We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dormer for bachelor parties”
Review of Prague Lion Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prague Lion Hotel
Ranked #616 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Clonmel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A dormer for bachelor parties”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Unless you are on a hairshirt budget or part of a drunken bachelor's group, you'll want to avoid this 'hotel'. We paid more for a 'suite' (that actually meant it had an en-suite bathroom as yes, many of the rooms don't). The housekeeping was abysmal, we repeatedly had to approach reception and ask for loo rolls, towels etc. Breakfast could be delivered to your room, but was a scant affair: juice, coffee, bread, yoghurt only. There is no restaurant in the hotel and very few within a short walking distance. There's a police station across the road - enjoy the din of sirens on weekend nights and the locatio is lamentable...you have a ten min walk to Wenscelas Square (the top end, by the Museum) which means another 20 down to the Old Town Square (and Wenscelas Square is not salubrious after dark) and then another good stroll to the other side of the river. Taxis are too pricey in Prague so prepare to burn the shoe leather.
I just struggle to think of anything positive to say about this hotel; maybe just that the staff are hospitable, but that's it

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeVisitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Location
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Tipperary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Lion 'Hotel' is really a hostel. Most rooms are not en-suite and it's located on a dinghy back street. Don't worry about security, there is a police station across the raod, just worry about the constant klaxons instead! Breakfast is delivered to your room - solitary confinement style. I'm surprised thety don't have a hatch in the door where they slide the tray in and alert you by rapping a baton off the door. It isn't particularly convenient to the major sights either. Walking to Wenscelas Square takes about 15 mins but to be honest it's the Old Square and Mala Strana where the main action is. Prague is an intriguing city and well worth visiting, even more so if you're a beer afficionado! Just try to get accomodation nearer to the Old Town/Charles Bridge

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pounder77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Our room was described as a 'suite'. What this meant was that it had a bathroom, although we twice had to request toilet paper! Breakfasts were cheap, just as well because they were uninspired...tasteless, bland slop in fact. Location is a 25 min walk from Wenscelas Square, although they'll try to convince you that it's a short hop. Sound insulation was non-existent, cue restless nights listening to drunken stag parties and wailing sirens. Beds were uncomfortable and it really seemed more like a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokTingtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

Wish I had read previous review of this place, just come back
from a ten man stag weekend - great time with the exception being the hotel! Rooms diabolical, service worse, we joked prison inmates were better off- curtains not fitting windows, door handles falling off-Breakfast crusty bread & tuna, cold coffee no milk etc etc - worst of all 4 of us used safety deposit boxes in reception no key just digital codes, all of us had stirling stolen totaling £220 to which staff replied " not possible" police called in - no english speaking officer available to take statement, so nothing they could do unless we missed our return flight- Don't use taxis they are bandits, jump on the free trams and keep your hands on your wallets in the square and overall you will have a great time in prague - but not at this hotel-be warned.

Alan-

Brum

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Having money stolen from safety deposit box
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont Stay Here!
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

I stayed in Hotel Prague Lion in 2003 and was appalled at the state of the place and the surly and unhelpful attitude of the staff. To start our bad experience, we were shown to a room that didn't match what we had booked. Fortunately we had brought a print out of the email confirmation of booking, and after a small argument with the manager, we got that sorted. Unusually, they insist on minding your passports at reception for the duration of your stay so they must have a problem with people not wanting to pay. I could see why.

Breakfast which was included with the price was appalling and was a hit and run affair with the tray being thrown outside the door before staff beat a hasty retreat. For each of the four days that we stayed there, the breakfast tray was missing something --cups, knives, spoons, milk or cold water for the tea which of course necessitated a trip down 3 flights of stairs to the unfriendly hatchety-faced woman in the scruffy kitchen.

In keeping with the poor management of the place, a budding musician played his guitar until late into the night and first thing in the morning in a nearby room to ours--i actually didn't mind that as he was reasonably talented but i imagine that other people who were nearer might not have felt so happy about it.

On a final note, travellers are advised to book taxis through their hotels so that they don't get ripped off. Well we booked our taxi to the airport at reception in Prague Lion and the taxi driver still tried to almost double charge us and then turned red and backed down when we refused to pay. You get used to overcharging very quickly in Prague--its a way of life for them.

The Prague Lion website is right about one thing; the hotel is very near the city centre. Unfortunately you have to cross an eight lane motorway motorway about six times to get to it. There doesn't seem to be any speed limit in Prague-i've never seen as many crashes and near collisions as when the lights change. Also the green man for pedestrians doesn't mean that cars have to stop. it just means that they ought to slow down which in Prague means that they reduce their speed to 80 mph. On our second night there, we came across the sobering sight of a pedestrian who had fatally mistimed his crossing of one of these motorways.

When we stayed there, Prague Lion was touted as a three star hotel !!!! Whoever is handing out the stars in Prague never stayed here for a night.

Still Prague is a good city and well worth a visit, although i would have liked to have seen it ten years ago before there were so many pickpockets, prostitutes, con-artists and tacky giftshops. Thats all,
Bill

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BillWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 660 in Prague
747 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#19 of 660 in Prague
865 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#207 of 649 in Prague
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#533 of 649 in Prague
175 reviews
Praha 3
Sleep Easy Hostel Prague
Sleep Easy Hostel Prague
#181 of 361 in Prague
36 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Lion Hotel

Property: Prague Lion Hotel
Address: Na Bojisti 26 | Praha 2, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Number of rooms: 342

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing