We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really is a hidden jewel in Praha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This really is a hidden jewel in Praha”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel and it was absolutely wonderful. Our room was a large suite with plenty of space for our bags and two separate areas in the living room for us to sit and work and talk. This in addition to a nice large bedroom and huge bathroom. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. We had room #7 and although it had no view other than the lovely terrace outside, we found it perfect for our needs as weary travelers at the end of a three week trip. We loved the sound of the church bells.

The hotel is located in the castle district, less than five minutes walk to the castle and within 5-10 minutes of wonderful shopping, monastery, restaurants (and the American embassy). The highlight was the Mala Strana hill just behind the hotel, between the monastery and Lesser Town; a perfect city park for late evening and early morning runs. This hill was beautiful and safe and quite close to the hotel. (Entrance is at the monastery)

The staff were particularly friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English. The breakfasts were great and they made us custom eggs every morning - all you have to do is ask. The driver, Milan, is very polite and willing to talk about all sorts of history and such while transporting to/from airport and train station.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    93
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
396
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Excellent “boutique” hotel well located close to the castle and Strahov Monastery in Prague. Front desk staff was very helpful not just with the standard what to see suggestions but also what to look out for like overcharging in restaurants (we however did not experience this). We were in a fairly small room for 4 days but it was very comfortable, clean and cool despite the lack of AC even with 80 Deg F weather. Morning breakfast was very good with several options but nothing cooked except some boiled eggs (they did offer to make something if you wanted it). View from rear of hotel was spectacular with nice terraces for evening sitting. They have contract with a local driver and the fare to the hotel from the airport was about 25 Euros. Recommended for the price, location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is listed among Hidden Places and that is an appropriate description. The entry is a pretty but relatively nondescript door on the street leading to Prague Castle. When we arrived around 7 pm on Sunday night, the night receptionist met us at the curb and helped us with our luggage (good thing as we might have missed the hotel). She then provided us with plenty of information on getting around and sites to see.

There are only 8 rooms in this hotel and it opens up the further in you go. We had room 6, which is a large suite, up the stairs to the very back. There is a fantastic view of the city and Petrin Hill from this room - the best in the facility (if you want a view, ask for this room). It is quite large with a sitting area, desk area and quite comfortable bed. The bathroom is enormous - the only oddity being you must shower in the tub with no curtains or shower stall. That being said, there is plenty of hot water and toiletries are provided.

You wake in the morning to the sound of bells ringing across the city and the swallows flying outside. The room stays cool even in relatively warm weather. The breakfast was plentiful and there is a mini-bar in the room, in case you would like to relax on the charming patio at night with a glass of wine. All the staff were most helpful and the location is great (walk to the castle, catch the tram to the old city). Overall, a charming and delightful hotel in which I would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Pick room 6 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NieSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario , Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and were glad of the choice we made. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and their hospitality was very welcome. The location is perfect, away from the bustle of the city and affording great views from the top of the hill. There are good restaurants close by as well as tram service to get you back up after a day of discovery in the historic city. The staff shared there pride in their city and gave great advice on sites to take in. We especially appreciated the warm cup of tea and cake after a day of walking the cobbled streets of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p83b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel at the top of the hill in Prague's castle district. Our room (a Deluxe room) was very spacious, spotlessly clean, and had a magnificent view (the hotel faces broadly south, so the views are not of the city but of the Petrin Hill and the lush valley in between). The bathroom was very large, and there was an additional entrance hallway for storing suitcases and coats, with a second door for protection against hallway noise, although the hotel interior seemed very quiet the whole time we were there.

However, as the hotel is located near a number of churches, the bells in the morning can be a nuisance, particularly if sleeping with the windows open, and the lack of air conditioning means that during hot weather it is necessary to keep them open.

Staff were all very friendly, spoke near-perfect English, and were happy to offer advice. The hotel offers an airport pickup/dropoff service for 22 Euros /500 Crowns each way, which seemed a reasonable fare and was very convenient.

Breakfast was decent but not exciting, and was available until 10:30 for late risers. The only quibble we had with the hotel was very minor: toiletries were not replenished when they ran out.

Those with impaired mobility might find the steps within the hotel difficult, and the walk up the hill from the river to the hotel is reasonably steep and prolonged; it is, however, one of the most beautiful parts of town, despite the rather touristy cafes and restaurants on the main streets up the hill. For more authentic places to eat and drink on this side of the river, you will need to explore the little streets of the Mala Strana.

We stayed three nights in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in Prague, provided that you don't mind the walk up the hill or the bells in the morning (which are anyway part of the atmosphere).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Have just spent three nights here and found the staff to be really helpful and responsive to any requests for information and advice about our stay. The hotel is very attractive and in a quiet location , but within a short walk of a wider range of cafes and resturants if you wanted to go out in the evening. Great views from the terraces and as reported, good breakfasts in a lovely room on the main floor. My advice would be to book travel to and from the airport with the hotel as this worked vey well, quick and efficient especially if arriving late in the evening. The only complaint we had was about our room (unfortunately a previous guest had smoked in the room and this had left a very unplesant odour), was dealt with quickly and we were offered another room for the next night .

Room Tip: Rooms on lower terrace have a more restricted view (standard doubles)but the terrace is very lovley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, General Manager at Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you very much for the nice words. We are very sorry for the bad air in the room - as we prefere not to impose bans on our guests who should feel well in our house, we ask them kindly to consider smoking on the terrace with respect to the next guests. Sometimes it unfortunately does not work out. It is a big dilemma for us, but we still want to believe people are considerate of each other and bans do not go to a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Staff, particularly Kamilla, were so very helpful with information and recommendations, as well as advice on how to avoid scams and ripoffs (a near-constant problem in Prague). Our room had the largest bathroom I've seen in Europe, was spotlessly clean, heating and ventilation worked quickly...I can find no fault with anything they provided. The hotel is up a fairly steep hill...no problem at all for reasonably mobile people, and those with issues could easily take the 22 tram and walk down just a bit. ATM very close to hand, as is the castle and several nice restaurants. It's out of the bustle and crowds of Charles Bridge and New Town...the drunks on stag trips seem to stay elsewhere. Good view of the TV tower from our room, and of the quiet valley below. Altogether one of the nicer places we've stayed recently, I would stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,583 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#4 of 649 in Prague
1,310 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 649 in Prague
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel

Property: Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Address: Loretanska 11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#34 Family Hotel in Prague
#47 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Henrici Boutique Prague
Hotel Domus Henrici Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing