We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hilltop masterpiece”
Review of Questenberk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Questenberk
Ranked #12 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel whilst in Prague during August 2013. I arrived late on my first evening and the hotel had organised a driver pick up which was cheaper than a taxi. Jiri welcomed me to the hotel and was probably the friendliest and most helpful person I have ever come across in my travels.

He was so warm and proud of the hotel he gave a tour upon arrival after offering me a welcome drink. Any request was greeted with a huge smile and very helpful information. All the staff were courteous and spoke english very well, including excusing themselves before conversing in Czech. I am singling Jiri out because he was an absolute stand out yet all the staff were wonderful.

The hotel itself is beautiful, looks like an old castle on the inside which was completely up my alley and varyingly different from anywhere else I stayed.

Whilst the positives of the place are fantastic there are a few points to consider which weren't great. I booked a double room for single use and had 2 single beds pushed together, no issue if the sheet is covering both beds but this was not the case even after I asked for it to be changed. Sleeping inbetween 2 single beds generally ends with you slipping down the gap. Secondly there is a church with bells that ring every 15 minutes and multiple on the hour so that can disturb sleep. Thirdly there is no air conditioning so in the middle of summer it was quite hot in the room, did prop the window open which was nice but then the noise ruined it. Pick a cooler month and you're laughing. Finally the shower head had good pressure but was a bit small so took a bit of effort to wash.

All minor points aside, the view from the terrace and the breakfast room is by far the best in Prague. Unbeatable. Definitely allocate the money to stay in this place as it is worth remembering Prague for what a beautiful city it is and having excellent accomodation helps. Not to mention the bed, pillow and sheets were the softest I experienced which truly made up for sleeping in a single bed.

Last little bonus is the 'hop on hop off' tours you get in most european cities, the one in prague has a stop right out the front of the hotel so you can't get lost!

Cannot recommend this place enough but do consider the above mentioned slights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshuaJerichoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear JoshuaJerichoF,

thank you very much for your valuable and marvelous feedback. It is heartwarming to read that a guest has been content with just the things that we are working on extremely hard. I am glad that Jiri was able to contribute to our whole team´s effort to make the stay of every single guest as comfortable as possible.

Our hotel´s location enables it to provide one of the best views of the Czech capital. It stands on top of the hill in the castle area, which is extremely charming and full of history. You can admire the architecture and the layout of the streets while walking down towards the Charles bridge and if you do not prefer walking uphill, it is an 8 minute drive by a tram back up. Since the hotel is a part of the Strahov monastery, next to Saint Vitus Cathedral and Loreta, yes, you do hear bells.

We are trying to equip every room with better facilities, including the air-conditioning system. We started with the top 2 because as the building is old, the bottom 2 floors tend to keep fairy cool by themselves, but we will definitely continue improving to make our guests feel more cosy and comfortable during their stay with us.

Finally, I am truly sorry that we were not able to provide you with the king size bed, but if we are ever lucky enough to welcome you again, I will personally make sure you will get one.

Once again thank your for all of your compliments and for choosing Questenberk as your place to stay on your visit to the tremendous city of Prague.

with kind regards,

Robert Safarik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

It was everything just perfect, every employee did the best for the guests, the breakfast was really good, too.
To the check- inn, you get a bootle of wine and fresh fruits.
Also you can use a computer with an internet access, and you get wlan for your mobile phone, without paying seperately for it.
I asked on which date Sparta Praha is playing- and I not only get this information- they bought the tickets for me- the service is completely perfect.
It was a great stay in Prague, and the Questenberk Hotel could contribute a big part of it

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klasnic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked at Hotel Questenberk after reading different reviews and exactly got what we were expecting... The welcoming was one of the warmest we ever got, they made us feel the most important people in the world. We booked a deluxe room hoping to get city view; we did not have it, but made no complain because the service was so excellent, and the room was a spacious one. We just came back to the hotel late in the night, so city view was not important at all. All the people at the hotel were really nice and were ready anytime for information about city&transportation. Of course we enjoyed staying there and we surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mart528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great hotel in a wonderful city. Questenberk hotel is one of the most beautiful and enchanting hotel in Prague. The atmosphere is unreal, very suggestive. We stayed in this hotel in March 2013, great breakfast with an unbelievable view of the city, breathless. Rooms are big and clean. There was a little misunderstanding with the bed when we arrived, but the problem was solved in the second day. The hotel's position is very strategic, it dominates the city, near the castel. Walking you can arrive to Charles Bridge in 15 minutes; anyway you can arrive in a few minutes to the center of the city with the tram. Great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabio88silvia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved our stay at Questenberk Hotel. We just came back a day before yesterday, with some beautiful memories of Prague. I would love to recomend this hotel to any kind of travelers either couples, family or friends. Excellent service, friendly and helpful staffs, very clean and beautiful breakfast buffet. Thumbs Up for Questenberk Team..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanumandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Mr. Tanumandal,

thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel. Thank you also for recommending Questenberk hotel to other travelers. It is great to read that in your memories you come back to Prague.

It is our goal to keep all our guests satisfied and we will keep on with the good work.

We are looking forward to see you again soon.

With warm regards,

Robert Safarik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for our 30 yr anniversary and previously notified the hotel of that fact . The arrival procedure is second to none and very welcoming. The hotel is very historic and quaint. The room we think was deluxe (301) quit spacious and clean but the view was terrible not the view stated on the website nor did we recieve a turndown service. The breakfast was nice with quite a choice and the staff pleasant as was all the staff. The views from the terrace were stunning a panoramic scene of the whole city. As already mentioned thisvwas a 30 year anniversry trip and to be honest I also mentioned this twice whilst there so thought a complimentary bottle of wine would have been nice as a thank you to us for choosing their hotel to celibrate that occation as this hotel will now be forever in our memories. But finally thank you for our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear hotel guest,

thank you for your valuable feedback. Firstly, let me congratulate you on the very precious anniversary you celebrated in Prague. I am very glad that you decided to spend your precious moments in our hotel and that it is now a pleasant part of your memories from Prague.

Secondly, it is great that you liked the room, but I was a little let-down after reading that you were not content with the provided view. The reason of my sorrow is the fact that every one of our guests receives a phone call with the inquiry of satisfaction , after they had been escorted to they´re room. If you had mentioned your displeasure with the room, I would have definitely taken appropriate actions.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of our service and let me apologize that not everything has lived up to your expectations.

with kind regards,

Robert Safarik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We travelled to Prague for some rest and recuperation - we both live very busy lives - and the Hotel Questenberk and its staff more than met my expectations. We wanted to stay somewhere quiet but within easy reach of all the sites, with character and a really good service. The hotel more than met all of my expectations, from the excellent check in (with welcome drink) to the complimentary room to shower and change in before we left for the airport at 6.30 at night. The atmosphere of the hotel is superb, as it is an old monastery building so the character is wonderful. The room was elegant and quiet, with a really comfortable bed and powerful shower.

Breakfast was really, really good. The buffet is superb, with home made yoghurt and everything for the healthy or the unhealthy to enjoy. A complementary afteroon tea was available in the guest lounge. The views from the terrace were superb - right over the whole city - and caught whatever breeze there was.

All the staff were friendly but professional. Natalie who checked us in could not have been more helpful and her English was superb.

Don't feel worried about distance from the main centre of town. The 22 tram is just a two minute walk away. We crossed to the other side of town to the O2 Arena for a Leonard Cohen concert and had not problems getting there or back by tram and metro. Prague has one of the best (and cheapest) public transport systems in the world.

The Questenberk is a great hotel. We plan to sample one of the Deluxe rooms in October.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,960 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
772 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,342 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,796 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Questenberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk

Address: Uvoz 155/15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#13 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Questenberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing