We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad to worse - avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Platan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platan
Ranked #233 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad to worse - avoid this place”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed here 4 days in 2007 with no problems. This time was terrible. No one answers their help line. Lamps burned out or missing entirely, broken window pane, no heat on chilly nights, leftover items from last guest and last cleaning, TV antennas perched on the sofa (rendering the sofa unusable). Then--no electricity and no indication that they would fix it promptly. Time to move on.

  • Liked — very large apartment
  • Disliked — poor service, poorly maintained, faulty equipment
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davelf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    58
    51
    12
    18
See reviews for
21
72
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Platan Pension is a no nonsense easy going place to stay! It is locatated in a prime location of Prague meaning all the touristy places are walkable! The staff are friendly and helpfull. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom, for the money we paid, it was a steal! Don't expect hotel service though, you have to ask for your towels to be changed, but thats fine, because its the kind of place where you have a homely feel! I would recomend Platan to anyone who is on a budget. The place is clean and secure and the breakfast sets you up for the day!!!

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Veziro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

A nice place to stay... renting an apartment makes you feel more like a Prahan than a tourist and we like doing this and we weren't dissatisfied with the Studio on the top floor. Great views over the river and city... very romantic at night and my partner and I loved relaxing in the evening on our balcony. Nice studio also... basic but lovely, everything quite modern. Nice but small bathroom... shower wasnt the greatest, sometimes took me 10 minutes just to get it to function properly. Great place to stay and relax... was a bit confused on arrival (11pm) as it seems odd to retrieve keys from a locked box out front. We did so but once we got into the reception hall it was unclear and dark as to where we go to the Studio so we went into the wrong building to begin with! Finally when we got into the right one, it was all scary and dark and on the very top floor... which we were aware... but not good if you have severe anaemia (which I did at the time!) as I almost collapsed about 10 times lol. The lightbulb didnt work at the top of the building where our apartment was (great!) so we had to try to open the door to our apartment with pitchblack light and mobile phone lights! lmao! Which was frustrating. Especially when you're afraid of the dark! and the building is a bit like an old communist building, but I quite liked this.

We paid on 2nd morning of arrival so had no issues... the lady in charge was nice. Annoying to have to pay in the other building, at the top of the building again... would not trust that gorgeous looking quirky lift though! I had to go on it as it was top floor again and with my illness, but thought we were going to drop to our deaths and clinged for life! haha!

Great place otherwise... except I found spiders everywhere, which isnt nice ESPECIALLY FOR GIRLS!!! :S

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Pension Platan is a very good selection if you are on a budget. Its clean and comfortable and costs just 40Euros for single occupancy. Centrally located, within walking distance of Clock Tower, Charles Bridge and a lot of other touristy places. Its entrance may not be very appealing, but once inside you are very safe and well looked after. Breakfast is served at a small additional expense. The lady who comes each morning to look after the place is very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Friendly, Cjheap, Centrally located, walking distance to tourist sights, restaurants, concerts and shopping.
  • Disliked — The entrance to the building is a bit untidy, but with hugh doors as protection, this might be an asset.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Very good location, close to historic Old Town. Rooms were ok, but not great. The shower is very small and constraining and there was no rug on the bathroom floor. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is included but bland and don't vary. For a lower price you could stay at the Czech Inn which is a hostel and pretty comfortable. The price was not worth the stay.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Bronte84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Apt 11 (2nights)
Location is okay and you can't beat the price for the amount of space. The shower (in the large w/c) still doesn't drain, therefore unusable and inconvenient. The second bed room is tiny with a futon. When expaned - it reaches the whole width of the room. The shower off of the tiny room works well but runs out of hot water rather quickly. Breakfast is very basic.

***When we arrived we offered the full payment and were told 'no pay when we leave'. Well we returned to our room at about 8 pm (on the second day) after touring around city all day to find a note basically saying "you still haven't payed so we took some of your stuff". My backpack with all of my clothes, passport, ipod, ect was taken! We called the owners several times that evening and despite understanding the inconvenience and simple misunderstanding they refused to return my backpack until the following morning.

We were two young couples visiting Praha for a long weekend and really enjoyed the city but would stay somehwere differently if I had to do it again. Maybe closer to the castle or that side of the bridge :)

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no customer service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hollyberry1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed at Pension Platan in the end of May – beginning of June 2008, in apartment 11, which is on the 1st floor (but keep in mind that they start counting floors from 0, so to get to the 1st floor you have to climb 2 flights of stairs; I didn't know that before...). The apartment is very big for 2 people, more suitable for 3 or more, then it would be a very good bargain for the price (76 Euro/night): 1 bedroom with 2 stacked together beds and 1 living room with a couch and a foldable bed. There was TV with 4 local channels, but we never really needed it. The washroom was big too, the only problem we had was that the water wouldn't go down through properly in the shower stall.
We had to pay for the whole stay the next morning after our arrival, which was kind of unusual. The worst thing about staying in this apartment was the smoke odor: apparently some smokers were living there before us, and although we tried to keep our windows open at all times, this smoke odor haunted us for all 6 days, very unpleasant! The first morning we found our breakfast in the fridge: 2 yogurts, 2 chocolate waffle bars, 4 white rolls and a small plastic basket with jams and butter. We read in the instructions that the breakfast would be served every morning from 8 to 9 a.m. But on our 2nd morning nobody came, so we went to the administration building to find out why. The woman who worked there barely spoke English, but finally she understood that we wanted to know about breakfast arrangements. She asked for how many more nights we were going to stay, and then shoved all our breakfast supplies into a huge plastic bag for all 5 remaining mornings, and handed it to us, there... Not much of a service I guess... But the supermarket “Albert” was right across the street (not open for 24 hours as per previous reviewer, but till 9 p.m.), so we got our food supplies mostly from there. The good thing was that nobody came to our apartment to clean, so we didn’t need to leave tips every day, and that there was a small kitchenette with toaster, kettle, microwave and a small electric plate + dishes and utensils. That was very useful. Will I stay there again? Probably not, but would recommend it to big families who travel together, good place for this price.

  • Liked — Location, price, independence
  • Disliked — Smoke odor, lack of service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#245 of 670 in Prague
531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#99 of 670 in Prague
1,909 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Unie Pension
Unie Pension
#88 of 370 in Prague
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Church Pension Prague
Church Pension Prague
#67 of 370 in Prague
70 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aparthotel Davids
Aparthotel Davids
#29 of 370 in Prague
131 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel King George
Hotel King George
#63 of 370 in Prague
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platan

Property: Platan
Address: Revolucni 1546/24, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Platan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platan pension is situated in the historic centre of Prague - in the Old town. 0ffers rooms, apartments and a studios. Each room has private shower and WC, safe box, satellite TV, full mirror, el. kettle, ventilator, hairdryer, radio and FREE WIFI. Iron and fridge are in the main corridor. Continental breakfast is included. Pension Platan is the best choice for tourists who are looking for pleasant accommodation in the center of Prague for a good price. Children are for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Platan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Platan Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing