couple of negative things: the weak water flow on the 7th floor's shower, the slightly hard mattress on the 5th floor's bed and the smoking indoors.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riikka O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Only a few minutes from the Old Town Square, in a quiet location, this hotel was great for our 5 nights break. Good buffet breakfast and clean, well furnished rooms, Prague is amazing, beautiful architecture and music round every corner add to it's charm. And I've never seen such a great choice of bars, cafes & restaurants! Sightseeing good and I'll be going back for a spot of shopping!

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th/8th floors are upgrades, and I think a room with balcony would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue Mutano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

+ Good location
+ Relatively cheap
+ Breakfast, with decent amount of variety
+ Service

- Quite noisy due to possibly construction work nearby in the evenings and mornings. Our room was on the 2nd floor.

Overall well recommended for folks looking for a good location for a fair price.

Thank Atte81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was a good choice for us. The location is brilliant, just behind the Old Town Square and just down a street in front of the shopping centre, The Palladium. The room was average with very comfy beds, crisp bedding and a pristine bathroom. The room was made up when requested using the door hanger. The bathroom did not have mini toiletries but it did have large containers of shower/hair wash, body lotion and hand wash fixed to the wall. The hair dryer was a 'fixed to the wall tube type' in the bathroom. There is a mini bar but you can also store your own items in it as it is nearly a full size fridge. The room did not have a kettle so you will need to bring your own. The safe was free to use and the wi-fi worked perfectly. The breakfast was lovely, a mix of hot and cold continental style, self service.
We forgot to ask for a non smoking room. That said it did not smell of smoke.
The street can get noisy as we found out despite being on the 6th floor. There is air conditioning which you could have on to keep the room cool rather than a window open
I would use the hotel again.


Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank PrincessChrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights Sunday to Thursday. A nice room with a shared balcony (not that we were in the room long enough to enjoy it!)
King size bed and en suite bathroom with overhead shower - the only downside was that the bed had 2 single duvets on it as opposed to a king size duvet - ok for sleeping separately but not when you wanted a hug!!

Good position near old town - a 5 minute walk to the astronomical clock.

friendly staff and clean enough but not too keen on smoking and non smoking rooms on the same floor.

Room Tip: need a non smoking room - ask for one at the far end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It is always better to specify your requirements during the reservation process then we have enought time to assign rooms according to guest´s wishes. As you have mentioned we have in each room 2 duvets even if the mattress is a king size however we are able to provide 1 big duvet if required.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are really appreciated.

We hope to welcome you again

Your sincerely

Martina Simunkova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 646 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#73 of 646 in Prague
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#130 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#132 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £51 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superb Location of 4* Astoria Hotel in Prague Old Town makes it the ideal choice for leisure or business clients. All major attractions are within walking distance – The Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Powder Tower. 80 guest rooms provide comfortable accommodation, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. Top floors rooms offer outstanding views of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing