We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Ranked #171 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As everyone else has said, location is the main feature of this old hotel. It is close to the old town, modern shopping streets and the river. Our experience with the staff was good. We had a room overlooking the main street, which was clean and spacious. However, there was no aircon, so in midsummer the room was hot. Opening the windows let in the breeze but also street noise which lasts until the small hours of the morning. We resorted to earplugs. Also there was a smell of cigarette smoke wafting up from the smoker-filled restaurant below. You must try the beers from the brewery though, which is smoke free!

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the street in summer. The loft rooms are the only ones that have aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsw_lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    188
    58
    6
    9
See reviews for
69
153
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel has a good position nearly city center, personal is very freendly, the rooms are wide and the quality/cost ratio is very good. Unfortunately the carpet in our room was rather dirty. However we suggest this hotel for a short and economic stay in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilios2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of days ago with 3 friends. The rooms were old but very clean. The staff were so friendly and the free breakfast was great with eggs sausages bread yoghurt fruit you name it. It was also very close to many restaurants and only a short walk to Charles Bridge. One of the locals advised the restaurant was one of the best in vienna so definitely eat there at least one night! I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem_gem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Don't stay here if you expect bells and whistles.

Pros:
-Service is outstanding.
-Location is in the heart of town.
-Spacious rooms.
-Brewery in the hotel.
- Simple breakfast included in the price. Eggs, sausage, bacon pastries, OJ, coffee, cold cuts and cheese.

Cons:
-No elevator so you are lugging your suitcase over flights of stairs.
-You have to hand your key to the front desk before you leave the hotel. They have old school real keys to open the door so they want to make sure you don't lose them.
- Bar/restaurant is really smoky.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, La
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here with two friends recently in a triple room on the third floor. The room was interesting and unique, but not very spacious. Also, on the upper levels, the rooms have beams in them that can be hazardous for taller people. Be wary of getting a room on the third floor, there is no elevator, although the hotel was nice enough to have someone bring our bags up when we arrived. The breakfast was fine and complimentary. The hotel fried the voltage converter I brought and the maintenance man who came to look at it took it and promised to bring me another one, which never came. Also, everything we plugged into the outlets smelled burnt; I would be very wary of using them. We had to have the electricity reset twice.

Service is not great here, but the room was clean, the price was very low, and the location was fantastic, right in Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

hotel in a good location, very old. Some rooms are interesting and historical, other small, awkward and uncomfortable (especially on the higher floors). Breakfast no revelations, the restaurant belonging to the hotel is typical Czech - fast and unwelcoming service, simple and heavy food.
I know in Prague better places to spend trips.

Room Tip: dont take single rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exception79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We are a group of 4 couples celebrating our 40th wedding anniversaries. We paid a bit extra to stay in the "Historical Rooms" and it was well worth it. Staring up at a timbered ceiling that was painted with an extravagant floral design during the Renaissance was an amazing experience. Each room was a little different, and two of them were huge. The only downside to this hotel is that most of the rooms have no AC. It was cool while we were there, so not an issue, but it sure could be. If you open the windows, you get a lot of street noise.

The breakfast included with the rooms was great, and much more extensive than your usual continental breakfast. We ate in the brewery pub downstairs and loved it...and the prices! Highly recommend (during cool weather.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinations_di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#98 of 670 in Prague
595 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#99 of 670 in Prague
1,908 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#191 of 670 in Prague
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#268 of 670 in Prague
230 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Property: Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#189 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing