We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!”
Review of Hostel Elf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Elf
Ranked #30 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I definitely recommend this hostel, the staff are really helpful and available at all times, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and the atmosphere is great. It is a very social hostel, they have free bbq once a week, and happy hour and a bi terrace outdoors where it is very easy to meet other travellers. Great experience, highly recommended~

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hostel Elf near the bus and train station in Prague. Our problem, however, was that we arrived by car. It is nearly impossible to find parking in Prague, as most of the zones are 'blue zones', meaning that they're not available for tourists.

The staff was friendly and helpful - 24 hours a day. The beds in our 6 person room were very hard and both the showers and toilets were in the hallway. This is a very basic hostel, but it still convinced the most hostel-skeptical among us that hostels are pretty okay.

The breakfast is free and very basic(but in a different way from other basic hostel breakfasts, somehow). To get to the centre of Prague, you will have to walk for maybe 10-15 minutes. I would however recommend having a look at the hill behind the hostel, where you can find a gorgeous view, a military museum and much more.

There is free wifi, but it was not in our room, which complicated things for us. Keep a keen eye out for the Elf sign, as it leads to a narrow and long staircase which is not easily spotted from the street(right on the corner with the bus stop). The outdoor and indoor area are both decorated in a fun way and I personally loved all the maps hanging around in the hallway.

I would not return, but it was an okay stay...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keenaina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice Hostel, very good atmosphere, very busy, so book ahead during peak season (Jun-Ago)
The hostel has dorms with 12 beds, 8 beds, 6 Beds. The price it is a bit more during weekends.
Free breakfast in the morning. Free coffe and te all day long.

they ask for 5 euro deposit for a electronic card .

Different activities during the week, including happy hours on beers (50% off on beers), Free BBQ.

5 minutes walking from Florenc bus terminal. and Florenc metro station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Felipe_Sanhueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Would definetly recommend this hostel, staff were helpful and happy the place is cleaned regularly and has all the facilities. Great place to meet pekoe and there is a decent breakfast each morning. The only slight downside is the location, which is a 20min walk from the city center and there is not a lot of shops in close proximity to the hostel. In saying that it is not a big deal to walk in to the center of town I enjoyed my time here for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay for backpackers! You get a simple free breakfast with lots of coffee or tea, free barbecue 3 nights a week, nice staff, good atmosphere, wifi, shower, what more could you need! 20-30 min walk to old town but that's not bad at all! Close to many grocery stores! Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Natsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed in this hostel with a friend for 3 nights while visiting Prague. The location is slightly out of the city centre but it is still close enough to walk.
The hostel was very clean and we stayed in an 11 bed dorm which was very big and had a table and chairs in the middle. Hostel had a nice atmosphere and happy hour a few times a week which was good!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nainsi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and reali liked Hostel Elf. Location is good, near train station and only 10-15 minute walk to the city center. Also the room was spacey and colorfully decorated. Hostel Elf also has a free breakfast, nothing special but still it's nice to have some toast and coffee every morning. The hostel also had free bbq nights and happy hours on weekends. The athmosphere was a bit hippie, but the hostel was overall clean and very comfortable place to sleep. Very good hostel! I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eipii90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#41 of 704 in Prague
252 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#13 of 704 in Prague
525 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#3 of 704 in Prague
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#24 of 704 in Prague
209 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Safestay Prague Hostel
Safestay Prague Hostel
#16 of 704 in Prague
608 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#7 of 704 in Prague
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Elf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Elf

Address: Husitska 888/11, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 704 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £15 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Elf 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ELF - Your home in Prague !! FREE buffet breakfast!!! FREE coffee and tea 24hrs!!! Proud to be one of the backpackers hostel that opened in Prague in 2000 we can say that hostel ELF is the perfect place to stay. Our cool original independent backpacker's hostel offers cheap accommodation in Prague and is the ideal hostel for the independent traveler and student groups. We are not just bed and breakfast - the hostel has two floors, two common rooms, two kitchens and great outdoor patio, BBQ area, terrace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Elf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Elf Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing