We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now with lift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Ranked #157 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Now with lift!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Centrally situated with a very busy restaurant attached in which we also had a good, solid Czech meal. The week before we arrived, a lift to the second floor was installed and new rooms opened. The room we had, 102, was well furnished with a good bathroom. Breakfast was a self service buffet with a range of cereals, fruit and cooked food in the form of sausages, eggs etc. Well recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
788Martina, Manager at Brewery Hotel U Medvidku, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. That is true, we have a new lift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    192
    61
    6
    9
See reviews for
72
160
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was intrigued by the idea of ending our tour of Eastern Europe over a brewery! And that is what it is, a hotel with an incredible array of rooms, all very different, over one of the oldest breweries in the Czech Republic. As has been mentioned, there is no elevator in this hotel but the rooms are not so far up that it isn't manageable. Our room was quite large, very comfortable, with two bathrooms, one with toilet and basin and one with shower and basin. Very thoughtful! This was the one hotel where we booked a four-person room, for our family of four, and one room for my husband and myself. Management was very accommodating, and all in all our visit to this bit of history was fun. To add to the pleasure, the breakfast room was directly under our room so just a brief jaunt down the stairs and we were there.
The location is quite good, not too far from the Charles Bridge and the Jewish Quarter. Actually a very nice time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka District, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I always like to search for a long time before i book my hotels wherever i might go and this hotel was great! The rooms were clean on arrival and the maid cleaned the rooms daily very well! They also arranged for us a pick up from the airport to their hotel for 25€. The breakfast had everything we needed and was also very tasty. The best was the place the hotel was situated as it was exactly in the center of Prague and all the atractions we wanted to visit. There is a tram station exactly outside of the hotel and most attractions are in walking distance. The hotel stuff were also very helpful in everything we needed. The hotel was excellent and very cheap. Highly recommended!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loizosmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

No lifts but it is an historical building and the top floor is not that far up, even for someone of my age, and you can ask for a porter to carry luggage. Smoking not allowed in rooms but is in corridors. Rooms comfy and with character. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast predictable but fine. Location is brilliant, half way between National Theatre and Wenceslas Square. I do stay there at least once every year.

Room Tip: Ask to face street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

still as nice as always , only downside was renovations going on so hammering and drilling started at 7.30 am until 6 pm so if wasn't up it woke you up or if you went back for siesta couldn't get much sleep. Close to most places you will want to visit in Prague.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It was a great surprise to find that it had been nearly 10 years since i last stopped at U Medvidku - which is not a judgement on my previous stay :)
Staying there in January, I got an excellent price for my room - just £32 per night.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station (Mustek) and less from the nearest tram stop (Narodni Trida). When the Narodni Trida metro station reopens in 2014 it will will be an even shorter walk.
The location is very central, and perfect for me as I like to spend my evenings at The Vagon club, which is literally around the corner from the Hotel.
The reception staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful when asked for assistance.
Being part of a building with a brewery in it, there are items of brewery equipment used as decoration around the hotel.
Don't expect a lift, however. This a old historic building, so stairs are the only way up and down.
My room was right above the restaurant. Even though this was still busy despite the out-of-season time of my visit, at no time did i suffer any noise disturbance.
The rooms was basically furnished, but very comfortable.
I was a little disappointed that there was no kettle/tea/coffee making facility in the room - though this was not a major problem.
There is an HD TV in the room, though only two English language channels available (BBC News and CNN) so it didn't get turned on very often!
There is a very good wi-fi signal available, and also two PC's available for guests use on the ground and first floors.
The only real disappointment of my stay was with the breakfast - which was made up (as is usual in Czech hotels) of cooked sausages and eggs, sliced meat, cheese, cereals, yoghurt and fruit juice - and cake!
Unfortunately the eggs and sausage had gone cold most mornings by the time i went down to eat - perhaps this was due to there not being many guests at that time of year. The lady in the breakfast room was very helpful, and did cook me fresh eggs and ham on one morning.
On my final day something i ate for breakfast made me ill - it could have been anything, but it it put a bit of a damper on my last day in Prague.

Apart from this I had a very enjoyable stay, and it would not put off from visiting again.
These things happen, and i'm certain it was just a one-off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Friendly efficient service. Very good location close to all the places we wanted to see and the restaurants we wanted to try. Good restaurant downstairs which was great on arrival. Breakfast included which was enjoyable. Wifi was excellent - high speed and worked throughout our time there. Only small complaint was that our loft room was very creaky and the sound proofing between our room and the one next door was non-existent - so abut noisy. Wouldn't stop me from staying there again though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranFraserRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#104 of 649 in Prague
608 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#92 of 649 in Prague
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 649 in Prague
529 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#123 of 649 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Property: Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#189 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing