We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great service, great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Ranked #187 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location, great service, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2005

Myself and my partner recently visited Prague for a four night stay. After reviewing most of the hotels in prague we were recomended the U Medvidku as it met all our requirements.

The U Medvidku is a historical pension in a great location. We stayed in room 14 and loved any minute of it. It was easy to book via email after looking at their website. Transfers were also booked through the pension and were reliable and reasonably priced (600k for up to 4 people)

The pension itself is a historical and furniture and decoration is in keeping with the theme. If you are looking for a hotel which will spoil you rotten, this pension is probably not for you. However if you are looking for a reasonably priced, friendly hotel you cannot go wrong with this one.

The room we stayed in was basic (however it worked out that we paid around £55 per night) Double wooden bed (which did squeak but added to the experiance) and wooden chairs which would get a little uncomfortable if you sat there for long periods of time! We just placed the pillows on the chair or sat on the bed!

Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. We even went down as late as 9.45am and there was still plenty of food.

All the staff and friendly and helpful and there are wide range of information leaflets in reception. The beer house and budvar bar that is attached to the hotel were also excellent and reasonably priced.

Location is great. At the top of the road is the tescos and department store and a really great inexpensive pizza place. (slice of pizza and half litre drink around 98k)

The pension is approx 5 mins from Wencelas Square and about 15 mins from Old Town. Also not far from Charles Bridge however, the best time to visit charles bridge is in the evening as it is rammed in the daytime.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    185
    57
    6
    9
See reviews for
66
151
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at Pension U Medvidku for 4 nights in October 2005 after winding down a 3-week stay in Europe. Here's a rundown of the pension:

- The hotel's location is perfect, especially considering the fairly inexpensive price (3.850 cz/night, or $154 US). It is a 3-minute walk to Old Town Square, the Charles Bridge and Wencelas Square in a great neighborhood with good restaurants. Tesco, which is a huge department store, is just a block away. It has a terrific supermarket for stocking up on snacks, drinks, toiletries, etc.

- The room was beautiful and very spacious. We stayed in an historical room, which costs 10% more than a standard room. What we didn't realize is that the only difference between a "historical" and a "standard" is that the historical rooms have vaulted wood ceilings that have been ornately painted ... that's it. The size and location are exactly the same. Save your $$$ and book a standard room.

- The beds are overly firm, the furniture is gorgeous dark wood, and all of the rooms have high ceilings and hardwood floors for a "clean" and minimalistic feeling. The bathroom was large, cleaned daily and had great water pressure. The towels are rough and thin.

- The walls are thin. We could hear our neighbors' conversations, and we could also hear the guests above us walking on the hardwood floors. We could also hear the oompa band and the ruckus from the pension's bustling beer hall starting at about 7:00 until midnight, as well as smell the cigarette smoke, so we were forced to keep our windows closed despite the gorgeous fall weather.

- The pension's beer hall, although touristy and really smoky, serves good food and has great service. Breakfast, which is included in the cost of the room, was served in a different portion of the beer hall, and was excellent. Assorted meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, danishes, coffee, tea and juices. Served every morning from 8:00-10:30.

- Free Internet access is provided in the lobby, and the hotel's staff was very helpful, professional and all speak English well.

We would stay at Pension u Medvidku again, but would book a standard room (and cross our fingers for quiet neighbors).

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2005

We stayed qt the pension for 5 days in room 29, which was quite large.
Staff: Were very friendly and helpful thoughtout the visit, including packing us lunch for our 6am flight out.
Location: Great location for walking to all the sites in town
Food: Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Food in the restaurant was OK, but we enjoyed some of the others around better.
Room: We booked a historical room, but think we had a suite. It was very large, with an entrance room, sitting room, bedroom, and bathroom. The room was very clean, and the bed comfortable but firm(two twin beds). The towels, were very rough and would be our one complaint.
Price: We stayed 5 nights, so received 25 percent off since we paid in cash, so it was very reasonable

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2005

We spent 3 nights in Pension U Medvidku (from 11 till 14 August 2005) and here are our comments:
> Location: could not be better! Easy walking distance from all main attractions (Charles Bridge, Wenceslas and Old Town squares, Castle). Prague is such a great city to enjoy by foot.
> Staff/reception: the first day, not quiet helpful nor well-informed; the rest of the stay, there were much more friendly people in charge of the reception.
> Room #3: nice, large, clean & authentic room. But… the beds were really hard, the bathroom was rather dark (a tiny spot to light a too big bathroom) and the windows didn’t close properly (bad soundproofing – we could hear the people in the restaurant downstairs – and bad insulation – in the summer, it’s not a problem but beware staying in this room during the winter!)
> Breakfast: rather small but this a 3 star pension. There were a plate of meats & cheese, bread, sausages, eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, chemical juice, croissants, chocolate-filled pastries and Czech specialties. The second and third day, no croissants and chocolate-filled pastries at all. We asked the waiter and he told us that there was nothing left. We had breakfast at 8 and they were yet short of these! The waiter kept coming in the dining room but just to have a look, no to bring more food.

General feeling: as city trip lovers, our main concern is the location. For the rest, Prague has so many wonders to offer that we easily forget the “weaknesses” of Pension U Medvidku…

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2005

I visited Prague solo in June and loved U Med! It was a nice comfortable hotel- the room I had was a single under the rafters and the exposed beams and space was welcoming. The attached restaurant served me wonderful food and always had a table for hotel guests- even if you were by yourself and they were packed. Walking distance to everything. Tesco supermarket right on the corner and a tram stop if you want to ride. Loved the "Bears" and will stay again if I am back in Prague!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sk260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2005

I stayed at the hotel may 2004 and writing this a year later.
Singleroom 2.200 CZK per night, stayed 3 nights.
Room okay, TV with CNN and Eurosport.
Bed a bit squeaky, very thin walls, narrow shower, but fantastic location close to everything.
The room and bathroom was clean.
Breakfast just OK.
There is a restaurant and a bar in connection with the pension.
I did get one diner at the restaurant, nice and affordable.
And the bar got Budvar beer and it's cheap, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2005

MY third visit to Prague finally saw me managing to book a room in my first choice of guest house.
U Medvidku is located next door to the famous beer hall of the same name, also wel worth a visit for the beer, the food and the atmosphere (O.K. it's a BIT touristy, but far less so than other inferior places in Prague.)
The pension is located in a great spot, only a couple of minutes walk from Old Town Square in one direction, and the Charles Bridge & River Vltava in the other.
I was happy to be able to book a spacy single room with en suite facilities (Strangely there was no shower curtain, nor a rail for it). There was not much of a view from my room, and it was at the top of four flights of stairs, which some people may not like. However, it was kept clean, warm (in December) and had a comfortable bed.
The room prices were excellent value, especially considering the central location
There is a breakfast room on the first floor, where a good variety of foods is served - from (several types of) sausages and bacon, to cereals, and fresh fruit. Not a common occurence in smaller Czech hotels in my experience.
There is also a computer with free internet access in the lobby.
The staff were all very helpful, and spoke good English - the night staff were particularly tolerant of people arriving back from a music club at 2 am!
This will certainly be my first choice of Prague hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#194 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#100 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#98 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#89 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#270 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Property: Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#190 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing