We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around - just as good!”
Review of Hostel Elf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Elf
Ranked #32 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I really like this place. I was here over a year ago for a few days while hostel-hopping and it's one of my favorite (and #1 most memorable) places to stay in Prague. It's relatively inexpensive and in a great location (Zizkov - outside of center and loads of cool "local type" places around.)

Staff is great, it has a kitchen (a must for me,) has a good social atmosphere (I've had some very interesting social experiences here!) and has a nice cozy hostel feel.

The only complaint is that wifi can suck sometimes (especially during morning and evening when everyone is there,) and some rowdy guests have been known to shout and yell and slam doors at 4-5 AM. Not the hostel's fault, of course.

Otherwise I highly recommend this place especially if you're a solo traveler. You'll have no issues meeting people!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights only but it was really cool! The people are very friendly, the hostel itself is in a very central location, a 5 min walk to the main square. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I will always have good memories of the Elf hostel as I met my girlfriend there. She was sleeping in the bunk above me, and well... you get the picture. Putting that aside, the hostel is nice, basic and accommodating - with friendly service and a great atmosphere. We shall be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_monkey_dip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I really love hostel elf ;)

I were there several time because of czech yoyo national contest. The breakast are very cool the sercive also, the stuff is very kind and helpful ! I love that the have a kitchen and you can cool for yourself !!! Love the atmosphere it is soo peaceful and nice :)

Thanks Hostel elf I will go back if I willbe on prague ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hostel is located around 20 minutes walk from the city centre, although there is a bus stop from near the hostel.

There are free computers to use and plenty of bathrooms. The wifi didn't always work in our room but that wasn't too big a problem. Our dorm room was large and spacious, and there were lockers too for added security.

The BBQ was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful with tour suggestions. Definitely worth staying here, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay. Met some cool people here and about fifteen minutes walk from old town square. Free breakfast in the morning. Free tea and coffee all the time. Only thing that was annoying was the wifi. Would constantly cut in and out. But apart from that great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeseenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed in Hostel Elf for 4 days and I really liked it. It was my first solo trip and I was amazed by how many people from all over the world were staying there. Even though I came there on my own I was not bored for a minute. I was staying in the cheapest dorm so the price was really low. Breakfast included consists of cheese, ham, some cucumber or peppers, peanut butter, jam and several types of toast bread. Tea and coffee is free all the time. The dorm is equipped with big lockers.

If you're not afraid of meeting new people, you should definitely stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#17 of 702 in Prague
391 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 702 in Prague
443 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#9 of 702 in Prague
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#38 of 702 in Prague
196 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#14 of 702 in Prague
523 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#41 of 702 in Prague
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Elf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Elf

Address: Husitska 888/11, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 702 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £17 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Elf 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ELF - Your home in Prague !! FREE buffet breakfast!!! FREE coffee and tea 24hrs!!! Proud to be one of the backpackers hostel that opened in Prague in 2000 we can say that hostel ELF is the perfect place to stay. Our cool original independent backpacker's hostel offers cheap accommodation in Prague and is the ideal hostel for the independent traveler and student groups. We are not just bed and breakfast - the hostel has two floors, two common rooms, two kitchens and great outdoor patio, BBQ area, terrace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hostel Elf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Elf Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing