We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economy variant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Olympik Tristar
Ranked #581 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel is situated near the metro station Ivalidovna, yellow line. Easy to get to the centre of the city. Modern building. Good breakfast, helpful staff. The only problem - too many sudents in the hotel - so too much noise.
But you are coming tired and full ofimpressions - just for sleep. We slept well, but the noise may play on your nerves.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashkin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week. It's just average, with a poor staff in terms of communication in English. The TV is old and our room view was overlooking some of the greenery. Bed sheets were changed everyday. The bathroom was clean, but again very average. The safe box was very old and not even working. Bar refrigerator has a few drinks.

However, my hotel room card wasn't working for one day and it was very late at night, and one staff helped me and got me a new one.

The lobby has two great massage chairs you can use.

The hotel is for a quick travel, a cheap stay in Prague, conference, or business trip.

The weather in July is Prague is perfect. A few rain drops, but make sure you always have your umbrella with you!

Room Tip: Make sure to know the room's view when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainElfglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rude, hostile, inhospitable, and general "I can't help you" attitudes--this is the service that awaits you at this cattle car hotel with threadbare carpets, tiny elevators, horrible food, and a terrible location. It was a running joke within our group how the employees said "No" immediately to every question and request. One woman asked if she could leave a book at the front desk, as we were heading out, and the man behind the desk started yelling at her in Czech, as if he was offended by the question. There is no notion of customer service, no smiles, no friendliness. Certainly no one went out of their way to help or make our stay enjoyable. Besides this general unpleasantness, this hotel is too far away from the center of Prague. Spend a few extra dollars to avoid having your trip ruined by surliness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in May. We booked a Prague trip through a travel agency, and as I could see, the hotel is full of such tourist groups. The building is some 20 flights high and there are only 2 small elevators working. This creates a chaos when these large groups are arriving and leaving, but also at breakfast time.
We had a room on the 11th floor. The beds were comfortable, it was quiet and clean enough. For me, the biggest problem was the bathroom. It had no actual door, only a sliding plastic screen to separate it from the room. And it had no ventilation. The towels were changed, there was always plenty of warm water, but they didn't give us even the little hotel soaps, which is very unusual.
The location of the hotel for me was good, because of the metro station nearby. By metro, it is close to the center, so we could go back to the room during the day occasionaly to rest, which was a plus. The area is not nice, but i found it far from shady and unsafe after dark as I see people are saying. We returned to the hotel every evening almost by the last train and never had any unpleasantness.
The dining area is too small for the number of guests. It's crowded and you have to queue to get to the food. The food was the worst i had at any hotel so far. Everything was always luke-warm. the peaces of cheese and salami looked like they were cut days ago and were all sticky and tasteless. If something runs out, they don't refill it for a long time. One day they ran out of bread, and only refilled it after half an hour. There was a man making pancakes, but in a limited quantity, so we never got to them since we don't get up very early.
Overall, since the room was not dirty and noisy, and it was easy for getting around the town, our stay at the hotel was not horrible. But, i would not recommend it. At a standard rate of 100 euro for a double room, it is really not good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank olorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We went as a large group and stayed 3 nights, during a trip to Prague, and I guess we were not the only large group in the hotel. In the parking there were a lot of coaches from all over Europe. Well, I would actually rate the hotel as a 2-star, because is was OK for basic sleeping, but the services were not so good.

Good points
- good rooms - enough space to move and store your baggages; large wardrobe; pretty comforable beds; working refrigerator
- clean - there was daily cleaning and change of bed linen while we stayed; the bathroom was clean
- close to the city center

Bad points
- there was no free Internet acces. You have to pay 5 EUR/24hrs to get the password to acces the Internet. Actually we were lucky, that password worked more than 24 hours, but the signal strenght was zero in our room. In fact, they said that the wireless is only available in the lobby; we stayed at the 2nd floor and the only way to catch signal was to put the laptop on the window sill. Beside it's not free, you can only pay in euros and no credit card is accepted.
- the TV was very old and very small, the remote control wasn't working properly and there were no channels in english
- the breakfast food was OK, but the drinks were awful. What they called juice was in fact water mixed with somthing green and had no flavor. What really annoyed us was that there was a guy in the front of the restaurant wich told us every day that the breakfast for students is in a different room; I don't know why, but that was some kind of discrimination.
- things in room that could easily break up - we tried to withdraw the curtain and if fell off; the bathroom door sliding mechanism was also tricky, it frequently slipped off the bottom rail

I can't pronounce myself about other aspects and services at this hotel, because we didn't use any other service. The overall experience was satisfying, but it definitely wasn't the best 3-star hotel I've stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MihisAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The hotel is about 3 stops out of prague (18kr for 5 stops on the UNDERGROUND metro) in what I would call a semi rundown area, not BAD but not hotel sparkley.

The hotel has very much a old style lobby that when we were there was filled with school groups (not just ours I think there was about 4 groups there from 8-18 age),
The rooms were great for just sleeping in, interesting duvet cover but not a issue.

Breakfast was possibly the worst bit but with a supermarket just down the road it was not a issue.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1ndy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Shaggy surroundings but very central. 10 minutes by metro from central Prague .. 3-4 minutes walk to metro and tram station and local supermarket.
Entrance felt like Eastern Europe in the late 70´s, but clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds and breakfast was allright. Nice guest mix of different ages from various countries.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prinsalfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#577 of 646 in Prague
372 reviews
Praha 10
Fortuna City
Fortuna City
#570 of 646 in Prague
400 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#552 of 646 in Prague
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Olympik Artemis Hotel
Olympik Artemis Hotel
#580 of 646 in Prague
42 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Ilf
Hotel Ilf
#340 of 646 in Prague
282 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#375 of 646 in Prague
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympik Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympik Tristar

Address: U Sluncove 14, Prague 186 76, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £34 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympik Tristar 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olympik Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympik Tristar Prague
Olympik Tristar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing