We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Test of Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Ranked #199 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Newry, N Ireland
14
Reviewed 15 July 2004

OK, positive points first, the accommodation is in a great location, within a short walking distance of all the main tourist attractions, with a free flowing bar next door and the rooms were clean. On the negative side contrary to earlier reviews staff were neither friendly nor helpful, especially when we complained about constant noise caused by building work (when someone is drilling from 7:30 am, you complain!). We asked if they could move us to a different room and were told someone would get back to us. This didn't happen and 3 hours later I asked again and this time we were moved to a room outside which was a communal area (more noise), the drilling noise was still loud and clear (definitely heard by many other visitors). This continued for the full duration of our stay. On leaving no apology was offered for any inconvenience suffered. One staff member informed me Euros were acceptable for bill payment, yet when we did pay, only Czech currency was accepted, causing some difficulty. PS breakfast was just OK, we decided to eat out after the first morning. Price for 4 nights was 12000 CzKr in July 2004.
However loved Prague and will definitely go back - just to different accommodation.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2004

I stayed there for 4 days, and was very impressed with both the facilities and staff. We were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was simply but elegantly decorated, with a nice view across the street. The breakfast room is nicely laid out and the food well prepared. The adjoining beer hall is accessed through a door from reception and is a lively room with many locals and excellent beer and food. It's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring, and you really feel as though you are staying in the heart of a great and majestic city.

When I return to Prague (which I am already planning to do!) I shall definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulD1974_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2004

Fantastic hotel!! Stayed for three nights in March and didn?t want to leave. We booked one of the historic rooms for an extra 10% and it was definitely worth it. The room was enormous -- probably 20 feet by 25 feet -- with a private bath in the mezzanine. Exposed beams gave it an authentic Czech feel.The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything you need in Prague. Less than five minutes to the town square, astronomical clock and shopping; 10 minutes to the Charles Bridge. They'll arrange a taxi service to/from the airport for you too. Front desk staff all speak English, which was nice.Oh and the breakfast was amazing -- a buffet of meats, cheese, bread, sausages, eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice. Plenty to get you going for a day of exploring. I don't think we ever needed to eat lunch.Would definitely stay there again. Make sure you check out the attached bar for a Budvar.

11  Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2004

Beautiful little hotel so close to Pragues main thoroughfare (Wenselas Sq) and Old Town Square you can smell the snitzels when you step outside. I have stayed in Prague 5 times and this offers the best value for money by far. By no means 4 or 5*, it still offers everything you need if you are just there to visit. We stayed for 10 days in total and by the end of the holiday wanted to stay longer. Adjoined to the hotel/pension is an auld Czech bar serving the original Budweiser - Budvar and a beer garden. Both are very traditional and have friendly staff and locals who love to have a conversation with you. But still, it is the location - price - amenity correlation that makes this place so fantastic.

5  Thank cbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2004

An adorable hotel in a great location at a great price. This place has character, quirkiness and charm. Great price, great buffet breakfast, softest down blankets and pillows. I really enjoyed my stay and easily recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in an authentic Prague pension and not some international hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Aviron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaximTestov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranckL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#132 of 646 in Prague
500 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 646 in Prague
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,481 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#214 of 646 in Prague
994 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#124 of 646 in Prague
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £44 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing