We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Questenberk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Questenberk
Ranked #12 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel Questenberk was an amazing place to stay. When we arrived a young man took our incredible heavy bags and escorted us inside where we were met by a lovely woman called Miriam who showed us around the hotel, and our room which had a bottle of red and cheese plate waiting. She then took us up to the terrace which had an amazing view of Prague and got us a welcome drink and gave us advice on tours and locations. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, the location was quiet but close to the city and the buffet breakfast was absolutely incredible. I will recommend this place to everyone who is travelling to Prague and want to stay somewhere unique.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    126
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
156
575
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Hotel Questenberk was an absolute treat. Everything about this hotel surpassed our expectations.

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by the concierge who had our bags taken to our room while he gave us a rundown on the hotel and facilities accompanied by a complimentary drink and amuse-bouche on the hotel deck overlooking Prague.

After this pleasant welcome we were taken to our room, which was comfortable, spacious, clean and quiet. In the morning we were greeted by an incredible breakfast which included a huge variety of hot and cold food (we particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon and salads). The hotel is located in Mala Strana near the Strahov monastery and not far from Prague castle, Petrin Hill and tram 22. We loved the location as it was close to the city centre but much quieter than downtown and with plenty to see nearby.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. They happily accommodated requests for advice and booked tickets to the opera for us. Wifi was also complimentary.

I can't recommend Questenberk enough and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a lovely hotel this is. Very clean and tidy with such friendly staff all who are young and a credit to the management. Little touches like wine and cheese in the room upon arrival plus drinks on the terrace with a short guided intro to the the city was lovely. Was given sparkling wine on my birthday which was lovely. After 4pm complimentary coffee and cake is provided in the lounge area for guests....another great touch. Breakfast was reasonable and if you wanted a special dish this was for an added cost, personally we didn't feel this was necessary. The terrace outside provides stunning views of the city and it was nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine to soak up the view. Blankets and patio heaters are available for when it gets a tad chilly. Perhaps in the colder months it would be good to have the facility of an inside bar. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliebond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Definitely a great place to stay during your Prague-visit. Far above the noise of the old city and the commercial souvenir shops you will find Questenberk; an oasis of calm, public transport (tram 22) within walking distance and a lovely terrace. The chef is of very large class and prepares the finest cuisine. The hotel has everything you, the pampered guest, would expect. Great beds, ample closet space and a good shower. I do not give 5 stars is because I missed a bath in the bathroom and the curtains were not light proof. The latter led to a shorter sleep than planned... In itself not so bad because we needed extra time to explore Prague and its surroundings (do not forget Kutná Hora, a short trip by train). Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobR-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is ideally located next to major attractions, great restaurants, and maybe has the best view in the city! The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is fantastic, but this is all secondary to the wonderful staff. The staff made the difference here, they are exceptional in every way and need to be properly recognized, I have never encountered service like this in any hotel anywhere. They go beyond the call of duty to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Questenberk for 5 nights in July of 2014. Our stay there, and our dealings with the staff, were a pleasure from start to finish.

I had several communications via email with Jacob and other staff members to clarify our booking and to make a change to it. Each time, the communications were courteous and helpful and made us feel like valued guests.

We booked a car through the hotel to pick us up from the train station. That made our arrival easy and enjoyable.

When we arrived, and throughout our stay, we felt like celebrities. We were greeted by name, given a tour of the hotel, and then escorted to the deck for a welcome drink and a taste of that day's soup while Jacob discussed the sights, transportation, hotel services, etc. that were available to us.

When we saw our room, we were so pleased. It was very charming and exceeded our expectations. There was wine and fruit waiting for us (a bonus for booking directly with the hotel, I understand), and our room was replenished with a fresh water bottle for each of us daily, and delicious chocolates on our pillows each evening.

Our first evening, we ate at the hotels restaurant and the food was excellent. We loved the views of Petrin Park and the caste. The views are so lovely, in fact, that there was a bridal couple on the path right below us having their photos taken.

In the mornings, when we went for breakfast, we were greeted by name and treated to a wonderful breakfast buffet with juice and cappuccino or coffee. My husband could not believe the extent and variety of the buffet and asked to confirm that it really was all included. Each morning, we had eggs, bacon or sausages, vegetables, cheeses, pastries, Nutella, and fruits. There were other options, also, such as cold cereals and cold cuts. The view was lovely, particularly from our favourite table on the upper level, by the window, but no matter where we sat, we enjoyed the ambience and character of the room and the artwork in there.

We spent our first two days touring the castle, the monastery, and Petrin Park. The hotel was very convenient to these, and it was lovely to be able to go and walk around the castle in the evening, when it was nearly deserted.

The next few days, we went to Mala Strana, Kampa Island, and Old Town, sometimes walking and sometimes taking the tram down, and then taking the tram back up. We purchased a 3-day pass, and the tram ran frequently, with the stop only half a block from the hotel, so it was very convenient.

On our last day, after seeing the Dancing House and the Jewish district in the morning, we saw more of Petrin Park and walked the castle moat in the afternoon and evening.

It was quite warm most of our time in Prague, but being on the hill next to the park, it always cooled down nicely in the evenings. We loved that it was quiet in the evenings, too. For those who want to party and stumble home, this might not be the right location. For us, it was perfect.

For our last couple of days, we were moved to a different room because of a problem with the air conditioning in our room. I didn't like the room as much, but that was only in comparison to our first room. Had I never seen that, I would have been thrilled with our second room, too. (Both rooms were on the top floor.) I was certainly pleased with the way the staff dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently, anyhow.

Each afternoon, the hotel offers refreshments in the guest lounge: coffee, tea, cakes, lemon water, ice water, and fruit. This was perfect. After touring around in the morning, we were more than ready for a nice break in the afternoon, and we always managed to make it back to the hotel for this. Then we'd go out again later on. I'm not a big fan of cakes as a rule, but the cakes offered for afternoon refreshments were delicious.

One thing we missed when we moved to the new room was the sound of the bells. In a short time, we had become accustomed to telling time by them, and with our new room being on the other side of the hotel, we just didn't hear them. I noticed at least one reviewer complained about the bells, but I loved them, even though I'm usually a light sleeper and bothered by noise. I wrote in one of my Facebook status updates that I was "surrounded by bells and birdsong." It was wonderful.

We found the beds comfortable, the bathrooms always spotlessly clean, with plenty of hot water, and the service unparalleled at the Questenberk. We enjoyed all our accommodations on our trip, which included Budapest, Vienna, Prague, Cesky Krumlov, Salzburg, and Munich, but the Questenberk stood out above them all and will hold a very special place in our memories. Should we ever return to Prague, we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QveenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful hotel...all amenities good but what made our stay so perfect was the caring staff...never been treated better....they should all pride themselves in their excellent care to make guests feel so special....
Anne from Canada

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneonthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#11 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Questenberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk

Property: Questenberk
Address: Uvoz 155/15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#13 Business Hotel in Prague
#13 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Questenberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing