We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I ever slept in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Amedia Praha
Ranked #381 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I ever slept in”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel was a nonsense. They have two elevators which were always busy. Especially in morning peak for breakfast, there was people waiting on every floor. During this peak, room service was using and therefore blocking elevators. They also disrespect "do not disturb" label on my door and clean-up everything, every day. Vault was not working, food for the breakfast was always the same and from the cheapest (worst) food available in the market. Hotel was 10 minutes by foot to IT center where I was working on a project. 8 minutes to metro station during cold and windy winter is too much. It was better to choose other hotel, close to metro station somewhere in the city, than stay in this one, next time I've visited Prague for business trip.
Hotel is also NOT one of the cheapest, if you're on budget trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    101
    118
    38
    25
See reviews for
50
126
17
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I was at a conference in the nearby Top Hotel which appeared a bit ropey and more expensive than this more modern lodge/ motel style hotel. Amedia Express Praha or EuroHotel as it once was until very recently is fine but nothing to write home about. It's very clean and there is all you need for a stay but it is not wonderfully comfortable. Rooms are tight and public space is limited. Breakfast is fine and in good supply but fruit is limited to quickly-deteriorating cut portions. Check-in receptionist would only give us one card, later I asked and was given a second. Ventilation isn't great. Some staff are nice and helpful, others not so much. Better bet than Top Hotel.

The hotel is popular with bus trips and middle managers visiting the various corporate offices in the area. Two customer segment groups where stereotypes are well founded. Did not enjoy playing chicken with a loaded breakfast tray!

But if budget is a concern, this isn't a bad hotel and is close to the Chodov Metro Station so trips into town are easy enough but give 45 mins door to centre on average.

Chodov also has a number of interesting local restaurants and bars if you look hard enough. Do not be afraid to go into a Mercedes Benz showroom for breakfast or lunch, or the park Italian. The 13th Century Roundhouse/ water fort has a nice little bar/ cafe which also does food. The private clinin near the red bus sculpture has an nice set lunch for 120 Kn or about £4 and has the air of a very chic bistro. Chodov Shopping Centre has a few eateries at various levels or why not get a takeaway lunch from Marks and Spencer?

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much identical apart from the ones near the lift and I doubt you ask to be near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stay there in april 2012 for 1 night with half board a goup of 70 pax.... the room and the bathroom was clean.... the dinner was nourishing ... the breakfast (buffet) was varied and tasty.... At the reception nice staff....
The lift it's ok, but as we were a big group of people that need the lift we waited long enough..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A nice clean warm hotel. Just 15 minutes on the metro to the city centre
had no problems finding our way to the shopping centre. Hotel staff were
very friendly and most helpful.Breakfast was very good. Hot drinks were on hand at anytime would recommend anyone to stay there we would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I visited Prague in December 2012. I loved buffet, food was nice. Double room was ok ; I think better rooms are located on higher floors. Bathroom was clean, nice view. It was not cold in the room, heating was ok. Before my trip to Prague I have read so many funny, irrelevant reviews about hotel rugs. Rugs in this hotel are not Persian ones but who cares about rugs when you are in beautiful Prague ? I recommend this hotel for young people and couples. Location of hotel and speed of elevator could be a material for a discussion - but in the end - hotel has good bus/metro connection. Lara

Room Tip: Higher floors have better rooms, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraDiretoressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We like this Hotel - although pretty out of the Center. There was a real and friendly Guestservice. We enjoyed our short Trip there and also our Friends, who have been there too, did say, that it is a good Hotel. Standard Room was cosy and all was clean. Bathroom fully good. There was Breakfast buffet with good things and a tasty Choice of hot Beverages too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoerenCECI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a large group tour, such a sad spot! Suburban location and a strange walk around to catch public trans to the city center. Totally vapid and lifeless. Most unusual experience: for the room to have power and A/C you need to insert your key into a slot by the door. That means when you leave the room you take your key and everything shuts off (including the A/C). I know my group had to travel on a budget, we needed a place where the rooms had private baths, and a place that could accommodate a large bus, but we were glad to leave. In fact I had planned to stay here an extra night on my own but I checked out and found a much better spot -- phew!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#362 of 649 in Prague
472 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#531 of 649 in Prague
154 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#558 of 649 in Prague
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Iris Hotel Eden
#134 of 649 in Prague
716 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#358 of 649 in Prague
116 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#357 of 649 in Prague
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amedia Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amedia Praha

Property: Best Western Amedia Praha
Address: Turkova 5a/2318, Prague 149 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Amedia Express Praha)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 11
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amedia Praha 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha. For budget conscious business travelers and tourists, our modern and comfortable hotel in Prague's Chodov neighborhood is nearby the biggest shopping centre in Prague which offers a wide selection of International brands, restaurants, and entertainment sites as well as a fitness centre, bowling and bars. The hotel is well-appointed and three-star rated featuring comfortable and affordable renovated rooms exceeding the standards. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite flat screen televisions, a desk and a bathroom with shower, WC and a wash basin. Modern style fully renovated rooms with double beds for one or two people with choice of Business or Standard category. BEST WESTERN Amedia Praha is known for the attractive price-for-value ratio throughout the year, even during fair and event periods. There is a great connection to the busy center of Prague which makes the hotel a perfect place for businessmen, visitors of Prague's many congresses and exhibitions as well as for tourists who seek a quiet place to rest after a busy day and yet want to be able to reach Prague's busiest streets in minutes. Our front desk is open 24 hours to ensure easy check-in upon arrival. The hotel is located close to public transportation with the metro only 500 meters away and the city center can be reached within 20 minutes. For those traveling by plane, the airport is also only 20 minutes away. There is easy accessibility to the D1 Highway as well as quick car access to the city ring road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Amedia Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurohotel Praha Prague
Eurohotel Praha Hotel Prague
Euro Hotel Praha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing